Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

List of print and electronic indexes to, guides for, and websites for Western European periodicals from the 17th to 21st centuries.

Indexes

GENERAL

17TH CENTURY

18TH CENTURY

  • L'année 1768 à travers la presse traitée par ordinateur: listings. Paule Jansen. Paris: Université Paris-Sorbonne, CNRS, Centre d'Étude de la Littérature Française du XVIIe et du XVIIIe Siècle, 1977-78. 4 vols.
    Covers 14 French journals published during the single year 1768. The periodicals are listed at the beginning of each volume with their abbreviations. Provides alphabetical listing by topic and chronological access. (Balay) 
  • La Presse du XVIIIe Siècle
    A full index to the "Esprit des journaux" from 1772-1789, as well as tables of contents and links to digitized articles in full text.. 
  • Les Gazettes européennes du 18e siècle
    Full-text access to French language gazettes of the 18th Century.

19TH CENTURY

  • Belgicapresse
    Major historical newspapers from Belgium. 
  • Bibliographie de Belgique, 1875-1997.
    Indexes both French and Dutch, as well as publications in other languages published in Belgium. 
  • Bibliographie de la France. Supplément 1. Publications En Série. Index Cumulatif. Corp Author(s): Cercle De La Librairie; Bibliothèque Nationale. Paris: Cercle de la librairie, 1811-.
    1.-45. année, nov. 1811-dec. 1856; 46.-125. année (2. sér., t.1-80) jan. 1857-1936; 126.-160. année, jan. 1937-1971. Title Varies: Bibliographie de l'Empire français, Nov. 1811-Mar. 1814, and Journal général de l'imprimerie et de la librairie, 1857-1918. Started in 1857, issued in 3 pts.: 1re. ptie. Bibliographie officielle (varies slightly); 2me. ptie. Chronique; 3me. ptie. Annonces (called 1857-1917, Feuilleton). Separately paged supplements accompany some numbers. 
  • Bibliographie de la littérature française de 1800-1930. Hugo Paul Thieme. 3 vols. Paris: E. Droz, 1933.
    Includes periodical articles. 
  • Bibliographie des revues liberales: Revue Nationale de Belgique (1839-1847) and La Flandre libérale (1847-1848). Marcel Bots. Gent: Liberaal Archief, 1994.
    Complements the Bibliografie van de Vlaamse tijdschriften in the 19de eeuw by providing access to two French language liberal periodicals published after Belgian independence. Includes a presentation of each title, followed by a detailed subject index and personal name index. 
  • Bibliographie des revues libérales: Revue Trimestrielle (1854-1868). Marcel Bots. Gent: Liberaal Archief, 1994.
    The title continues the effort to complement the Bibliografie van de Vlaamse tijdschriften in the 19de eeuw by providing access to this French language liberal periodical published after Belgian independence. Includes a presentation of each title, followed by a detailed subject index and personal name index. 
  • Bibliographie des Revues et Journaux Littéraires des XIXe et XXe Siècles. Jean-Michel Place and André Vasseur. 3 vols. Paris: J.M. Place, 1973-1977.
    Covers the years 1840-1930 for a select number of famous and lesser known French literary periodicals. Provides facsimile of cover page, an introduction to the journal and full bibliographic description, including physical characteristics, editors, and collaborators, as well as table of contents per issue. Includes index of names cited. 
  • Bibliographie générale des travaux historiques et achéologiques publiés par les sociétés savantes de la France, dressée sous les auspices du Ministère de l'instruction publique. Robert de Lasteyrie. 6 vols. Paris: Imprimerie nationale, 1888-1918. 
  • Le Conservatoire numérique des Arts & Métiers (CNAM)
    The CNAM provides a searchable index and access to the pdfs of titles related to the sciences.
  • Pamphlets and Periodicals of the French Revolution of 1848
    Pamphlets and periodicals from the French Revolution of 1848 held by CRL.
  • Persée
    Full text in pdf format to back issues of hundreds of prestigious journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences (including a moving wall of three to five years depending on the journal). 
  • Polybiblion - Revue Bibliographique Universelle. Paris: Aux bureaux de la revue, 1868-[1939]?
    Irregular but mostly monthly issues. Index composed of two sections: the "partie littéraire" and the "partie technique." The "partie littérarie" contains short signed book reviews, organized by French books, foreign books in translation, and a small number of titles in foreign languages. It also includes a "chronique" with obituaries, decorations, literary prizes, and recent publications, as well as literary and cultural news from French regions and the world. At the end of each year, an alphabetical index provides access to authors reviewed and a table to the "chronique" section. The "partie technique" runs until 1931. It provides a bibliography of recent publications in "théologie, jurisprudence, sciences et arts, belles-lettres, histoire," as well as many sub-divisions and includes a "sommaire des recueils périodiques.". This synopsis ("sommaire") is organized in alphabetical order by title and provides the table of contents to "périodiques français," "périodiques étrangers" and "Journaux de Paris."
  • Relevé des articles parus dans le Bulletin (1856-1894) et dans la Revue philomathique de Bordeaux et du Sud-Ouest (1897-1939), ed. Jean Valette. Bordeaux: Archives départementales de la Gironde, 1988. 
    See also Tables et index des articles parus dans la Revue catholique de Bordeaux (1880-1898) below. Part of the series Recueil d’études et de documents pour servir à l’histoire du département de la Gironde et des départements voisins. 
  • Répertoire bibliographique des principales revues françaises. 1. année (1897) - 3. année (1899). Paris: Per Lamm (Librairie Nilsson), 1898-1901.
    Subject and author index to articles from 115 journals published in France. Lists reviews of poetry, novels, and plays. 
  • Jackson, A. B. La Revue Blanche, 1889-1903: origine, influence, bibliographie. Bibliothèque des lettres modernes, vol. 2. Paris: M. J. Minard, Lettres Modernes, 1960. 
  • Tables et index des articles parus dans la Revue catholique de Bordeaux (1880-1898), ed. Jean Valette. Bordeaux: Archives départementales de la Gironde, 1986. 
    See also the Relevé des articles parus dans le Bulletin (1856-1894) et dans la Revue philomathique de Bordeaux et du Sud-Ouest (1897-1939) above. Part of the series Recueil d’études et de documents pour servir à l’histoire du département de la Gironde et des départements voisins.

