Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

French Studies

Scholarly resources in French Studies, including those covering Belgium, Canada, France, Luxembourg, Monaco, and Switzerland. The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process.

General Resources

Historical Maps of Europe (University of Texas at Austin)

France

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

  • Clio site d'histoire sociale (Ecole Normale Supérieure)
    A collection of reviews, bibliographies, statistics, articles, documents, links, maps, secondary works, and research projects concerning the history of contemporary Europe and of the former colonial world. Immigration is a significant topic.
  • Encyclopedia of 1848 Revolutions (Ohio University)
  • H-France Homepage (Society for French Historical Studies)
    Site for French historians: book reviews, subject-oriented discussions, as well as links to Archives and Libraries, Bibliographies, Electronic Texts, Museums, Images, and Multimedia; Maps. 

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Belgium

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

Clio site d'histoire sociale (Ecole Normale Supérieure)
A collection of reviews, bibliographies, statistics, articles, documents, links, maps, secondary works, and research projects concerning the history of contemporary Europe and of the former colonial world. Immigration is a significant topic.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Switzerland

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Swiss primary historical documents on EuroDocs
Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Musée national suisse - Museo nazionale svizzero - Schweizerisches Landesmuseum
The Swiss National Museum.

Luxembourg

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Primary historical documents from Luxembourg on EuroDocs
Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

Archives Nationales de Luxembourg

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Monaco

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Primary historical documents from Monaco on EuroDocs ​
Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.
 

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

WESSWeb

INSTRUCTIONS

Include resources not particular to a country under General Resources

Copy and create a COUNTRY BOX for each country in your area. 

Use a TEXT BOX and add content under the headings. Annotate if necessary. 

Delete headings w/ no content. 

Besides the History section in the regional guide, look at relevant resources in WESSWeb guide for History and Social Science

Save a PDF of the WESSWeb guide section you're working on and insert in WESSWeb BOX.
- Create a Wayback Machine link of the WESSWeb guide section and put in WESSWeb BOX.

DELETE INSTRUCTION BOX WHEN DONE.