Skip to Main Content
Social Work Statistics
Annie E. Casey Foundation -- Kids Count Data Center
Includes basic census data pertaining to children. Searchable by location, topic, characteristic, or publications.
Children’s Defense Fund
Provides reports, charts, and studies on child poverty as well as CDF’s child research data and publications in the “Research Library.”
Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health -- National Center for Children in Poverty: Putting Research to Work for Children & Families
Offers reports, factsheets, and data tools (e.g. young child risk calculator, 50- State demographics wizard) on topics covering child poverty, adolescent health and youth development, healthy development, low-wage work and children’s mental health.
Cornell University College of Human Ecology -- National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
Maintains rich datasets on adoption and foster care analysis as well as child abuse and neglect.
Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics -- ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
Offers a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
U.S. Department of Education: Institute of Education Sciences -- National Center for Education Statistics: Fast Facts
Acts as the go-to government resource for education, including a Fast Facts page that offers up-to-date data broken down by early childhood, elementary & secondary, postsecondary, library, and assessments.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services -- Administration for Children and Families
Includes policy and planning links to several statistical reports including statistics on adoption/foster care, child abuse, and Head Start programs.
UNICEF-- UNICEF Data: Monitoring the Situation of Children and Women
Collects data related to children and women, including child mortality, child health, child nutrition, maternal health, water and sanitation, education, child disability, child protection, and HIV/AIDS. Searchable by topic or country.
Bureau of Justice Statistics -- All Data Collections
Includes comprehensive data on all aspects of the criminal justice system, including information on jails, deaths in custody, law enforcement management, recidivism, juveniles, sexual violence, and more.
National Center for Juvenile Justice -- National Juvenile Court Data Archive
Offers datasets on the activities of juvenile courts from around the country.
University of Michigan -- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Includes guides on capital punishment, expenditures for criminal justice system, homicide, crime victimization, juvenile justice, violence against women, and more. Up-to-date data provided by U.S. Department of Justice.
U.S. Department of Health & Human Services, Administration for Children & Families -- Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), Data & Reports
Features data on TANF recipients since 1996, including data on caseloads, financials, and work participation rates as well as State and Congressional reports.
U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Ways and Means -- Green Book
Contains current and historical data on a wide variety of social and economic topics, including Social Security, health insurance, employment, welfare, child support, families with children, poverty, Medicare, and the elderly. Searchable by current year or archived reports.
United States Census Bureau -- Poverty
Provides poverty data from several household surveys and programs. Here you can find poverty estimates, learn about these surveys and programs, and get guidance on how to choose the right estimate for your needs.
World Bank -- Poverty Data
Collaborates with national institutions and development agencies to obtain and present information on poverty and related indicators on a global scale. Focuses on extent and roots of poverty/inequality and public policy.
United States Census Bureau -- American FactFinder
Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas, including information from several censuses and surveys that include population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Searchable by ZIP code.
United States Census Bureau -- Health Insurance
Offers current data on income, health insurance coverage, and health care utilization for the United States population.
United States Census Bureau -- Housing Topics
Offers statistics on homeownership, affordability, and housing vacancy data, including historical tables on crowding, rents, and homeownership by race.
United States Census Bureau -- The Statistical Abstracts Series
Acts as the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S. Collection of data terminated for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011. Offers access to historical data from 1878 through 2012. To access the most current data, please refer to the institution’s subscription to the publication.