20TH-21ST CENTURIES

  • Belgicapresse
    Major historical newspapers from Belgium. 
  • Bibliographie de Belgique, 1875-1997.
    Indexes both French and Dutch, as well as publications in other languages published in Belgium. 
  • Bibliographie de la France. Supplément 1. Publications En Série. Index Cumulatif. Corp Author(s): Cercle De La Librairie; Bibliothèque Nationale. Paris: Cercle de la librairie, 1811-.
    1.-45. année, nov. 1811-dec. 1856; 46.-125. année (2. sér., t.1-80) jan. 1857-1936; 126.-160. année, jan. 1937-1971. Title Varies: Bibliographie de l'Empire français, Nov. 1811-Mar. 1814, and Journal général de l'imprimerie et de la librairie, 1857-1918. Started in 1857, issued in 3 pts.: 1re. ptie. Bibliographie officielle (varies slightly); 2me. ptie. Chronique; 3me. ptie. Annonces (called 1857-1917, Feuilleton). Separately paged supplements accompany some numbers. 
  • Bibliographie de la littérature française de 1800-1930. Hugo Paul Thieme. 3 vols. Paris: E. Droz, 1933.
    Includes periodical articles. 
  • CAIRN(CAIRN; subscription only)

    CAIRN provides online, full text access to issues of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences, published since 2001.

