GENERAL
Early periodical indexes : bibliographies and indexes of literature published in periodicals before 1900 / Robert Balay. Lanham, Md. : Scarecrow Press, 2000.
Lists close to 400 of the indexes, organized under broad subjects, with access by authors, titles, specific subjects, and dates. Annotations briefly describe the scope of each index and, when pertinent, the history. For general indexes, especially the ones whose scope seems too broad to be true (as with several online sources), Balay's discussions are lengthy and evaluative--a critical perspective that should make this book particularly useful on the reference shelf. Much of this literature is not accessible through any other indexes. (Choice, July 2001) All following entries noted as (Balay) will refer to this guide.
Europeana
Europeana enables people to explore the digital resources of Europe's museums, libraries, archives and audio-visual collections. It promotes discovery and networking opportunities in a multilingual space where users can engage, share in and be inspired by the rich diversity of Europe's cultural and scientific heritage.
Ideas and inspiration can be found within the more than 15 million items on Europeana. These objects include:
* Images - paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects
* Texts - books, newspapers, letters, diaries and archival papers
* Sounds - music and spoken word from cylinders, tapes, discs and radio broadcasts
* Videos - films, newsreels and TV broadcasts
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than fifty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide. At the time of writing, the site provided access to 199,836 serial titles. The database is searchable in full text and on the bibliographic metadata.
Google Books
Despite its name, Google Books includes countless issues of periodicals in all languages from the 18th Century onward.
17TH CENTURY
The gazetier universel aims at providing virtual library of the press of the Ancien Régime. This directory to online, full text versions of the gazettes provides access to thousands of digitized issues of close to 400 French periodicals from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. The links resolve to freely accessible online issues at Google Books, the Hathi Trust, Europeana, Gallica, and other sites. The "gazetier universel" is regularly supplemented and corrected.
Index of articles relative to Jewish history and literature published in periodicals, from 1665 to 1900. Edition: Augmented ed., with an introd. and edited list of abbreviations, by Zosa Szajkowski. Published: New York, Ktav Pub. House [1971, i.e. 1972]
Previous edition by Moïse Schwab (1839-1918) published from 1914-23 under the title Répertoire des articles relatifs à l’histoire et à la littérature juives parus dans les périodiques, de 1665 à 1900.
18TH CENTURY
The gazetier universel aims at providing virtual library of the press of the Ancien Régime. This directory to online, full text versions of the gazettes provides access to thousands of digitized issues of close to 400 French periodicals from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. The links resolve to freely accessible online issues at Google Books, the Hathi Trust, Europeana, Gallica, and other sites. The "gazetier universel" is regularly supplemented and corrected.
Index of articles relative to Jewish history and literature published in periodicals, from 1665 to 1900. Edition: Augmented ed., with an introd. and edited list of abbreviations, by Zosa Szajkowski. Published: New York, Ktav Pub. House [1971, i.e. 1972]
Previous edition by Moïse Schwab (1839-1918) published from 1914-23 under the title Répertoire des articles relatifs à l’histoire et à la littérature juives parus dans les périodiques, de 1665 à 1900.
Periodicals Index Online
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. Though focusing on American and British titles, PCI includes numerous important German, French, Spanish, and Italian titles, with content going back to the 19th century.
19TH CENTURY
19th Century Master File (formerly Poole's Plus): The Digital Index of the Nineteenth Century
Provides access to records from Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), the Index to Periodicals (1890-1902) (ed. William T. Stead), a file of nineteenth-century book records, a file of nineteenth-century serial records, the New York Times (1863-1905), New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906), Palmer's Index to the Times (London; 1880-1890), the Library Journal Cumulative Index (1876-1897), and more.
Bibliographie der fremdsprachigen Zeitschriftenliteratur
Provides coverage from approximately 1896-1964; merged with Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens (IBZ -- see below under German languages resources in 1965. For coverage extending back from 1896 to 1861 consult: Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriftenliteratur. Ergänzungs-Band.
Combined Retrospective Index to Book Reviews in Humanities Journals, 1802-1974. 10 vols. Edited by Evan Ira Farber. Woodbridge, Ct: Research Publications, 1982-1984.
An index to reviews in about 150 philosophy, classics, folklore, linguistics, music and (primarily) literature journals, for the most part published in England and the U.S. Organized by primary authors or editors and then by book titles.
C.R.I.S.: the Combined Retrospective Index Set to Journals in History, 1838-1974 . Washington: Carrollton Press, 1977-1978. 11 vols.
Indexes 243 English-language journals covering all areas of history. Volume III covers France; sections include France to 1609, 1610-1785, 1800-1815, 1815-1869, 1870-1913, 1914-1919, 1920-1939, 1940-1945, 1946-1974, economics and agriculture, military, religion, social and cultural, biography and geneology. Within each section, listings are by keyword.
Created by the Verein zur Digitalisierung von wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften, DigiZeitschriften provides images of periodicals in Economics, English Languages, Geology, Germanic Languages, History, Law, Librarianship, Philology, Romance Languages, the Sciences, and Sociology. Providing access to the back issues of German titles, DigiZeitschriften complements JSTOR.
