GENERAL
17TH CENTURY
18TH CENTURY
19TH CENTURY
Die deutschen Literaturzeitschriften, 1815-1850: Bibliographien, Programme, Autoren. Alfred Adolph Estermann. Zweite, verbesserte und erweiterte Auflage. München: K. G. Saur, 1991. 11 vols.: Lists alphabetically by title German-language literary periodicals published between 1815-1850; in total about 2,200. Provides reproductions of contents pages in some cases. Indexes titles, editors, place of publication, publisher, composers of musical supplements, librettists of musical supplements, persons mentioned in editorials, periodicals mentioned in editorials, authors treated (as subjects), and authors of articles. Complemented by: Die deutschen Literaturzeitschriften, 1850-1880: Bibliographien, Programme. Alfred Adolph Estermann. München, New York: Saur, 1988-1989. 5 vols.
20TH-21ST CENTURIES
Index Expressionismus 1910-1925: Bibliographie der Beiträge in den Zeitschriften und Jahrbüchern des literarischen Expressionismus, 1910-1925.
An exhaustive bibliographical analysis of 100 journals and 5 yearbooks, in 18 volumes. Full contents listing for each title.
Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur aus allen Gebieten des Wissens. Jahrg. 1- v. 19, pars 1. Osnabrück: F. Dietrich, 1963/64-1983.
These print volumes of the IBZ cover the years 1963-1983, thus bridging the gap between the Bibliographie der deutschen Zeitschriften-Literatur (1896-1964) and the online version of the IBZ (1984-present).
"Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte" aus der Zwischenkriegszeit (Bde. 1-14, Berichtsjahre 1925-1938)
The Jahresberichte für deutsche Geschichte provides comprehensive and detailed coverage of German and foreign scholarly literature on German history. In addition to bibliographic references organized by period, region, and subject, each volume contains a section on "Zeitschriftenregister" including references to periodical indexes.
NZZ Archiv 1780
The full NZZ archive dating back to 1780. Searchable in full text, with free access for subscribers and pay per view for non-subscribers.
Simplicissimus (1896-1944)
The site provides an online index and access to issues in pdf. Supported by the German Research Association (DFG).
Die Zeit
The online archive of the German weekly newspaper Die Zeit, provides free full text searching and browsing through issues from 1946 to the present.
The Zeitschrift der Deutschen Morgenlaendischen Gesellschaft (ZDMG) is online in full text at http://menadoc.bibliothek.uni-halle.de/dmg/periodical/structure/2327. Published since 1847 by the Deutsche Morgenlaendische Gesellschaft (DMG), founded in 1845, the ZDMG is one of the leading scientific periodicals in the field of Oriental and African studies. In addition to the ZDMG the society published for a certain period of time 3 other scientific journals which dealt with particular aspects of Oriental studies:
The project, funded by the German Research Foundation (DFG) aims digitizing all volumes of all the journals published by the DMG until the present day. Full text searchable access will be provided through the Middle East Virtual Library MENALIB - MENAcontents -- and the scanned images will also be included in the catalog of the German National Library, DigiZeitschriften, and the Zentrales Verzeichnis Digitalisierter Drucke.
Zeitungs-Index; Verzeichnis wichtiger Aufsätze aus deutschsprachigen Zeitungen.
Pullach bei München : Verlag Dokumentation, 1974-
GENERAL
17TH CENTURY
Bibliographie der Zeitschriften des deutschen Sprachgebietes bis 1900 (4 volumes).
Inventory of German periodicals from 1670 to 1900. Complete bibliographical information (title, editor, city and years of publication, publisher) on 24,450 titles, organized by field. Title index.
18TH CENTURY
Wikisource links to digitized German journals and magazines from the 18th Century to the 20th Century. Austrian journals and Swiss journals are listed separately.
