Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Scandinavian Studies

Scholarly resources in Scandinavian Studies, including Denmark, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, and Sweden. The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process.

Denmark

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Online civil and parish records provided by the Danish State Archives.

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

Combining different sources for historical research in census, probate and emigration records.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

As found in the English-language Wikipedia.

Multiple online means of documenting Danish history.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

The Danish national library.

Collection of materials from the time of German occupation, 1940-1945.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

The Danish Military Historical Society

Finland

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

Including Swedish rule, Russian rule and independence.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

1998 article by Toivo Nygård published in Finnish Yearbook of Political Thought.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

Finnish Humanities Network.

As found in the English-language Wikipedia.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

National Archives of Finland

Digitized material at the National Library of Finland.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Finnish History Society. (Website also available in English or Swedish).

Iceland

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

Collection of Icelandic sagas, all in Icelandic.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

Eldbjørg Haug,

  • "The Icelandic Annals as Historical Sources,"

Scandinavian Journal of History.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

As found in the English-language Wikipedia.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Norway

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

The National Archives' digital source for major vital data.

A major joint effort of Norwegian universities for primary digital documentation in such areas as history, folklore, literature, lexicography, ethnography and numismatics.

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

Sverre Bagge,

in Genet, J. P. (ed.), L'historiographie médiévale en Europe, pp. 199-208.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

Searchable database of articles on Norwegian history.

As found in the English-language Wikipedia.

Includes links to many details of Norwegian-American life.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

Norwegian National Library.

Database of over 70,000 photographic images from Norwegian history.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Norwegian Historical Society with English interface.

Sweden

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

A database project uniting civil and parish records with census information online.

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

Information and further links on Swedish royalty and other historical personalities.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

Online search provided by the Royal Library's Libris.

Digital guide to regional Swedish archives.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

Sweden's National Library.

National Archives.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Swedish National Maritime Museums.

Swedish Museum of National Antiquities