· The Official Index to The [London] Times, 1906-1980
· Palmer's Index to The [London] Times, 1790-1905
· Palmer’s Full Text Online (The [London] Times), 1785-1870
· The Historical Index to The New York Times, 1851-1922
Although primarily a resource to 20th century journals (and mostly North American), JSTOR is such an important resource that it is listed here. It contains numerous British titles, some of which go back to the 19th century, such as Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (1872-1965) and numerous titles in the Sciences such as the Botanical Gazette (formerly Botanical Bulletin for the year 1875) 1876-1991) and the various Philosophical Transactions; the same is true for the Social Sciences, such as in the field of Economics, with the Economic Journal (1891-1996), Political Science, Psychology, Statistics, and other. Unfortunately, the holdings for British 19th Century titles in the Humanities is rather slim; one example would be the journal Mind (1876-1994).
Provides tables of contents for European historical journals going back as far as 1827. Mostly German, but includes numerous British magazines, as well as individual titles from the Low Countries, Spain, Switzerland and other European countries. A very useful site and complement to JSTOR.
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, with Supplementary Indexing, 1900-1922. Edited by Helen Grant Cushing and Adah V. Morris. New York, 1944. 2 vols.
Indexes 51 titles chosen by public and academic librarians. Provides standardized authority list of subject headings; also includes author entries. Covers a wide range of subjects, with a preference for general and literary titles. Includes Book Reviews.
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. Though focusing on American and British titles, PCI includes numerous important German, French, Spanish, and Italian titles, with content going back to the 19th century.
Religion Index (1881-) ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (1924-)
Description: ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLASerials indexes journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Citations cover all religions and all theological points of view.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800-1950)
RIPM (Répertoire international de la presse musicale) provides citations to articles from over sixty international nineteenth- and twentieth-century music periodicals including Allgemeine Musikalische Zeitung, Caecilia, L'Italia Musicale, The Musical Times, Nederlandsch Muzikaal Tijdschrift, Paganini, and Revue Musicale.
20TH-21ST CENTURIES
19th Century Master File (formerly Poole's Plus): The Digital Index of the Nineteenth Century
Provides access to records from Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), the Index to Periodicals (1890-1902) (ed. William T. Stead), a file of nineteenth-century book records, a file of nineteenth-century serial records, the New York Times (1863-1905), New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906), Palmer's Index to the Times (London; 1880-1890), the Library Journal Cumulative Index (1876-1897), and more.
Bibliographie der fremdsprachigen Zeitschriftenliteratur
Provides coverage from approximately 1896-1964; merged with Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens (IBZ -- see below under German languages resources in 1965. For coverage extending back from 1896 to 1861 consult: Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriftenliteratur. Ergänzungs-Band.
Created by the Verein zur Digitalisierung von wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften, DigiZeitschriften provides images of periodicals in Economics, English Languages, Geology, Germanic Languages, History, Law, Librarianship, Philology, Romance Languages, the Sciences, and Sociology. Providing access to the back issues of German titles, DigiZeitschriften complements JSTOR.
Although primarily a resource to 20th century journals (and mostly North American), JSTOR is such an important resource that it is listed here. It contains numerous British titles, some of which go back to the 19th century, such as Journal of the Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland (1872-1965) and numerous titles in the Sciences such as the Botanical Gazette (formerly Botanical Bulletin for the year 1875) 1876-1991) and the various Philosophical Transactions; the same is true for the Social Sciences, such as in the field of Economics, with the Economic Journal (1891-1996), Political Science, Psychology, Statistics, and other. Unfortunately, the holdings for British 19th Century titles in the Humanities is rather slim; one example would be the journal Mind (1876-1994).
Provides tables of contents for European historical journals going back as far as 1827. Mostly German, but includes numerous British magazines, as well as individual titles from the Low Countries, Spain, Switzerland and other European countries. A very useful site and complement to JSTOR.
Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, with Supplementary Indexing, 1900-1922. Edited by Helen Grant Cushing and Adah V. Morris. New York, 1944. 2 vols.
Indexes 51 titles chosen by public and academic librarians. Provides standardized authority list of subject headings; also includes author entries. Covers a wide range of subjects, with a preference for general and literary titles. Includes Book Reviews.
Periodicals Index Online is an electronic index to millions of articles published in thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770. Though focusing on American and British titles, PCI includes numerous important German, French, Spanish, and Italian titles, with content going back to the 19th century.
Religion Index (1881-) ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (1924-)
Description: ATLA (American Theological Library Association) Religion Database with ATLASerials indexes journal articles, essays, and book reviews in the field of religion. Citations cover all religions and all theological points of view.
Revues.org: Fédération de revues en ligne en sciences humaines et sociales.
First launched in 1999, Revues.org is the oldest and most comprehensive online portal to Francophone journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. While focusing on journals published in France, Revues.org has expanded its scope to include journals that are published partially or in full in other languages, including English, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, and Basque. Revues.org further cooperates with PERSEE and with CAIRN, as well as the Canadian Érudit, to provide full text access to the back issues of scholarly journals in Francophone studies. In addition to hundreds of titles, Revues.org increasingly includes electronic books and bibliographies.
