It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scholarly resources in Irish Studies. The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process.
"EPPI is a large database of 15.000 official publications relating to all aspects of Irish affairs during the period of the Union, including bills, reports, commisions of inquiry and the published census reports. It is a rich source for the social history of Ireland as well as for statistics relating to population, emigration and other subjects."
"The IED is a virtual library of emigration-related primary sources, principally letters to and from emigrants, compiled by the Centre for Migration Studies, Omagh. This extensive collection of more than 33.000 records is drawn from a number of collections, including the Public Record Office of Northern Ireland and many private donors."
The Landed Estates Database is "a searchable, online database of all Landed Estates in Connacht and Munster, maintained by the Moore Institute for Research in the Humanities and Social Studies, National University of Ireland, Galway."
The Landed Estates Database provides a comprehensive and integrated resource guide to landed estates and historic houses in Connacht and Munster, c. 1700-1914. The aim of this guide is to assist and support researchers working on the social, economic, political and cultural history of Connacht and Munster from c.1700 to 1914."
"This digital collection includes letters held at institutions in Ireland and abroad alongside those in private collections. There are thousands of letters connecting hundreds of lives commenting a wide range of topics, from wars and violence at home and abroad including the Easter Rising, The Great War, The Anglo-Irish and Civil War, literature and art, love, politics, business, and ordinary life. Letters 1916-1923 adds a new perspective to the events of the period, a confidential and intimate glimpse into early 20th Century life in Ireland, as well as how Ireland was viewed abroad."
"VMR comprises over 90 life-narrative interviews conducted with returned and non-returned migrants from Ulster (9-counties) gathered during the course of the two studies on contemporary migration (2004-2008). The study participants represent a range of geographic origins within Ulster, class background and religious denominations."
"Digital Quaker Collection (DQC) is a digital library containing full text and page images of over 500 individual Quaker works from the 17th and 18th centuries. These works include books, essays, doctrinal works, pamphlets, epistles, and proceedings."
"The Digital Repository of Ireland is a national digital repository for Ireland’s humanities, social sciences, and cultural heritage data. You can browse and search across multiple collections from some of the finest Irish institutions. These collections are safely preserved in the DRI."
"The role of ITMA is to make a comprehensive collection of materials for the appreciation and study of Irish traditional music, song and dance. Explore individual sound recordings, books, videos, manuscripts and images selected from the collections and digitised by ITMA."
"The Library has a growing collection of digitised, born digital and electronic resources. In conjunction with various partners, the Library has begun a programme to digitise material from its collections."
"DARIAH Ireland (DARIAH-IE), as part of the pan-European Digital Research Infrastructure for the Arts and Humanities, promotes and increases awareness of digital arts and humanities research, projects, tools and best practices within Ireland and the wider network of European digital arts and humanities."
"The Moore Institute has a major commitment to Digital Humanities. DH brings together expertise and methodologies from humanities scholars with new digital technologies – ranging from online digital archives of historical and cultural material, to the application of computational tools (e.g. data-mining), the creation of “born-digital” creative works, and broader investigations of the impact of digital technology on society."
"The Trinity Centre for Digital Humanities brings together researchers from many disciplinary backgrounds to facilitate the novel investigation, analysis, synthesis, and presentation of information in electronic form."
Please Note: There wasn't much information about digital collections and libraries in the previous guide. Hence, the PDF and link provided here are the same as the ones from the Libraries and Archives ection.