LibGuides: ACRL/EBSS Statistical Directory for Education & Social Science Librarians: General Social Sciences Statistics and Demographics

General Social Sciences Statistics and Demographics

General United States

United States Census Bureau -- Explore Data Provides access to demographic, economic, housing, and geographic data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas from surveys and censuses. Includes the American Community Survey and Decennial Census.
Data.gov -- US Government Open Data Provides access to open datasets published by agencies across the federal government in the US.
Pew Research Center Acts as nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes, and trends shaping America and the world through public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. Topics include U.S. politics and policy; journalism and media; internet, science, and technology; religion and public life; Hispanic trends; global attitudes and trends; and U.S. social and demographic trends.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research Contains a collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to present, covering various social and political topics.
National Opinion Research Center (NORC) -- GSS: General Social Survey Contains demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest.

International

United Nations Statistical Division -- UNdata Houses numerous databases, tables and glossaries containing over 60 million data points, covering a wide range of themes including agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, environment, health, HIV/AIDS, human development, industry, information and communication technology, national accounts, population, refugees, tourism, and trade as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
World Bank -- Data Provides data about development in countries around the globe. Arranged by country, topic, indicator, or microdata.
OECD Data Contains statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), covering various social and economic indicators for member countries
Eurostat Statistics for European Union member states, covering economy, society, and environment.
International Statistical Agencies Produced by the U.S. Census Bureau, this page links to official statistical agencies for various governments.
GOV.UK -- Statistics Contains collection of United Kingdom statistical links based on topic or governmental department.
NationMaster Provides a compilation of data from hundreds of sources, including maps and graphs on all kinds of statistics, including a Top Stats option.

United States

United State Census Bureau -- QuickFacts Provides data related to population, age & sex, race, and other characteristics for all states and counties. The search function includes the ability to narrow data by zip code, town/city, county, and state.
United States Census Bureau -- Interactive Maps Work with interactive mapping tools from across the Census Bureau.

International

United Nations Statistics Division -- Demographics and Social Statistics Provides access to international demographic and social statistics on topics including: population, family formation, housing, time use, violence against women, health and disability, learning and education, economic activity, social security and welfare, income and poverty, and public order and safety.