19TH CENTURY
Bibliographie der Zeitschriften des deutschen Sprachgebietes bis 1900 (4 volumes). Inventory of German periodicals from 1670 to 1900. Complete bibliographical information (title, editor, city and years of publication, publisher) on 24,450 titles, organized by field. Title index.
Bibliographie der germanistischen zeitschriften. Lists approximately 5000 titles from the 18th to the 20th century, scholarly and popular journals in German arts and letters. Provides bibliographical information, names of institutions that own the periodicals (holdings). Indexes by publishers and titles.
Deutsche literarische Zeitschriften, 1880-1945 : ein Repertorium Detailed entries on 3341 titles include publication dates, bibliographical details, categorization, major contributors. Volume 5 indexes editors, contributors, publishers, places and subjects.
Deutsche literarische Zeitschriften von der Aufklärung bis zur Romantik : Bibliographie der kritischen Literatur von den Anfängen bis 1990. Lists and describes 3000 critical studies of early German periodicals and of writers in periodicals, including foreign-language publications. Indexes of titles, names and subjects.
Die deutschen Literatur-Zeitschriften 1815-1850: A comprehensive bibliography of literary periodicals, in 10 volumes (vol. 9 and 10 are indices). Includes publishing history, publication details, collations for individual years.
Die deutschen Literatur-Zeitschriften 1850-1880: A comprehensive bibliography of literary periodicals, listing 2953 titles in 5 volumes (vol. 6 is an index). Includes publishing history, publication details, collations for individual years.
Geschichte der deutschen Presse (4 volumes): Narrative history of the German press. Vol. 1: bis 1815; includes list of Zeitschiften of the period. Vol. 2: 19 Jahrhundert. Vol. 3: 1914-1945 Vol. 4: 1945-1949; includes list of Zeitungen. Each volume has extensive bibliography, and indexes.
German-Language Newspapers and Journals Published in London Since 1810: Guide of German-Language newspapers published in London held at the British Library.
Literarische und politische Zeitschriften 1789-1805. :Analyzes 41 journals with complete bibliographical information, informative history. Index of journals and names. Names of figures associated with each journal and secondary bibliography provided.
Literarische und politische Zeitschriften, 1830-1848 and 1848-1880.: Short articles on c. 175 -19th century periodicals. Each article includes publication history and bibliography of secondary sources. Name and title indexes.
Literarische Zeitschriften, 1885-1910. Journals grouped by type (progressive, neutral, literary/art, literary/political, theater, etc). Includes publishing history, description, editors, contributors, secondary bibliography and locations of holdings. Chronological list of journals provided. Indexes by contributors, publishers, authors, editors.
Sozialdemokratische Presse und Literatur : empirische Untersuchung zur Literaturvermittlung in der sozialdemokratischen Presse 1876 bis 1933. Detailed history of the period, with chapters on 5 important publications of late 19th century, early 20th century Germany. Indexes their individual issues. Name index.
Theologische Literaturzeitung. Vol. 1 (1876)- Arranged by subject. “reviews of the most important books followed by a supplementary listing of related articles, dissertations, and books.” (Gorman & Gorman, vol. 1, pp. 114-115.)
Theologisches Literaturblatt. Vols. 1-63 (1880-1942). Guide to continental Protestant theology. Published in newspaper format until its merger with Theologische Literaturzeitung in 1943. Covers both books and periodicals of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries; includes monthly surveys of periodical literature. (Gorman & Gorman, vol. 1, pp. 115-116.)
Theologischer Jahresbericht. Vols. 1-33 (1882-1916). Classified bibliography of books and articles published at the turn of the century, particularly in Europe. (Gorman & Gorman, vol. 1, p. 115.)
Zeitschriften - Wikisource Wikisource links to digitized German journals and magazines from the 18th Century to the 20th Century. Austrian journals and Swiss journals are listed separately.
20TH-21ST CENTURIES
Bibliographie der germanistischen Zeitschriften. Lists approximately 5000 titles from the 18th to the 20th century, scholarly and popular journals in German arts and letters. Provides bibliographical information, names of institutions that own the periodicals (holdings). Indexes by publishers and titles.