  • Le Conservatoire numérique des Arts & Métiers (CNAM)
    The CNAM provides a searchable index and access to the pdfs of titles related to the sciences.
  • France-actualité. Québec, Microfor. v. 1 (1978) - v. 4 (1981). 
    "Index de la presse écrite française." Issues for 1978-1981 published in 3 sections: A, C, and D. 

  • French periodical index. Morgantown, W.V. [etc.]: Ponchie & Co. [etc.], 1973/74-1995. 
    Also known as Répertoriex, the French periodical index covers the years 1973-1995. 

  • Index analytique. Québec: Les Presses de l’Université Laval, 1966-72. 
    Monthly, with annual cumulation, covering 1966-1972. Continued by Périodex. Index analytique de périodiques de langue française

  • Liberation Journals Index
    Covers  interwar Pan-African periodicals La Revue du Monde NoirLégitime DéfenseL’Étudiant Noir, the wartime Tropiques, and the postwar Présence Africaine, as well as the Québécois journal Liberté. Dates of coverage are from the early 1930s to the 1970s.

  • Le Monde. Index analytique. Paris: Le Monde, 1969-.

    Index to "Le Monde" for the years 1944-1968, though information about coverage varies.  

  • OpenEdition Journals
    (Formerly Revues.org) Most comprehensive online portal to Francophone journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences. Includes journals that are published partially or in full in other languages. Revues.org further cooperates with Persée, CAIRN and Érudit, to provide full text access to the back issues of scholarly journals in Francophone studies.

  • Périodex. Index analytique de périodiques de langue française. [Montréal]: Centrale des bibliothèques, Ministère de l'éducation, 1972-1983. 
    Began with Sept. 1972 issue; ceased with 1983. Ten nos. a year, with annual cummulation. Merged with: Radar, to form: Point de repère. Continues: Index analytique (ISSN 0019-378X). 

  • Persée
    Full text in pdf format to back issues of hundreds of prestigious journals in the Humanities and Social Sciences (including a moving wall of three to five years depending on the journal). 
  • Point de repère. Montréal: Centrale des bibliothèques, 1984-1999. 
    Formed by Radar and Périodex. Covers the years 1984-1999. 
  • Polybiblion - Revue Bibliographique Universelle. Paris: Aux bureaux de la revue, 1868-[1939]?
    Irregular but mostly monthly issues. Index composed of two sections: the "partie littéraire" and the "partie technique." The "partie littérarie" contains short signed book reviews, organized by French books, foreign books in translation, and a small number of titles in foreign languages. It also includes a "chronique" with obituaries, decorations, literary prizes, and recent publications, as well as literary and cultural news from French regions and the world. At the end of each year, an alphabetical index provides access to authors reviewed and a table to the "chronique" section. The "partie technique" runs until 1931. It provides a bibliography of recent publications in "théologie, jurisprudence, sciences et arts, belles-lettres, histoire," as well as many sub-divisions and includes a "sommaire des recueils périodiques.". This synopsis ("sommaire") is organized in alphabetical order by title and provides the table of contents to "périodiques français," "périodiques étrangers" and "Journaux de Paris."
  • Répère: Index analytique d'articles de périodiques de langue française (1980-present) (SDM; subscription only)
    Continues the Index analytique (1966-1971-72); Périodix (1972-1983), and Point de repère (1984-1999).
  • Repertoire d'art et d'archeologie: de l'epoque paleochretienne à 1939.
    Paris: centre de documentation sciences humaines, 1910 (V.1)--1989 
  • La Vie littéraire en France en 1908: analyse et dépouillement des périodiques. Paris: Bibliothèque nationale, Dép. des périodiques, 1985-. 7 vols.
    Vol. 1. Mercure de France -- Vol. 2. Revue bleue -- Vol. 3. Vers et proseLa PhalangeLe Mouvement socialisteCahiers de la quinzaine -- Vol. 4. Le Pèlerin -- Vol. 5. Lecture pour tous -- Vol. 6. Le Journal -- Vol. 7. L'Humanité.

