Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ANSS Resource Review & Bibliography

Great Publishing Opportunity

Have you come across a great resource you want to share with the ANSS community? The ANSS Resource Review and Bibliography Committee (RRBC) invites you to submit a review that could be included in the next publication of ANSS Currents. Articles can be written covering any resource in anthropology, sociology, criminal justice, and related fields. Reviews of resources related to equity, diversity and inclusion issues are very appropriate and encouraged. We welcome reviews on a variety of resources, such as:

  • databases

  • research tools

  • free online resources

  • books

  • collection development tools

  • instruction resources

Your review will be published in ANSS Currents, the newsletter of the ACRL Anthropology & Sociology Section, in the "Resource Review" section. You can see past reviews below. ANSS Currents is a great way to share with your colleagues and add a publication to your resume! The spring deadline for submission will be March 10, 2022.

Reviews submitted to the Resource Review and Bibliography Committee will go through a friendly peer review process. You can see additional information about that process here: https://acrl.libguides.com/c.php?g=824630&p=6013360. The ANSS Currents Guide for Authors provides helpful guidelines: ANSS Currents Guide for Authors.  If you have questions please contact ANSS RRBC co-chairs Tom Durkin at thomas.durkin@wisc.edu and Virginia Pierce at vpierce@statelibrary.sc.gov. We are happy to provide more information.

Call for articles for Spring 2022 issue and beyond:

To assure the committee continues to serve the needs of ANSS members, we ask that you forward resource review suggestions or resources questions to the committee. If you wish to write a resource review or suggest an author, include this in the information shared.

Recent Reviews (in order from newest to oldest)

Please find citation information and links to the following resource reviews below. 

Jess Hagman,Social Sciences Research Librarian, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. jhagman@illinois.edu
FREE TOOLS FOR QUALITATIVE DATA ANALYSIS  Reviewed August 2021. see p. 8 (ANSS-Currents, Fall 2021)

Tom Durkin, Social Sciences Librarian, UW-Madison. thomas.durkin@wisc.edu
SAGE RESEARCH METHODS DATABASE Reviewed February 2021. see p. 8 (ANSS-Currents, Spring 2021)

Celia Emmelhainz, Anthropology and Qualitative Research Librarian, University of California, Berkeley Library emmelhainz@berkeley.edu
ON SCHOLARLY BOOK AWARDS IN ANTHROPOLOGY Article, September 2020. see p. 10 (ANSS-Currents, Fall 2020)

Beth South, Assistant Librarian of Access & Technical Services, Indiana University East eabrockm@iue.edu
GETTING STARTED WITH KANOPY: FROM TRIAL TO PDA IMPLEMENTATION Reviewed September 2020. see p. 26 (ANSS-Currents, Fall 2020)

Jylisa Doney, Social Sciences Librarian, University of Idaho jylisadoney@uidaho.edu 
DATA.CENSUS.GOV Reviewed: September 2020. see p. 15 (ANSS-Currents, Fall 2020)

Carolyn McCallum, Cataloging Librarian for Nonprint Resources and liaison to Anthropology, Z. Smith Reynolds Library, Wake Forest University mccallcj@wfu.edu; Carol Cramer Head of Collection Management and liaison to Linguistics and Interpreting and Translation Studies Z. Smith Reynolds Library, Wake Forest University cramercj@wfu.edu
LINGUISTICS AND LANGUAGE BEHAVIOR ABSTRACTS (LLBA) Reviewed: February 2020. see p. 14 (ANSS-Currents, Spring 2020)

Virginia A. Pierce, Public Services Librarian, South Carolina State Library vpierce@statelibrary.sc.gov 
FOLKSTREAMS: A NATIONAL PRESERVE OF AMERICAN FOLKLORE FILMS Reviewed: February 2020. see p. 11 (ANSS-Currents, Spring 2020)

Wade Kotter, Social Sciences and Music Librarian, Weber State University wkotter@weber.edu 
RESEARCHING ETHNOMUSICOLOGY IN MUSIC DATABASES Reviewed: August 2019. see p. 15 (ANSS-Currents, Fall 2019)

Tom Durkin Anthropology, Folklore, & Sociology Librarian University of Wisconsin-Madison thomas.durkin@wisc.edu
FAMILY AND SOCIETY STUDIES WORLDWIDE DATABASE (EBSCO) Reviewed: February 2019, see p. 12 (ANSS-Currents, Spring 2019) 
Publisher: EBSCO URL: https://www.ebsco.com/products/research-databases/family-society-studies-worldwide
Cost: Institution-specific pricing can be obtained from EBSCO at https://www.ebsco.com/request-information

Helen Clements Associate Professor, Humanities & Social Sciences Division Edmon Low Library, Oklahoma State University helen.clements@okstate.edu
ACADEMIC VIDEO ONLINE (AVON) Reviewed: August-September, 2018; briefly revisited February 2019,  see p. 17 (ANSS-Currents, Spring 2019)  
Publisher: Alexander Street Press URL: https://alexanderstreet.com
Cost: Purchase models available include one-time purchase of the entire package, or demand-driven acquisition. Inquire about consortial pricing. (Additional details below.)
Coverage Dates: Release/publication dates of videos range from before 1910 to the present; majority of the collection released from 1990 to the present

Nikki Tummon, Liaison Librarian, McGill University Library & Archives,  nikki.tummon@mcgill.ca 
INDIGENOUS CINEMA – NATIONAL FILM BOARD OF CANADA, Reviewed: August 2018, see p. 16 (ANSS-Currents, Fall 2018)
Publisher: National Film Board of Canada 
URL: https://www.nfb.ca/indigenous-cinema 
Cost: Free web access 

Diane Fulkerson, Director of Information Commons/Library Services, University of South Florida Sarasota-Manatee, dfulkerson@sar.usf.edu 
HOMELAND SECURITY DIGITAL LIBRARY Reviewed: March 2018, see p. 19  (ANSS-Currents, Fall 2018)  
Publisher: U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA, and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security. 
URL: https://www.hsdl.org/c/ 
Cost: Access to over half the collection is free and open to the general public. The full collection is also free, but access requires an individual or organization-wide account. 

Tom Durkin, Anthropology, Folklore, & Sociology Librarian, University of Wisconsin-Madison, thomas.durkin@wisc.edu 
TDAR: THE DIGITAL ARCHAEOLOGICAL RECORD, Reviewed: March 2018, see p.22 (ANSS-Currents, Spring 2018) 
Publisher: Digital Antiquity (https://www.digitalantiquity.org/
URL:https://www.tdar.org/
Cost: Searching is open to any user. Downloading content is free for registered users. The database has no registration fee. Uploading new content costs $10 per file (up to 99 files) and $5 per file for uploading over 99 files. Coverage Dates: The database web site does not explicitly describe the overall coverage of the database.

Virginia Pierce, Public Services Librarian, South Carolina State Library, VPierce@statelibrary.sc.gov
DIGITAL ARCHAEOLOGICAL ARCHIVE OF COMPARATIVE SLAVERY (DAACS) Reviewed: March 2018, p 25 (ANSS-Currents, Spring 2018) 
Publisher: The Thomas Jefferson Foundation
URL:https://www.daacs.org/
Cost: Free web access
Coverage Dates: The database web site does not explicitly describe the overall coverage of the database.