Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

List of print and electronic indexes to, guides for, and websites for Western European periodicals from the 17th to 21st centuries.

Indexes

GENERAL

17TH CENTURY

18TH CENTURY

19TH CENTURY

Literatura y periodismo en las revistas del Fin de Siglo: estudio e índices (1888-1907).

20TH-21ST CENTURIES

  • "Bibliografía." Revista de filología española (1914-).
    Classified sections on Spanish language and literature arranged by chronological periods. 
  • "Bibliografía." Revista de filología hispánica (1936-1946).

Guides

GENERAL

17TH CENTURY

  • Apuntes para un catálogo de periódicos madrileños desde el año 1661 al 1870. 
  • Madrid newspapers, 1661-1870: A computerized handbook based on the work of Eugenio Hartzenbusch / Alison Sinclair; Eugenio Hartzenbusch. Leeds : W. Maney, 1984.

18TH CENTURY

  • Apuntes para un catálogo de periódicos madrileños desde el año 1661 al 1870. 
  • Madrid newspapers, 1661-1870: A computerized handbook based on the work of Eugenio Hartzenbusch / 
    Alison Sinclair; Eugenio Hartzenbusch. Leeds : W. Maney, 1984. 
  • La prensa española en el siglo XVIII: Diarios, revistas y pronósticos. Cuadernos bibliográficos 35. Ed. Francisco Aguilar Piñal. Madrid: CSIC, 1978.
    Lists 804 entries divided into "Periódicos" and "Pronósticos." Organized by city of publication and then by year. Brief bibliographic descriptions are followed by a short discussion of the title. Contains index of personal names. The guide is completed by "Apéndice 2: Catálogo de obras periódicas qu no están comprendidas en el libro de Aguilar Piñal: La prensa española en el siglo XVIII." in: Tres calas en la censura dieciochesca. Collection "Thèses et recherches" 9. Toulouse: Institut d'Études Hispaniques et Hispano-américaines, 1981. 126-132. 
  • La república de las letras en la España del siglo XVIII. 
  • "Las revistas teatrales madrileñas (1790-1930)." Cuadernos bibliográficos 31 (1974): 65-140.
    Describes 255 journals.

19TH CENTURY

  • Apuntes para un catálogo de periódicos madrileños desde el año 1661 al 1870. 
  • Madrid newspapers, 1661-1870: A computerized handbook based on the work of Eugenio Hartzenbusch / Alison Sinclair; Eugenio Hartzenbusch. Leeds: W. Maney, 1984. 
  • La presse périodique madrilène entre 1871 et 1885. Ed. Gisèle Cazottes. Monpellier: Centre de Recherche sur les Littératures Ibériques et Ibéro-américaines Modernes, 1982.
    Presents newspapers and magazines published in Madrid; includes sections on literary, religious, political and satiric, feminist, educational, and juvenile titles. 
  • Les revues littéraires de l'Espagne pendant la première moitié du XIXe siècle.

20TH-21ST CENTURIES

Websites

GENERAL

17TH CENTURY

18TH CENTURY

19TH CENTURY

20TH-21ST CENTURIES

WESSWeb