Skip to Main Content 
Primary Sources
Acta Sanctorum (ProQuest, subscription)
Contains the text of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum published in Antwerp and Brussels by the Société des Bollandistes, from the two January volumes published in 1643 to the Propylaeum to December published in 1940.
The database also includes several indices which make Acta Sanctorum more accessible. The complete text has been captured, including all indices and the references to Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina (BHL).
The source text for the database is that of the original edition, recommended by the Société des Bollandistes, and not the later incomplete editions published in Venice in 1734-1760 and by Palme in Paris in 1863-1870.
Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts (Alexander Street, subscription)
A uniquely exhaustive resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation (Alexander Street, subscription)
A uniquely valuable resource for historians, theologians, political scientists, and sociologists studying the religious and social upheavals of the 16th and 17th centuries, the Digital Library of the Catholic Reformation gives researchers immediate, Web-based access to an extensive range of seminal works from the Reformation and post-Reformation eras.
Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment (Alexander Street, subscription)
Painstakingly assembled from hundreds of sources, Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women. The project brings coherence to a wide range of published and unpublished accounts, including narratives, diaries, journals, and letters.
Early English Books Online - EEBO (ProQuest, subscription)
The definitive online collection of early printed works in English, and works printed in England, making digital copies of over 146,000 titles from before 1700 discoverable through an interface tailored for early modern scholars.
Early European Books (ProQuest; subscription)
ProQuest has embarked on a European-wide project which will trace the history of printing in Europe from its origins (circa 1450s) to 1700. The Early European Books resource is set to encompass all European printed material from the early modern period. The contents are drawn from major repositories including the Danish Royal Library, the National Central Library in Florence, the National Library of France, the National Library of the Netherlands, and the Wellcome Library in London. Over time, other significant national libraries will be adding their collections to Early European Books to enable researchers to conduct a seamless survey of the origins and development of Western culture.
Empire Online (Adam Matthew, subscription)
Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Library of Latin Texts - online (LLT-O) (Brepols, subscription)
The Library of Latin Texts (LLT) is the world’s leading database for Latin texts. It gathers Latin texts of all genres and all periods. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.
The LLT (a project that was started in 1991 as the Cetedoc Library of Christian Latin Texts, CLCLT) is produced by the Centre ‘Traditio Litterarum Occidentalium’ (CTLO). The Library of Latin Texts is part of Brepolis Latin Complete, a cluster of databases relating to the study of Latin.
Medieval and Early Modern Sources Online - MEMSO (TannerRitchie, subscription)
Essential resource for the study of Britain and its place in the world during the medieval and early modern period (c. 1100-1800). Combining the key printed sources for English, Irish, Scottish and Colonial history with original manuscripts and the latest web technologies
Monumenta Germaniae Historica - online (MGH-O) (Brepols, subscription)
The Monumenta Germaniae Historica was founded in 1819 by the Gesellschaft für Deutschlands ältere Geschichtskunde. It is without doubt one of the most prestigious editorial undertakings for the critical publication of medieval historical texts.
In more than 300 volumes, covering the widest possible range of historical documents, divided into five major Series (Scriptores, Leges, Diplomata, Epistolae and Antiquitates) and into 33 Subseries, the Monumenta not only continues its editorial programme but it has established for all Western scholarship a standard for critical editions.
The eMGH is part of Brepolis Latin Complete, a cluster of databases relating to the study of Latin.
Patrologia Latina (ProQuest, subscription)
electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865. The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216.
The Patrologia Latina Database contains the complete Patrologia Latina, including all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Migne's column numbers, essential references for scholars, are also included.
Womens Writers Project
A long-term research and publication project focusing on early women’s writing in English. We have been working since 1988 on building an electronic collection of rare and less familiar texts, and on researching the complex issues involved in representing early printed texts in digital form.
Secondary Sources
Bibliography of British and Irish History (Brepols; subscription)
The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) grew out of the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History. Since its publication in 2010, BBIH has superseded the RHS Bibliography as an essential tool for researchers working on British and Irish history at every level and throughout the world. The database provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British empire and commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available – from 55BC to the present. The bibliography lists books, articles in books and articles in journals. The BBIH is the fruit of a partnership between the Institute of Historical Research, the Royal Historical Society and Brepols Publishers.
Byzantinische Bibliographie Online (De Gruyter, subscription)
Includes the bibliographic sections of the Byzantinische Zeitschrift from volume 98 (2005) up to the present day. It contains around 30,000 entries in total, and each year about 4,000 entries will be added. The entries are organized systematically by subject area and enriched by short discussions and references to relevant review articles.
Index of Medieval Art
The largest archive of medieval art in the world, the Index of Medieval Art (formerly the Index of Christian Art) was founded by Professor Charles Rufus Morey in 1917 and is based at Princeton University. The Index documents primarily medieval art from early apostolic times to approximately 1400 AD and contains over 26,000 terms that deal predominantly with Christian iconography as well as Jewish, Islamic, and nonecclesiastical subjects. The Index consists of three components: subject files, photographic files, and a database.
Iter: Gateway to the Renaissance (Iter; subscription)
A bibliography of more than 1.45 million citations for secondary source material about the Middle Ages and Renaissance, 400-1700.
Medieval and Early Modern Data Bank (MEMDB)
A project established at Rutgers University and originally cosponsored by the Research Libraries Group (RLG), Inc. Its aim is to provide scholars with an expanding library of information in electronic format on the medieval and early modern periods of European history, circa 800-1815 C.E.
