LibGuides: Language and Linguistics Discussion Group: Linguistics Resources

Indexes & Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index and abstracts international literature in linguistics
MLA International Bibliography
Research in languages and literature from ancient to modern (excluding classical Greek and Roman literatures)
Linguistics Abstracts Online
Indexing and abstracting for linguistics and language journals
ACL Anthology
Research papers on the study of computational linguistics and natural language processing
Bibliography of Linguistic Literature - Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur
Bibliographical information for English, German, and Romance linguistics as well as general linguistics resources

Data Resources

Linguistics Data Consortium
Data collections, corpora, software, research papers and specifications hosted by the University of Pennsylvania
U.S. Census Language Data
Data on language use tied to location in the United States
English-Corpora.org
Formerly BYU Corpora, English-language corpora. Free through web interface and downloads for purchase.

Reference Resources

Ethnologue: Languages of the World
Language profiles, maps, with cross references created by SIL, a missionary organization
Glottolog
Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages
Indo-European Etymological Dictionaries Online
Lexicons for branches of Indo-European languages
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Linguistics
Articles that provide an overview to and a guide to current scholarship on particular topics
Treasury of Linguistic Maps Online
Maps of languages from De Gruyter's archives, in English and German
World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS)
A database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages

Web Resources

Open Language Archives Community (OLAC)
An international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources

About LLDG

ALA Connect: Language and Linguistics Discussion Group

A forum for discussion of current trends, practices, and challenges related to working with non-English language services, vernacular resources, and linguistics materials in academic libraries

Language and Linguistics Discussion Group

Guides from Colleagues

Kent State University: Translation Studies
University of Chicago: Linguistics
University of Chicago: Translation Studies
University of Rochester: Literary Translation Studies
University of Washington: Computational Linguistics
Created by Dan Mandeville
University of Washington: Linguistics
Created by Dan Mandeville
Simmons: Linguistic Data Management in Libraries
Created by Courtney Dalton