Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Pandemic Resources for Academic Libraries: Free Time? Free Learning!

Updated information, professional development, and resources to support academic and research library personnel during a pandemic.

Upcoming Virtual Events

Photo of computer and books on a desk

 

January 2021
ACRL DSS OR DG - Agile Skunks: Building Cross-domain Organizational Collaboration in Support of Research Software Preservation - Thursday, January 28, 2021 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Central Time

February 2021
ACRL ULS AOC: Online Roundtable Discussion: Supporting Students Who Can't Come to Campus and/or Participate in the University Experience I -
Tuesday, February 2, 2021 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL ULS AOC: Online Roundtable Discussion: Supporting Students Who Can't Come to Campus and/or Participate in the University Experience II - Wednesday, February 3, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL STS Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Task Force: Equitable Hiring Practices and Retention of Diverse Library Employees - Wednesday, February 3, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Central Time
ACRL ULS AOC: Online Roundtable Discussion: Supporting Students Who Can't Come to Campus and/or Participate in the University Experience III - Thursday, February 4, 2021 3:00 m.m. - 4:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL DOLS DG: Ask the Room with the DOLS Discussion Group - Tuesday, February 9, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL IS MLC: From "Inclusive Leadership" to "Advancing Equity"- Tuesday, February 9, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. Central Time

ACRL Image Resources Interest Group Winter Business Meetings - Wednesday, February 10, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL SLILC: "Ask the Room": Open and Inclusive Pedagogies from and Beyond Your Living Room  - Wednesday, February 10, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL ULS PDC: Critical Information Literacy in Ideologically Pluralistic Classrooms: Exploring Challenges and Possibilities - Friday, February 12, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL POAL EB: The Assessment in Action Roadshow: Four Years of Facilitating Library Assessment of Student Learning and Success - Tuesday, February 23, 2021 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL STS SCC: To Fund or Not to Fund: A Glimpse Into the Open Access Funding Landscape in Libraries -  Tuesday, February 23, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Central Time
ACRL ULS PDC: Supporting the Whole Person with Student Basic Needs Services - Tuesday, February 23, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL Access Services IG: Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Anti-Racism in Access Services - Wednesday, February 24, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time

March 2021
ACRL ULS PDC: Building a Community to Foster Your Professional Growth - Thursday, March 25, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL DOLS R&PC: Author Forum - Thursday, March 25, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL DSS DC DG Lightning Talk Series: Collaborating on Digital Collections in Teaching and Research - Friday, March 26, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL DSS Digital Humanities Discussion Group Online Symposium - Monday, March 29, 2021 11:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL Value of Academic Library Impact Grant Presentations - Part I - Tuesday, March 30, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time


April 2021
ACRL DSS DC DG Lightning Talk Series: Enhancing Digital Collections in Teaching and Research with Digital Tools -
Friday, April 23, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL IS TMC: Enabling the Teachable Moment: Motivating for Learning Readiness - Tuesday, April 27, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time
ACRL Instruction Section: Framework for Information Literacy Sandbox Webinar - Tuesday, April 27, 2021 3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. Central Time

May 2021
ACRL Value of Academic Library Impact Grant Presentations - Part II -
Tuesday, May 25, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL 2021 DSS Digital Collections Discussion Group: Lightning Talk Series: Highlighting a Specific Digital Collection in Teaching and Research - Friday, May 28, 2021 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m.

Webcast Archives

Check out this selection of popular ACRL Presents webcast recordings, or browse the full archive. All recordings are freely available!

Understanding Fair Use Through Case Law
February 25, 2020

Academic and research libraries often cite fair use for the activities that we engage in to make content available to stakeholders. Depending on your perspective, fair use is a right or a defense outlined in United States Copyright Law. What most can agree on is that in the United States, we rely on case law to help us understand fair use and to implement strategies for sharing content based on that understanding. This webinar gives a back-to-basics overview of fair use and utilizes case law to illustrate each factor of a fair use analysis.


Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources
October 22, 2019

Open educational resources (OER) are not usually a hard sell for students. But what about educators? How do they benefit from having access to resources that are licensed openly? And how can we, as librarians, guide faculty in adopting and adapting OER?

Open Access Publications

A variety of open access ACRL publications are available to further your professional reading. Catch up on the latest issues of C&RLC&RL News, and RBM: A Journal of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Cultural Heritage or explore the deep publication archives. Our Keeping Up With… series features concise briefs on trends in academic librarianship and higher education. Visit our digital publications page for open access books, and don’t forget to check out our extensive list of reports and white papers too. Explore ACRL’s LibGuides for resources on issues such as equity, diversity, and inclusion; the Framework for Information Literacy; scholarly communication; and more.

Selected resources include...

Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future: Developed over the course of a year with leadership from the Research and Scholarly Environment Committee (ReSEC) and with a high degree of community involvement, Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future is a powerful new action-oriented research agenda that encourages the community to make the scholarly communications system more open, inclusive, and equitable by outlining trends, encouraging practical actions, and clearly identifying the most strategic research questions to pursue. 

Applying Library Values to Emerging Technology: Decision-Making in the Age of Open Access, Maker Spaces, and the Ever-Changing Library (Publications in Librarianship #72)Applying Library Values to Emerging Technology: Decision-Making in the Age of Open Access, Maker Spaces, and the Ever-Changing Library offers a wide range of perspectives on how to interpret and apply library values in the context of emerging technologies. Divided into two sections—Contemplating Library Values and Applying Library Values—and using the ALA’s Core Values of Librarianship as the primary reference point, chapters emphasize the underlying frameworks that guide librarian practice and capture practical, real-world applications that can ideally serve as a starting point for other librarians encountering similar issues, even if the specific technology or set of values may differ.

ACRL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion LibGuide: ACRL is dedicated to creating diverse and inclusive communities in the Association and in academic and research libraries. This core commitment permeates the work of the Association, cutting across all ACRL sections, committees, interest and discussion groups, and communities of practice. Learn more about ACRL EDI initiatives in this LibGuide.

CHOICE Resources

CHOICE provides professional development tools for librarianship including webinars, podcasts, white papers, bibliographic essays, and digital publications that help librarians strengthen their skills and further their careers.​ 

Shelter in Place
The editors at Choice are compiling complimentary Choice-created content and other industry resources to make them easily accessible to librarians. To receive updates/additions in your inbox The Shelter in Place eNewsletter will go out once or twice a week during the COVID-19 crisis. Sign up on the .Choice website

The CHOICE Shelter in Place Facebook Group is a private space to let you virtually interact with your peers. Share your feelings, reach out, ask for help, and tell colleagues what is working for you during these unprecedented times. As the group grows, Facebook Live moderated chats and events will be offered.

ACRL-Choice Webinars
Stay current on library trends and discover more about where the field is headed with ACRL-Choice webinars. Industry experts lead these sponsored, 60-minute interactive presentations, which cover topics like digital publishing, research trends, and open access. Webinar archives are available on the Choice YouTube channel.

Upcoming offerings include:

"Looking back at 10 years of Cambridge University Press Ebooks: Learn why ebooks came to be, and how relevant the content remains" - Thursday, May 21 at 2:00 pm ET | Sponsored and presented by Cambridge University Press

"Put Those Databases to Work! Strategies to Get Materials Flying Off Virtual Shelves" - Tuesday, June 2 at 2:00pm ET | Sponsored and presented by Infobase

"Plagues, Epidemics, Peculiar Beliefs and Practices through Time: Delving into Primary Sources" - Tuesday, June 9 at 2:00pm ET | Sponsored and presented by ProQuest

Choice White Papers
Choice white papers feature the latest research on academic librarianship. Recent topics include research data services, marketing library services, and open educational resources. 

The Authority File Podcast
The podcast from Choice, The Authority File provides insight on the academic library market through conversations with representatives of some of the biggest and most innovative companies influencing it, as well as authors of insightful books, librarians who are transforming their field, and academics whose research is laying the groundwork for the future.