Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL/EBSS Curriculum Materials Center Scholarly Publication Bibliography

Materials

Brown, J. M., Fabbi, J. L., & Taranto, C. (2005).  Branch libraries and technology: Impact of a new main library.  Library Hi Tech, 23(1), 90-101. doi:10.1108/07378830510586739

Catalano, A. (2008). Making a place for bibliotherapy on the shelves of a curriculum materials center: The case for helping pre-service teachers use developmental bibliotherapy in the classroom. Education, 31(3), 17-22. http://dx.doi.org/10.26443/el.v31i3.258

Clark, A. S. (1982). Managing curriculum materials in the academic library. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow.

Cupery, P., Delaney, L., & Foulk, B. (2001). Collection development for CMC reference materials. In J.  A. Carr (Ed.), A guide to the management of curriculum materials centers for the 21st century: The promise and the challenge (pp. 101-108).Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library Association.

Curriculum materials center collection development policy. (1984). Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, Education and Behavioral Sciences Section. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED256360)

Evans, A.D., & Tipton, M. H. (1999). The shift from the older media to the 'state-of-the-art' technology in teacher education media centers. Ohio Media Spectrum, 41, 7-10.

Fornwald, E., Delaurier-Lyle, K., Lacey, S., Traas, W., Marston, S., & Picollo, R. (2021). Repurposing problematic books into critical literacy kits. Collection Management, 46(3-4), 205-222. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1905576

Gerber, T., Jax, J., Lange, K., & Smith, S. (2007, March/April). Improving pk-12 curriculum resource center collections outreach using SB&F and other AAAS resources. Science Books & Films, 98, 104, 139.

Godbey, S., & Melilli, A. (2021). Developing a P-12 English Language Learner collection in an academic library that reflects its community. Collection Management, 46(3-4), 273-290. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1910889

Grossman, P., & Thompson, C. (2004). Curriculum materials: Scaffolds for new teaching learning? (Research Report R-04-1). Retrieved from Center for the Study of Teaching and Policy, University of Washington website: https://depts.washington.edu/ctpmail/PDFs/SecCurr-CTPG-01-04.pdf

Hickok, J. (2001). Criteria for selection and deselection of CMC materials, both new and donated. In J. A. Carr, (Ed.), A guide to the management of curriculum materials centers for the 21st century: The promise and the challenge (pp. 57-68). Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library Association.

Hildebrandt, J. M., & Partello, P. (2001). Paying the piper and retaining a tune worth dancing to: Balancing funding sources and the collection development process. In J. A. Carr. (Ed.), A guide to the management of curriculum materials centers for the 21st century: The promise and the challenge (pp. 34-41). Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library Association.

Homza, A., & Fontno, T. (2021). Supporting teacher candidates as social justice change-makers: A faculty-librarian collaboration for building and using diverse youth collections. In D. E. Hartsfield (Ed.), Handbook of research on teaching diverse youth literature to pre-service professionals (pp. 398-421). Information Science Reference. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-7998-7375-4.ch020

Kester, B. (2021). Diversifying an academic library’s children’s and young adult collection: A case study from the University of Florida’s Education Library. Collection Management. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1910888

Lare, G. A. (2004). Acquiring and organizing curriculum materials: A guide and directory of resources (2nd ed.). Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press.

Lare, G. (2001). Providing effective and efficient access to curriculum materials. In J. A. Carr (Ed.), A guide to the management of curriculum materials centers for the 21st century: The promise and the challenge (pp. 69-80).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library Association.

Lear, B.A., & Schmit, K. M. (2015).  Frog and toad make friends: Cooperative development of preK-12 collections at a multicampus university. College and Research Libraries News, 70(10), 534-536, 543. Retrieved from http://crln.acrl.org/content/76/10/534.full

Lehner-Quam, A., West, R. K., & Espinosa, C. M. (2020). Developing and teaching with a diverse children's literature collection at an urban public college: What teacher education students know and ways their knowledge can grow about diverse books. Behavioral & Social Sciences Librarianhttps://doi.org/10.1080/01639269.2017.1775762

Libutti, P. O. (2001).  Management tools for maintaining a CMC virtual collection. In J. A. Carr (Ed.), A guide to the management of curriculum materials centers for the 21st century: The promise and the challenge (pp. 81-100).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library Association.

Locke, R. (2007). More than puppets: Curriculum collections in Australian universities. Australian Academic & Research Libraries, 39(3), 192-215.  https://doi.org/10.1080/00048623.2007.10721296

Meyer, N. (2012). Collection development and budgets: Methods to keep the curriculum center current. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 75-100).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Meyer, N. (2011). Selecting diverse resources of native American perspective for the curriculum center: Children's literature, leveled readers, and social studies curriculum. Education Libraries, 34(1), 23-32. Retrieved from http://units.sla.org/division/ded/educationlibraries/34-1.pdf

Morse, H. (1988). Withdrawal criteria in a teaching practice collection. Audiovisual Librarian, 14, 31-35.

O'Brien, N. P., & Walker, J. (2012).  Evolution of the American textbook: From hornbooks to iPads. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 145-163).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Osa, J. O. (2003).  Collection development: Curriculum materials center. The Acquisitions Librarian, 15(30), 131-153. https://doi.org/10.1300/J101v15n30_11

Schiller, E., Melin, J., & Bair, M. (2016). To kit or not to kit? Science and Children, 53(8), 61-66. http://dx.doi.org/10.2505/4/sc16_053_08_61

Shouse, D. L., & Teel, L. (2006).  Inventory: Catalyst for collection development. Collection Building, 25(4), 129-133. Retrieved from http://thescholarship.ecu.edu/bitstream/handle/10342/1061/inventory%20catalyst%20for%20collection%20development.doc?sequence=1

Sisson, L., & Kaplan, A. G. (2001). K-12 textbooks series sets in CMCs: Collection development and management issues. In J. A. Carr (Ed.), A guide to the management of curriculum materials centers for the 21st century: The promise and the challenge (pp. 42-56).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library Association.

Smith, H. F., & Gardner, C. A. (1956, July). Curriculum materials in the teachers college library.  College and Research Libraries, 17, 311-315. https://doi.org/10.5860/crl_17_04_304

Smith, J. (1991). But, how do you barcode a puppet?: Nonbook collection at the Learning Resource Center at Northern Kentucky University.  Ohio Media Spectrum, 43, 23-25.

Strong, M. E. (1958). An investigation of trade and industrial education curriculum materials development and curriculum laboratories in the United States (Unpublished doctoral dissertation). Ohio State University, Columbus, OH.

Walker, J. (2001). Technology and the CMC. In J. A. Carr (Ed.), A guide to the management of curriculum materials centers for the 21st century: The promise and the challenge (pp. 148-163).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries, American Library Association.

Walter, S. (2005, January). Collections hidden or lost: Issues and opportunities for the preservation and use of historical and archival collections in education. Paper presented at the Gutman Library, Harvard Graduate School of Education, Cambridge, MA. Retrieved from https://kuscholarworks.ku.edu/handle/1808/222

Wood, G., Melita, L., & Wildman, M. (2004). Lights! cameras! action!: Digital media equipment and the academic library.  Journal of Academic Librarianship, 30(5), 410-415.doi:10.1016/j.acalib.2004.09.001