Classical Studies

Digitized version of the Corpus Inscriptionum Latinarum (CIL), a project still in its early stages. it "will initially comprise of the more than 50 parts (of vols. I-XVI + auctaria and of v. I (edition altera)) published before 1940."

Established in 1995, the Centre provides a focus for the study of ancient documents within Oxford and has developed into a research centre of national and international importance.

Website of the CIL project at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences (Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften).

A portal interface that allows a simultaneous federated search of multiple epigraphic projects; the list as of 2020: Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg (EDH), Epigraphic Database Roma (EDR), Epigraphic Database Bari (EDB), Hispania Epigraphica (HE), and Epigraphic Database Falsae." A project of the Italian Institute for Ancient History (Istituto italiano per la storia antica).

This project aims to collect the widespread published Greek and Latin inscriptions of the regions of modern Turkey and to present them in a database with a short description and a commentary.

Started in 1988, the EDB specializes in the epigraphic documents by Christians of Rome between the 3rd & 8th c. CE, under the auspices of the Electronic Archive of Greek and Latin Epigraphy (EAGLE).

Quite a comprehensive source for Latin inscriptions, including but not limited to the CIL, with a database searchable by "records, province, place, date, inscription genus/personal status, and texts." Developed by Manfred Clauss, Anne Kolb, Wolfgang A. Slaby, Barbara Woitas at the University of Zürich (Universität Zürich) and the Catholic University of Eichstätt-Ingolstadt (Katholische Universität Eichstätt-Ingolstadt).

EDH (in German, Epigraphische Datenbank Heidelberg) provides searchable texts and metadata for ancient Latin and bilingual (usually Latin and Greek) inscriptions from the provinces of the Roman Empire. A project at Heidelberger Akademie der Wissenschaften.

In 1999, EDR was launched as an experimental project aimed at creating a unified database for ancient epigraphy, then became an independent structure in 2003.

RIB Online incorporates contents of multiple standard corpora -- including volumes of the print Roman Inscriptions of Britain, The Vindolanda Writing Tablets: Tabulae Vindolandenses, and texts in Roman London’s First Voices: Writing Tablets from the Bloomberg Excavations -- as well as related addenda and corrigenda, some updated terms, and updated names of institutions and places.

Collection of transcriptions of Greek inscriptions, listed by region and Inscriptiones Graecae (IG) number or other epigraphical key. Searches in Greek or roman alphabet. A Packard Humanities Institute project, also entitled PHI Greek Inscriptions.

An interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources formerly Egypt and the Nile valley (800 BC-AD 800), now expanding to the Ancient World in general.

Collects and shares information about ancient Greek and Latin inscriptions preserved in the United States of America. Currently provides access to a database of some 750 Greek and 1,700 Latin inscriptions.

“Take a foreign language, write it in an unfamiliar script, abbreviating every third word, and you have the compound puzzle that is the medieval Latin manuscript.” Solving this puzzle is both an art and a science. Abbreviationes can provide the science to the artist.

In der Diözesan- und Dombibliothek befinden sich etwa 1.000 mittelalterliche und neuzeitliche Manuskripte von verschiedenen Eigentümern.

A digital exhibit designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.

A collaborative tool for teaching and scholarly research in the field of Greek palaeography and codicology, aiming to collect scattered resources from various individuals and institutions, gradually adding new information, materials and services.

A platform for the long-term preservation and accessible storage of digitized manuscripts at the University of Lund.

Access to the Vatican Library's digital collections, including manuscripts, incunabula, and other materials.

Information about the papyrus collection of the National Museums in Berlin (Staatliche Museen zu Berlin), with records for individual papyri, including metadata and images. Pages are available in English as well as German.

Online version of an annual papyrological bibliography, prepared by the Center of Greek Papyrology and Epigraphy (Centre de papyrologie et d'épigraphie grecque) of the Free University of Brussels (Université libre de Bruxelles). The "BP en ligne" includes retrospective volumes from 1932, when this bibliography, issued by the Queen Elisabeth Egyptological Association (Association égyptologique Reine Élisabeth), was first published in print.

In addition to the Tebtunis Papyri Database containing detailed records, images, and texts of over 1900 papyri (also searchable in Papyri.info), provides background information about the archaeological sites, history of the collection, online exhibits, and activities of the Center (at Berkeley).

Established in 1995, the Centre provides a focus for the study of ancient documents within Oxford and has developed into a research centre of national and international importance.

Provides a ready bibliography of all monographic volumes, both current and out-of-print, of Greek, Latin, Demotic and Coptic documentary texts on papyrus, parchment, ostraca or wood tablets.

This site unites all the digital tools for papyrological research administered in Leipzig.

A major collaborative papyrological database that aggregates information from the Advanced Papyrological Information System (APIS, based on a project among U.S. institutions with papyrological collections), Duke Databank of Documentary Papyri (DDbDP), Heidelberger Gesamtverzeichnis der griechischen Papyrusurkunden Ägyptens (HGV), and Bibliographie papyrologique (BP). It includes digitized images of individual papyri, and many entries include transcriptions and translations of document texts.

An online database, guide, online exhibitions, lists of events, and links to other resources and media reports about the Oxyrhynchus Papyri. A site of the University of Oxford Imaging Papyri Project.

An interdisciplinary portal of papyrological and epigraphical resources formerly Egypt and the Nile valley (800 BC-AD 800), now expanding to the Ancient World in general.

Site featuring one of the world's largest papyrological collections. In addition to interface for searching in APIS database (also searchable in Papyri.info), it provides introductory information on papyrology, bibliographies, online exhibitions, links to other resources, and relevant news.