Deutsche literarische Zeitschriften, 1880-1945 : ein Repertorium Detailed entries on 3341 titles include publication dates, bibliographical details, categorization, major contributors. Volume 5 indexes editors, contributors, publishers, places and subjects.
Deutsche literarische Zeitschriften von der Aufklärung bis zur Romantik : Bibliographie der kritischen Literatur von den Anfängen bis 1990 Lists and describes 3000 critical studies of early German periodicals and of writers in periodicals, including foreign-language publications. Indexes of titles, names and subjects.
German-Language Newspapers and Journals Published in London Since 1810 Guide of German-Language newspapers published in London held at the British Library.
Geschichte der deutschen Presse (4 volumes). Narrative history of the German press. Vol. 1: bis 1815; includes list of Zeitschiften of the period. Vol. 2: 19 Jahrhundert. Vol. 3: 1914-1945 Vol. 4: 1945-1949; includes list of Zeitungen. Each volume has extensive bibliography, and indexes.
Literarische Zeitschriften, 1885-1910. Journals grouped by type (progressive, neutral, literary/art, literary/political, theater, etc). Includes publishing history, description, editors, contributors, secondary bibliography and locations of holdings. Chronological list of journals provided. Indexes by contributors, publishers, authors, editors.
Literarische Zeitschriften, 1910-1933 Journals grouped by type (progressive, neutral, literary/art, literary/political, theater, etc). Includes publishing history, description, editors, contributors, secondary bibliography and locations of holdings. Chronological list of journals provided. Indexes by contributors, publishers, authors, editors.
Monatl. Verzeichnis von Aufsätzen aus deutschen Zeitungen. Published by Dietrich in Leipzig, the Verzeichnis covers the years 1909-44.
Sozialdemokratische Presse und Literatur : empirische Untersuchung zur Literaturvermittlung in der sozialdemokratischen Presse 1876 bis 1933. Detailed history of the period, with chapters on 5 important publications of late 19th century, early 20th century Germany. Indexes their individual issues. Name index.
Theologische Literaturzeitung. Vol. 1 (1876)- . Arranged by subject. “reviews of the most important books followed by a supplementary listing of related articles, dissertations, and books.” (Gorman & Gorman, vol. 1, pp. 114-115.)
Theologisches Literaturblatt. Vols. 1-63 (1880-1942). Guide to continental Protestant theology. Published in newspaper format until its merger with Theologische Literaturzeitung in 1943. Covers both books and periodicals of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries; includes monthly surveys of periodical literature. (Gorman & Gorman, vol. 1, pp. 115-116.)
Theologischer Jahresbericht. Vols. 1-33 (1882-1916). Classified bibliography of books and articles published at the turn of the century, particularly in Europe. (Gorman & Gorman, vol. 1, p. 115.)
Theologische revue. Vol. 1 (1902)- . Catholic. Bibliographic section “includes periodical articles, dissertations and collections of essays.” (Gorman & Gorman, vol. 1, p. 115.)
Zeitschriften - Wikisource Wikisource links to digitized German journals and magazines from the 18th Century to the 20th Century. Austrian journals and Swiss journals are listed separately.
GENERAL
17TH CENTURY
Relation: Aller Fuernemmen und gedenckwuerdigen Historien [...], Strassburg: 1609', from the 'Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg
According to the web site, this is the oldest periodical in the world, published in 1609 and available in page images.
18TH CENTURY
ANNO (Austrian Newspapers Online)
Created by the Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, ANNO provides and electronic archive of historic and contemporary Austrian newspapers and magazines. The index of the database indicates future holdings from as early as 1703 to 2003, but current holdings start in 1780 and end in 1938, with numerous gaps in-between. The collection is particularly strong for 19th Century titles. Holdings may be browsed, but individul articles are not indexed and the database lacks a search feature. Some of the titles currently available are:
Augspurgische Ordinari Postzeitung
A digitization project by the "Universitätbibliothek, Staats- und Stadtbibliothek Augsburg," that provides page images of issues of the Augspurgische Ordinari Postzeitung for the years 1770 to 1806. Years 1807 to 1848 are currently in preparation.
