Indexes and Guides to Western European Periodicals

GENERAL

17TH CENTURY

• Early English Newspapers
  Bibliography and Guide to the Microfilm Collection (1603-1818) by Susan Cox. Woodbridge, CT, U.S.A: Research Publications, 1983.
• English Literary Periodicals: 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms, [1951-]
  Microfilm for the 250 periodicals published between 1660 and 1900 is available at the Center for Research Libraries.

18TH CENTURY

• The Belfast Newsletter Index, 1737-1800 (John C. Greene)
• Early English Newspapers
  Bibliography and Guide to the Microfilm Collection (1603-1818) by Susan Cox. Woodbridge, CT, U.S.A: Research Publications, 1983.
• English Literary Periodicals: 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms, [1951-]
  Microfilm for the 250 periodicals published between 1660 and 1900 is available at the Center for Research Libraries.
• Index to Book Reviews in England, 1775-1800. Forster, Antonia. London: British Library, 1997.
• Index to the serial publications of the Royal Irish Academy (transactions, proceedings, Cunningham memoirs, Todd lecture series, and Irish manuscripts series) from 1786 to 1906 inclusive.
• Internet Library of Early Journals
  Covers 18th- and 19th-century British journals, including Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, Gentleman's Magazine, Notes and Queries, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society.
• Literary reviews in British periodicals, 1789-1826.
  A bibliography with a supplementary list of general (non-review) articles on literary subjects.
• Periodicals Index Online(Proquest; subscription)
  Index to millions of articles published in thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770.
• The Society of Antiquaries of Scotland Scanning Project
  Proceedings, Archaeologia Scotica and the Society's out-of-print monographs.
• Times (of London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985(Gale; subscription)

19TH CENTURY

• Eight Centuries (formerly 19th-Century Master File (formerly Poole's Plus)) (Paratext; subscription)
  Records from Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), the Index to Periodicals (1890-1902), a file of nineteenth-century book records, a file of nineteenth-century serial records, the New York Times (1863-1905), New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906), Palmer's Index to the Times (London; 1880-1890), and more
• The British Empire in the Victorian press, 1832-1867 : a bibliography . E.M. Palmegiano. New York : Garland Pub., 1987.
• British Library: British Newspapers Online 1800-1900 (Gale; subscription)
  "Millions of articles from 49 London, national and regional newspaper (1800 - 1900) titles."
• Comprehensive Index to English Little Magazines, 1890-1970. 8 vols.
  Covers 100 periodicals with articles by and about authors.
• A contents-subject index to general & periodic literature: to which is added an extensive list of works on subjects of general and special interest. Alfred Cotgreave. London: Elliot Stock, 1899-1900. 2 vols.
  Indexes both periodicals and collected works published in book form roughly between 1850-1897. Subject index, but no author index. For more comprehensive coverage, refer to Eight Centuries/Poole's
• Early English Newspapers
  Bibliography and Guide to the Microfilm Collection (1603-1818) by Susan Cox. Woodbridge, CT, U.S.A: Research Publications, 1983.
• English Literary Periodicals: 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries. Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms, [1951-
  Microfilm is available at the Center for Research Libraries.
• Index to the serial publications of the Royal Irish Academy (transactions, proceedings, Cunningham memoirs, Todd lecture series, and Irish manuscripts series) from 1786 to 1906 inclusive.
• Internet Library of Early Journals
  Covers 18th- and 19th-century British journals, including Blackwood's Edinburgh Magazine, Gentleman's Magazine, Notes and Queries, and Philosophical Transactions of the Royal Society.
• Literary reviews in British periodicals, 1789-1826.
  A bibliography with a supplementary list of general (non-review) articles on literary subjects.
• Nineteenth Century Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1899, with Supplementary Indexing, 1900-1922. Edited by Helen Grant Cushing and Adah V. Morris. New York, 1944. 2 vols.
  Indexes 51 titles chosen by public and academic librarians. Provides standardized authority list of subject headings; also includes author entries. Covers a wide range of subjects, with a preference for general and literary titles. Includes Book Reviews.
• Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, Series II 1816-1870. Vol. 56
  Periodical Publications.
• Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest; subscription)
  Index to millions of articles published in thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770.
• Poole's Index to Periodical Literature: 1802-1881. 2 vols. Rev. ed. Reprinted Rprt. New York: Peter Smith, 1938.
  Indexes over 590,000 articles in 479 American and British periodicals. Main set consists of a subject index. There is a cumulative author index. Information given about each article includes its title, author's name in parentheses when it was known or could be ascertained, abbreviated title of the periodical in which the article can be found, and volume and page reference. The year is not given but can be determined from the "conspectus" in vol. 1. There is also a table decoding the periodical title abbreviations. Volume 1: 1802-1881, 1st Supplement: 1882-1887, 2nd Supplement: 1887-1892, 3rd Supplement: 1892-1896, 4th Supplement: 1897-1902, 5th Supplement: 1902-1907.
  Also see Eight Centuries (above).
• Review of Reviews, 1890-1906.
  Subject and author index.
• Science in the Nineteenth-Century Periodical (SciPer)
  Indexes the science content of a selection of 19th-century general periodicals
• The Society of Antiquaries of Scotland Scanning Project
  Proceedings, Archaeologia Scotica and the Society's out-of-print monographs.
• Sources for the History of the Irish Civilization: Articles in Irish Periodicals. Richard J. Hayes. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1970- 9 vols.
  Covers about 150 periodicals published in Ireland from about 1800 to 1969. Vols. 1-4 cover persons; vols. 5-8, subjects; and vol. 9, places and dates.
• Times (of London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985 (Gale; subscription)
  The full text of the Times of London from 1785 to 1985.
• Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900  5 vols. (ProQuest; subscription)
  Each volume is arranged alphabetically by journal title; incl. issue by issue table of contents; vol. 5 is author index. Covers over 45 major Victorian periodicals. Although of primary interest to those studying literature, history, and Victorian life, it also includes articles on politics, religion, economics, art, science, archaeology, and philosophy.

