Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL/EBSS Curriculum Materials Center Scholarly Publication Bibliography

Teacher Education

Church. J. G. (1958). The development of criteria for evaluating curriculum laboratories in teacher education (Unpublished doctoral dissertation). University of Utah. Salt Lake City, UT.

Edmonds, E. L. (1967). Education for responsibility: Fifty teacher staff-colleges. British Journal of Educational Studies, 15(3), 243-252. doi:10.1080/00071005.1967.9973192

Edwards, R. G. (1996). Curriculum materials centers: The vital link to teacher education programs. Ohio Media Spectrum, 48, 13-15.

Ellis, E. (1969). The role of the curriculum laboratory in the preparation of quality teachers. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED031457)

Emans, L. M. (1953). Preservice education of teachers. Nation's Schools, 61, 67-69.

Farthing, P., & Gregor, M. N. (2012). Promoting library instruction for education students: A model for CMC/Faculty collaboration. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 59-74). Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Fothergill, R. (1973). Resource centres in colleges of education. London: National Council for Educational Technology. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED090998)

Fuchs, C., & Ball, H. (2021). Making connections for student success: Mapping concept commonalities in the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy, the Common Core State Standards, and the American Association of School Librarians Standards for the 21st-Century Learner. College & Undergraduate Libraries. https://doi.org/10.1080/10691316.2021.1905577

Grand Valley State University Libraries. (2017). Teaching future educators. Off the Shelf, 1(1), 7, Article 5. Retrieved from http://scholarworks.gvsu.edu/cgi/viewcontent.cgi?article=1004&context=offtheshelf

Henne, F., & Lowell, M. H. (1942, July). The preparation of secondary-school teachers in the use of library materials. The Library Quarterly, 12(3), 533-556. doi:10.1086/615261

Homza, A., & Fontno, T. (2021). Supporting teacher candidates as social justice change-makers: A faculty-librarian collaboration for building and using diverse youth collections. In D. E. Hartsfield (Ed.), Handbook of research on teaching diverse youth literature to pre-service professionals (pp. 398-421). Information Science Reference. https://doi.org/10.4018/978-1-7998-7375-4.ch020

Juliar, H. (1969, November). A material-media laboratory to train special education teachers. Audiovisual Instruction, 14(9), 38-40.

  • Also in N. P. Pearson & L. Butler (Eds.).  (1973). Library resource centers: Selected readings (pp.214-218). Minneapolis, MN: Burgress.

Kauffman, D. (2002, April). A search for support: Beginning elementary teachers' use of mathematics curriculum materials. Paper presented at the annual meeting of the American Educational Research Association, New Orleans, LA. Retrieved from http://www.gse.harvard.edu/~ngt/Kauffman_AERA2002.pdf

Mac Vean, D.S. (1960). Report of an evaluation of curriculum laboratory services in a teachers college. Journal of Educational Research, 53(9), 341-344.

Miller, J., & Meyer, N. (2012). The value of the curriculum center's mission statement: Meeting the needs of evolving teacher education. In R. Kohrman (Ed.), Curriculum materials collections and centers: Legacies from the past, visions of the future (pp. 167-198).  Chicago, IL: Association of College and Research Libraries.

Osa, J. O, & Musser, L. R. (2004).  The role of posters in teacher education programs. Education Libraries, 27(1), 16-21.

Russell, T. (1966). Selected implications for college and university curriculum laboratories in supporting public school curriculum development (Unpublished doctoral dissertation). University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa, AL.

Toifel, R.C. (1992). A survey of curriculum materials centers in teacher education institutions. Retrieved from ERIC database. (ED343904)

Uhl, J. O. (2007). The curriculum materials center: Library support for a teacher education program. Collection Building, 26(2), 44-47. doi:10.1108/01604950710742068

Wanamaker, K., & Bestwick, A. (2021). Using book tasting in the academic library: A tale of children’s literature, collaboration, and an increased appetite for books. Collection Management. https://doi.org/10.1080/01462679.2021.1965685