Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African American Studies Librarians Interest Group(AASLIG): African American Studies Database Subscriptions

Libguide will serve as a website for the activities and projects of the AASLIG, as well as current information in African American Studies

African American Studies Databases for Purchase

This is the digitized version of Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950. It has the full text biographies of African Americans from many walks of life. The best way to search this database is to type in the last name of the person and then select them from the results display list.

"Developed with the guidance of African American librarians and subject specialists, The African American Experience has the widest depth and breadth of information available of any online database collection on African American history and culture."

Contains 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.

This database provides a wealth of information from 270 newspapers published about the African American experience in the United States by those who lived it. The papers were compiled from over 35 states, which provide a comprehensive online archival source.

Contains literature in the following genres:Black Short Fiction and Folklore,Black Women Writers,Caribbean Literature, South and Southeast Asian Literature in English,Latin American Women Writers, Latino Literature, Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period, Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period.

This second edition contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights. It also has selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays. Nearly 600 of the plays are published here for the first time, including a number by major authors. The library also has the catalog records and the plays can be searched by title in the online catalog.

A cross-searchable database that includes the Schomberg Studies on the Black Experience, the International Index to Black Periodicals, historical black newspapers like the Pittsburgh Courier and the Black Literature Index.

Provides primary source materials published by the leading African American thinkers and intellectuals of their day.

Cross-searchable database that includes the following ebooks: Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895, Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present, Black Women in America, 2nd ed., African American National Biography, the Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, and the Oxford Companion to Black British Theatre.

Contains modern and contemporary African American poetry, with nearly 9,000 poems by sixty two prominent African American poets of the last century, including Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer, Imamu