Guides

GENERAL

17TH CENTURY

  • Bibliographie de la presse classique (1600-1789). Ed. Jean Sgard. Genève: Slatkine, 1984.
    Extending the Catalogue collectif des périodiques de la Bibliothèque de France (see below), the title provides brief bibliographic entries describing journals published in French throughout Europe, between 1600 and 1789. Presented alphabetically, each entry includes titles, dates of publication, publisher, frequency, and holding libraries. Includes chronological overview, name indexes. 
  • Bibliographie historique et critique de la presse périodique française... par Louis Eugène Hatin. Paris: Firmin-Didot frères, fils et cie, 1866. 
    Index to French periodicals from the beginnings of journals covered to about 1866. Provides short background information on each title. 
  • Catalogue collectif des périodiques de début du XVIIe siècle à 1939, conservés dans les bibliothèques de Paris et dans les bibliothèques... Bibliothèque nationale. Département des périodiques. Paris, Bibliothèque nationale, 1967-. 5 vols. 
  • Les gazettes européennes de langue française: répertoire; par Pierre Rétat. Suivi d’une étude sur les fonds des gazettes anciennes à la Bibliothèque nationale de France; par Jeanne-Marie Métivier, Laurent Portes, Pierre Rétat. Paris: Bibliothèque nationale de France, 2002. 77 p.; 30 cm. 
    Catalog of 80 French language gazettes from the 17th and 18th centuries, of which 24 are previously unknown. Shows holding locations and volume holdings in 221 European and North American libraries and archives. A study of the BnF’s holdings is accompanied by an analytical table of the volume holdings. Includes a list of reporting libraries and archives, an alphabetical short title list, and a chronological list of the gazettes, as well as a two-page bibliography. 
  • Histoire générale de la presse française, publiée sous la direction de Claude Bellanger, Jacques Godechot, Pierre Guiral et Fernand Terrou ... Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1969-. 5 vols. 
  • Histoire politique et littéraire de la presse en France; avec une introduction historique sur les origines du journal et la bibliographie générale des journaux depuis leur origine, par Eugène Hatin. Paris: Poulet-Malassis et de Broise, 1859-61. 8 vols.

18TH CENTURY

  • Bibliographie de la presse classique (1600-1789). Ed. Jean Sgard. Genève: Slatkine, 1984.
    Extending the Catalogue collectif des périodiques de la Bibliothèque de France (see below), the title provides brief bibliographic entries describing journals published in French thoughout Europe, between 1600 and 1789. Presented alphabetically, each entry includes titles, dates of publication, publisher, frequency, and holding libraries. Includes chronological overview, name indexes. 
  • Bibliographie des revues et périodiques d'art parus en France de 1746 à 1914. Gustave Lebel. 1 vol. Paris: Gazette des Beaux-Arts, 1951.
    Provides a list of titles with a chronological index to the publications. 
  • Bibliographie historique et critique de la presse périodique française... par Louis Eugène Hatin. Paris: Firmin-Didot frères, fils et cie, 1866. 
    Index to French periodicals from the beginnings of journals covered to about 1866. Provides short background information on each title. 
  • Catalogue collectif des périodiques de début du XVIIe siècle à 1939, conservés dans les bibliothèques de Paris et dans les bibliothèques... Bibliothèque nationale. Département des périodiques. Paris, Bibliothèque nationale, 1967-. 5 vols. 
  • Dictionnaire des journaux 1600-1789
    Descriptive entries for all periodicals published in French from 1600 to 1789. 
  • Les gazettes européennes de langue française: répertoire; par Pierre Rétat. Suivi d’une étude sur les fonds des gazettes anciennes à la Bibliothèque nationale de France; par Jeanne-Marie Métivier, Laurent Portes, Pierre Rétat. Paris: Bibliothèque nationale de France, 2002. 77 p.; 30 cm. 
    Catalog of 80 French language gazettes from the 17th and 18th centuries, of which 24 are previously unknown. Shows holding locations and volume holdings in 221 European and North American libraries and archives. A study of the BnF’s holdings is accompanied by an analytical table of the volume holdings. Includes a list of reporting libraries and archives, an alphabetical short title list, and a chronological list of the gazettes, as well as a two-page bibliography. 
  • Histoire générale de la presse française, publiée sous la direction de Claude Bellanger, Jacques Godechot, Pierre Guiral et Fernand Terrou ... Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1969-. 5 vols. 
  • Histoire politique et littéraire de la presse en France; avec une introduction historique sur les origines du journal et la bibliographie générale des journaux depuis leur origine, par Eugène Hatin. Paris: Poulet-Malassis et de Broise, 1859-61. 8 vols. 