RIPM: Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals (1800-1950)
RIPM (Répertoire international de la presse musicale) provides citations to articles from over sixty international nineteenth- and twentieth-century music periodicals including Allgemeine Musikalische Zeitung, Caecilia, L'Italia Musicale, The Musical Times, Nederlandsch Muzikaal Tijdschrift, Paganini, and Revue Musicale.
Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive.
Provides online full text of the TLS from 1902 to 1990. Fully indexed, it offers a rich slice of twentieth-century cultural history, and an invaluable research tool. Subscribers to the Centenary Archive can search an archive of almost 250,000 reviews, letters and poems; access biographical information; search articles by book title, author, or subject heading.
GENERAL
A guide to serial bibliographies for modern literatures. Edited by William A.Wortman. 2nd Edition. New York, N.Y.: Modern Language Association of America, 1995.
Following CHOICE, the guide is destined to librarians rather than faculty or students (review of January 1997). A solid work that reflects the interdisciplinary nature of literary studies, focusing on titles active after 1960 in all modern literatures. Includes helpful annotations on predecessors or related publications. The editor's Internet site gathers corrections and additions at http://adler.lib.muohio.edu/serial-bibliographies/.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers - Newspaper digitization projects - International Collections
The page highlights A-Z country list and links to past, present, and prospective digitization projects of historic newspapers. The focus is primarily on digital conversion efforts, not full-text collections of current news sources, though select sites offer full text searching.
Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800: Excerpts From Criticism of the Works of Fifteenth, Sixteenth, Seventeenth, and Eighteenth-Century Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Philosophers, and Other Creative Writers, From the First Published Critical Appraisals to Current Evaluations. Detroit: Gale Research, 1984-
Compilation, primarily of critical writings, concerning writers active between 1400-1800 and important topics for the period. Follows other, similar Gale products and provides bio-bibliographical information. Contains author, topics, nationalities, and titles indexes that cumulate in the latest issue. Lists critical writings in chronological order, many of which in periodicals. The organization of each volume by writer provides index to periodical literature before 1900. Allows readers to trace the reception of writers and their critical reputation over time. (Balay)
Also consult:
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism: Excerpts From Criticism of the Works of World Authors from Classical Antiquity Through the 14th Century, From the First Appraisals to Current Evaluations. Detroit: Gale, 1988-
and
Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism: Excerpts From Criticism of the Works of Novelists, Poets, Playwrights, Short Story Writers, and Other Creative Writers Who Lived Between 1800 and 1900, From the First Published Critical Appraisals to Current Evaluations.
Missionary Periodicals Database
Aims to record all periodicals on foreign missions published in Britain, between the 18th Century and the 1960s, by missionary societies and commercial publishers, giving full bibliographical details, information on contents and locations.
Subject guide to periodical indexes and review indexes / Kujoth, Jean Spealman. Metuchen, N.J., Scarecrow Press, 1969.
Wikipedia: List of online newspaper archives
List of online newspaper archives and some magazines and journals from throughout the world, including both free and pay wall blocked digital archives. Some of the archives have been indexed into searchable text databases utilizing optical character recognition (OCR) technology.
WikiSource: Zeitschriften
The guide provides an extensive list of periodicals digitization projects throughout the world. WikiSource: Zeitschriftenconstitutes one of the most complete and impressive attempts at providing access to digitized serials.
Zeitschriftendatenbank (ZDB)
The ZDB is the world’s largest specialized database for serial titles (journals, annuals, newspapers etc., incl. e-journals). Contains over a million bibliographic records of serials from the 16th century onwards, from all countries, in all languages, held in 4,000 German (and some foreign) libraries, with holdings information. It does not provide an index of contents (nor contents themselves, i. e. journal articles), but will provide the history of a serial over the years (name changes, publication years, issues).
17TH CENTURY
18TH CENTURY
19TH CENTURY
20TH-21ST CENTURIES
GENERAL
17TH CENTURY
18TH CENTURY
19TH CENTURY
20TH-21ST CENTURIES
The International Dada Archive (University of Iowa)
The Digital Dada Library provides links to scanned images of original Dada-era pamphlets and periodicals housed in the Special Collections Department of The University of Iowa Libraries. The Digital Dada Library includes digital facsimile that do not permit for full text searching and doesn't provide an index. Titles are in various languages, including English, French, German, Dutch, and Serbian:
291
391
Aesthete 1925
Almanach der freien Zeitung
Almanach der neuen Jugend
Der Ararat
Aventure
Blindman (Blind man)
Der blutige Ernst
Cannibale
Le Coeur à barbe
Dada
Der Dada
L'Élan
Freie Strasse
Die Freude
Littérature
Maintenant
Der Marstall
Merz
Die Pleite
Projecteur
Proverbe
Sic
De Stijl
Z
Zenit
Der Zweemann