Berlinische Monatsschrift (einschließlich ihrer Nachfolger Berlinische Blätter und Neue Berlinische Monatsschrift). Hrsg.: J. E. Biester, F. Gedike. Berlin: 1783 - 1811.
Freiburger Zeitung digital (1784-1943)
Page images of the Freiburger Zeitung are provided by the Universitätsbibliothek Freiburg. There is no full text search capability, but issues can be browsed online.
Saxorum.de
Saxorum.de, the interdisciplinary platform on the history, culture and geography of Saxony, supported by the Saxon State and University Library Dresden (SLUB) and the Institute for Saxon History and Folklore (ISGV).
19TH CENTURY
ANNO (Austrian Newspapers Online)
Created by the Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, ANNO provides and electronic archive of historic and contemporary Austrian newspapers and magazines. The index of the database indicates future holdings from as early as 1703 to 2003, but current holdings start in 1780 and end in 1938, with numerous gaps in-between. The collection is particularly strong for 19th Century titles. Holdings may be browsed, but individul articles are not indexed and the database lacks a search feature. Some of the titles currently available are:
A digitization project by the "Universitätbibliothek, Staats- und Stadtbibliothek Augsburg," that provides page images of issues of the Augspurgische Ordinari Postzeitung for the years 1770 to 1806. Years 1807 to 1848 are currently in preparation.
Berlinische Monatsschrift (einschließlich ihrer Nachfolger Berlinische Blätter und Neue Berlinische Monatsschrift). Hrsg.: J. E. Biester, F. Gedike. Berlin: 1783 - 1811.
Coburger Zeitung''' (1854/61-1935), Bayerischen Landesbibliothek Online (BLO)
The Coburger Zeitung is part of the BLO-Schwerpunkt Zeitungen. The site provides page images to the Coburger Zeitung from 1854 to 1935.
Compact Memory
Retrospective digitization of Jewish periodicals. Provides free full text online, but without index, for a large number of newspapers and periodicals, among which:
Zeitschriften und Zeitungen digitized by Uni Heidelberg
The site provides access to the digitized periodicals of the University of Heidelberg:
Saxorum.de, the interdisciplinary platform on the history, culture and geography of Saxony, supported by the Saxon State and University Library Dresden (SLUB) and the Institute for Saxon History and Folklore (ISGV) provides a list of digitized Saxon journals and newspapers from the 18th Century to the 20th Century.
20TH-21ST CENTURIES
ANNO (Austrian Newspapers Online)
Created by the Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek, ANNO provides and electronic archive of historic and contemporary Austrian newspapers and magazines. The index of the database indicates future holdings from as early as 1703 to 2003, but current holdings start in 1780 and end in 1938, with numerous gaps in-between. The collection is particularly strong for 19th Century titles. Holdings may be browsed, but individul articles are not indexed and the database lacks a search feature. Some of the titles currently available are:
This open newspaper-archive provides free access to one of Austria’s leading newspapers, the “Arbeiter-Zeitung,” from 1945 to 1989. The database currently contains page-images only that are browsable by date.
Coburger Zeitung''' (1854/61-1935), Bayerischen Landesbibliothek Online (BLO)
The Coburger Zeitung is part of the BLO-Schwerpunkt Zeitungen. The site provides page images to the Coburger Zeitung from 1854 to 1935.
Compact Memory
Retrospective digitization of Jewish periodicals. Provides free full text online, but without index, for a large number of newspapers and periodicals, among which:
Feldzeitungen aus dem 1. Weltkrieg''', from the Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg '
The Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg and the Landesarchivdirektion Baden-Württemberg have digitized and microfilmed 19 of their field newspapers, covering the whole duration of the war.