19TH CENTURY

  • Bibliographie des revues et périodiques d'art parus en France de 1746 à 1914. Gustave Lebel. 1 vol. Paris: Gazette des Beaux-Arts, 1951.
    Provides a list of titles with a chronological index to the publications. 
  • Bibliographie historique et critique de la presse périodique française... par Louis Eugène Hatin. Paris: Firmin-Didot frères, fils et cie, 1866. 
    Index to French periodicals from the beginnings of journals covered to about 1866. Provides short background information on each title. 
  • Catalogue collectif des périodiques de début du XVIIe siècle à 1939, conservés dans les bibliothèques de Paris et dans les bibliothèques... Bibliothèque nationale. Département des périodiques. Paris, Bibliothèque nationale, 1967-. 5 vols. 
  • Histoire générale de la presse française, publiée sous la direction de Claude Bellanger, Jacques Godechot, Pierre Guiral et Fernand Terrou ... Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1969-. 5 vols. 
  • Histoire politique et littéraire de la presse en France; avec une introduction historique sur les origines du journal et la bibliographie générale des journaux depuis leur origine, par Eugène Hatin. Paris: Poulet-Malassis et de Broise, 1859-61. 8 vols. 
  • Journal des journaux de la Commune : tableau résumé de la presse quotidienne du 19 mars au 24 mai 1871. Lois, décrets, proclamations, rapports et informations militaires, séances de la Commune, etc., reproduits d'après le Journal officiel de Paris; extraits des autres journaux... Paris : Garnier, 1872.

 

20TH-21ST CENTURIES

  • Bibliographie des revues et périodiques d'art parus en France de 1746 à 1914. Gustave Lebel. 1 vol. Paris: Gazette des Beaux-Arts, 1951.
    List of titles with a chronological index to  publications. 
  • Catalogue collectif des périodiques de début du XVIIe siècle à 1939, conservés dans les bibliothèques de Paris et dans les bibliothèques... Bibliothèque nationale. Département des périodiques. Paris, Bibliothèque nationale, 1967-. 5 vols. 
  • Histoire générale de la presse française, publiée sous la direction de Claude Bellanger, Jacques Godechot, Pierre Guiral et Fernand Terrou ... Paris: Presses universitaires de France, 1969-. 5 vols. 
  • Répertoire de la presse et des publications périodiques françaises. Ed. by Henri F. Raux. Paris, Éditions de la Documentation français, 1958. 
  • Caron, Pierre et Marc Jaryc. Répertoire des périodiques de langue française, philosophiques, historiques, philologiques et juridiques. Paris, Fédération des sociétés françaises de sciences philosophiques, historiques, philologiques et juridiques, 1935. Suppléments I & II: 1937- 

 

Websites

GENERAL

Gallica, bibliothèque numérique de la bibliothèque nationale de France. 

Thousands of French periodicals online, including newspapers, in page-image format and some with full text. Covers all periods and subjects. For access to historical newspapers consult https://gallica.bnf.fr/html/und/presse-et-revues/presse-et-revues.

17TH CENTURY

18TH CENTURY

19TH CENTURY

RERO Digital Library 
Swiss open access repository.

20TH-21ST CENTURIES

RERO Digital Library 
Swiss open access repository.

WESSWeb