British and UK Studies

European Studies Section member discussion list. To subscribe, click on "subscribe." Besides section news, includes announcements about jobs and resources as well as requests for reference assistance.

“The UK discussion list for archivists, conservators and records managers.”

A forum for discussion of Black Studies in Britain.

CILIP is the UK library and information association.

An international organization "dedicated to exploring Britain's interactions with the world from the sixteenth century to today." It sponsors a conference, journal, and book series as well as posting news items.

"The British Council is the UK’s international organisation for cultural relations and educational opportunities. We were founded in 1934 and incorporated by Royal Charter in 1940." The BC promotes "knowledge and understanding between the people of the UK and other countries...[in the] fields of arts and culture, the English language, education and civil society."

Located at the University of Colorado, Boulder, the center "promotes research and teaching in all aspects of British and Irish life, culture, and history. Joining the humanities and performing arts, the social sciences, and the professional fields, the Center uses an interdisciplinary approach to British and Irish Studies."

A scholarly organization “dedicated to all aspects of the study of British history, literature, society and culture.” It issues the Journal of British Studies as well as a scholarly blog, hosts an annual conference, and sponsors fellowships and prizes. Its website provides information about relevant events, recent news, and funding opportunities.

A public agency under the auspices of the UK Department for Science, Innovation and Technology, working together with universities, research organizations, businesses, charities, and other government bodies to support research, development, and innovation. It was established in 2018 to bring together nine bodies: seven research councils, Innnovate UK, and Research England.
Those research councils, in turn, provide project funding and foster collaboration in a wide variety of disciplines: Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC), Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC), Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC), Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC), Medical Research Council (MRC), Natural Environment Research Council (NERC), and Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC).

One of seven research councils under the public agency UK Research and Innovation, the AHRC provides project funding and fosters collaboration in the arts and humanities.

One of seven research councils under the public agency UK Research and Innovation, the ESRC provides project funding and fosters collaboration in the social sciences.

Extensive network of national and local British charities “providing support, companionship and advice ... [and] campaigning with and for older people to champion their rights, needs and wishes.” In addition to conducting research and producing informational guides, it coordinates advocacy work on issues of concern to older people. Among the subjects addressed on the Age UK website are cost of living support, fair access to public services, advice about pensions and finances, housing as one ages, finding and arranging elder care, and sources of support for caregivers.

A research and advocacy nonprofit body that addresses a range of issues connected with poverty and social justice in the UK. It partners and supports other British organizations working to effect social reform. Topics of recent JRF research reports and blogs include, for example, causes of poverty, economic and social safety nets, housing, equity (and inequity) in employment, and access to affordable child care.

“A national charity delivering advice, support and information services to lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans (LGBT) communities.” It provides a range of social, medical, and psychological services; sponsors events; publishes research reports; and posts news items. Now UK-wide in its scope, the Foundation’s headquarters are in Manchester, where the original group from which it has grown was established in 1975.

An English organization representing member housing associations, nonprofit entities that build and manage homes in England with a focus on affordable housing, including subsidized rents, co-ownership arrangements, supportive senior housing, and similar. They also run services such as homeless hostels, domestic violence refuges, and community centers. The Federation campaigns and provides advice and publications on affordable housing, manageable energy costs, universal credit, and related social policy issues, as well as offering training for relevant professionals and association board members.

Organization working on behalf of refugees and asylum seekers in the UK. It provides support and advice to individuals as well as other organizations; publishes educational materials; issues reports to the media; and lobbies governmental bodies and politicians. Its site includes policy statements, guides for both refugees and practitioner-advocates, news items, and a blog.

An independent think tank that supports racial equality and challenges forms of racial injustice by undertaking research and public engagement on issues of social policy and practice.