Iberian Studies (Spain, Portugal and Andorra)

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

• Andorran primary historical documents on EuroDocs

           Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

• Portuguese primary historical documents on EuroDocs

            Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

• Political Documents from Portuguese History

            (1821-1911; Portuguese-language transcriptions)

 

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

• O Portal da História

            A portal to Portuguese (and international) history.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

• Libraries and Archives in Portugal

            List from H-Portugal

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

• Centro de Estudos de História do Atlântico Alberto Vieira

            Center for the Study of Atlantic History. History of the Atlantic Islands, including particularly Madeira. Includes other history links.

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

• Spanish primary historical documents on EuroDocs

             Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

• Previously Unpublished Letters of Philip II, Habsburg King of Spain

             Mostly to Don Diego de Orellana de Chaves, Governor of the Northern Coast, after the defeat of the Spanish Armada, 1592-1597.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

• Biblioteca Virtual del Patrimonio Bibliográfico

           Digital facsimiles of around 1,000 manuscripts and books representing the Spanish cultural heritage.

           Cosponsored by the Spanish Ministry of Culture and accessible by a simple or an advanced search.

• LIBRO: Library of Iberian Resources Online

           Growing full-text collection of out-of-print but recent monographs on medieval Iberian history.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

• The "Virtual Library" Spanish History Index

            Hosted at the European University Institute in Florence, Italy.

• Straatvaart: Early Modern Hispano-Dutch history

            A portal provided by Iñaki López Martín.

• Diccionario Biográfico Español

           Spanish biographical dictionary published by the Real Academia de la Historia

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

• PARES: Portal de Archivos Españoles

           A searchable portal to Spanish archives, including an "inventario dinámico de contenidos" indicating digital holdings.

• Archives, Virtual Libraries and Other Digital Historical Resources

            From the Virtual Library for Spanish History.

• The Southworth Spanish Civil War Collection

At the Mandeville Special Collections Library, University of California at San Diego.

Including Posters of the Spanish Civil War, Drawings made by Spanish Children During the Spanish Civil War, and related audio and visual media.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

• Historical Associations and Historical Societies

            From the Virtual Library for Spanish History.