Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

List of print and electronic indexes to, guides for, and websites for Western European periodicals from the 17th to 21st centuries.

About this guide

This guide is a list of print and electronic indexes to Western European periodicals from the 17th to  21st centuries. Indexes to specific titles, periods, subjects, and geographic areas are included as well as descriptive guides and relevant online websites. The guide is divided in two types of pages: a comprehensive for resources covering several countries or languages and 11 pages listing language specific resources. Each page is subdivided into three sections:

  • Indexes: Lists indexes and tables of contents alphabetically, by century. Includes websites and online archives with index.
  • Guides: Lists bibliographic and historical guides to periodicals without indexes or tables of contents alphabetically, by century.
  • Websites: Links to online bibliographies and guides, as well as online archives that do not provide an index.

This guide is Intended primarily for librarians; it may be useful to scholars in this field.  It is curated and managed by members of the European Studies Section (ESS) of the Association of College & Research Libraries. 

Users are free to copy and edit content from this guide for their own purposes.

Visit the European Studies Section website for more information on ESS. For additional resources, see the list of ESS subject guides. 

For questions about the guide or if you are interested in contributing, contact the ESS Website Manager, Deb Raftus.

WESSWeb guide contribtutors: Contributors: Julianne Haahr, Sebastian Hierl, Thea Lindquist, Steve Perisho, Ann Snoeyenbos, Caroline Szylowicz, Mariann Tiblin, Barbara Walden, Sue Waterman, Sarah G. Wenzel; Libguide contributors: Brian Vetruba, André G. Wenzel

Note: WESSWeb pages are no longer active but have been archived. Contact a Web Administrator for more information.