Fliegende Blätter (1845-1944), from the Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg
Fliegende Blätter, a humourous-satirical weekly was published from 1845 to 1944 by Braun & Schneider, a Munic publishing house. The individual issues, each about eight pages long, appeared weekly, for years undated.
Freiburger Zeitung digital (1784-1943)
Page images of the Freiburger Zeitung are provided by the Universitätsbibliothek Freiburg (Germany). There is no full text search capability, but issues can be browsed online.
Freiburger-Zeitung und Anzeiger für die westliche Schweiz (1864-1903)
The title is part of RERO Digital Library (the Library Network of Western Switzerland).
Zeitschriften und Zeitungen digitized by Uni Heidelberg
The site provides access to the digitized periodicals of the University of Heidelberg:
Historische Zeitungen - Digital, from the Universitaets- und Landesbibliothek Sachsen-Anhalt, Halle
The ULB Sachsen-Anhalt is digitizing select holdings of its historic newspapers, among which the Naumburger Tageblatt and Wettinger Zeitung. The DFG-funded project currently provides page images only (in pdf and tiff); click "Recherche" to start with your search.
Kladderadatsch(1848-1944), from the Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg
Published by David Kalischs, the first number of Berliner Satirezeitschrift Kladderadatsch was published on May 7, 1848, with a printing of 4.000 copies. The publishers gave the subtitle "Organ für and von Bummler;" in 1849 (number 32) the subtitle was changed to "Humoristisch satyrisches (later 'satirisches') Wochenblatt." Since 1908 the magazine appeared only under the title Kladderadatsch. The title ceased in 1944. Kladderadatsch was the only satirical magazine published in Berlin that survived the revolutionary years 1848/1849 and that, after changing to the liberal-conservative camp, existed for over nine decades. Not searchable, no index, but a helpful feature allowing to view a number of page images at once.
NS-Frauen-Warte. Zeitschrift der NS-Frauenschaft[1], from the Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg
Women had a subordinated role in national socialism politically, but were important carriers of the ideology as housewifes and mothers. This official party magazine appeared bi-weekly and had a print run of approximately one million copies in 1938.
Saxorum.de
Saxorum.de, the interdisciplinary platform on the history, culture and geography of Saxony, supported by the Saxon State and University Library Dresden (SLUB) and the Institute for Saxon History and Folklore (ISGV) provides a list of digitized Saxon journals and newspapers from the 18th Century to the 20th Century.
Sphinx :Zeitschrift für den praktischen Okkultismus ; Zentralorgan der deutschen okkulten Gemeinschaften
FREIMORE, the FREIburger Multimedia Object Repository, provides page images to Sphinx vol. 1 (1919-1920).
Staufener Wochenblatt digital (1875-1968)
Page images of the Staufener Wochenblatt are provided by the Universitätsbibliothek Freiburg. There is no full text search capability, but issues can be browsed online.
Ulk. Illustriertes Wochenblatt für Humor und Satire, from the Universitätsbibliothek Heidelberg
The satirical magazine Ulk appeared from 1872 to 1933, published by Rudolf Mosse in Berlin. Ulk was originally its own weekly paper for humor and satire, but about 1913 became a weekly supplement to the Berliner Tageblatt and the Berliner Volks-Zeitung (both published by Mosse). In the years 1918 to 1920 Kurt Tucholsky worked as the editor-in-chief of Ulk. The two newspapers, Berliner Tageblatt and the Berliner Volks-Zeitung, had a readership of one quarterly million strong. Not searchable, no index, but a helpful feature allowing to view a number of page images at once. Coverage as of July, 2004: 1914-1930.
ZEFYS Zeitungsinformationssystem (Berlin State Library (Staatsbibliothek Berlin)): Digital images of newspapers from German-speaking Europe from primarily the 19th and early 20th centuries.. Includes links to news other resources and databases. Browsing and searching available.