20TH-21ST CENTURIES

• Eight Centuries (formerly 19th-Century Master File (formerly Poole's Plus)) (Paratext; subscription)
  Records from Poole's Index to Periodical Literature (1802-1906), the Index to Periodicals (1890-1902), a file of nineteenth-century book records, a file of nineteenth-century serial records, the New York Times (1863-1905), New York Daily Tribune (1875-1906), Palmer's Index to the Times (London; 1880-1890), and more
• An author index to selected British "little magazines," 1930-1939. B. C. Bloomfield.
• ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature; 1920-2002.  (ProQuest; subscription)
  Includes monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and dissertations.
• Annual magazine subject-index, 1909-1950
• Comprehensive Index to English Little Magazines, 1890-1970. 8 vols.
  Covers 100 periodicals with articles by and about authors.
• The Modernist Journals Project
  The Modernist Journals Project (MJP) provides digital editions of key periodicals published during the rise of modernism (1890-1922). 
• Periodicals Index Online (ProQuest; subscription)
  Index to millions of articles published in thousands of periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences since 1770.
• Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, 1890-1982 (EBSCO; subscription)
  Citations and abstracts for articles in English language periodicals of general interest. Subject coverage includes current events and news, fine arts, fashion, education, business, sports, health and nutrition, consumer affairs, and much more. 
• Review of Reviews, 1890-1906.
  Subject and author index.
• The Society of Antiquaries of Scotland Scanning Project
  Proceedings, Archaeologia Scotica and the Society's out-of-print monographs.
• Sources for the History of the Irish Civilization: Articles in Irish Periodicals. Richard J. Hayes. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1970- 9 vols.
  Covers about 150 periodicals published in Ireland from about 1800 to 1969. Vols. 1-4 cover persons; vols. 5-8, subjects; and vol. 9, places and dates.
• Subject index to periodicals, later British Humanities Index, 1919-1962.
  Continued as British humanities index.
• Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive(Gale; subscription)
  TLS from 1902 to 1990. Fully indexed, search articles by book title, author, or subject heading.
• Times (of London) Digital Archive, 1785-1985 (Gale; subscription)
  The full text of the Times of London from 1785 to 1985.

GENERAL

17TH CENTURY

• British Newspapers and Periodicals, 1641-1700. Carolyn Nelson and Matthew Seccombe. New York: Modern Language Association of America, 1987.
  A Short-Title Catalogue of Serials Printed in England, Scotland, Ireland, and North America: with a Checklist of Serials Printed 1701-March 1702 and Chronological, Geographical, Foreign Language, Subject, Publishers, and Editor Indexes, 1641-1702.
• Tercentenary handlist of English & Welsh newspapers, magazines and reviews. Section 1: London & suburban; [section] 2: Provincial. London: Dawsons of Pall Mall, 1966. [Spine title: Handlist of English and Welsh newspapers, 1620-1920.]

18TH CENTURY

• British Periodicals & Newspapers, 1789-1832: A Bibliography of Secondary Sources. William S. Ward. Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 1974.
  Index to monographs and journal articles on periodicals and newspapers published during 1789-1832 in the British Isles. Covers 20 journals. Indexes of authors, subjects, library catalogs, and union lists.
• Tercentenary handlist of English & Welsh newspapers, magazines and reviews. Section 1: London & suburban; [section] 2: Provincial. London: Dawsons of Pall Mall, 1966. [Spine title: Handlist of English and Welsh newspapers, 1620-1920.]
• Studies of British Newspapers and Periodicals from their Beginning to 1800: A Bibliography. Katherine K. Weed and Richmond P. Bond. Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1946.
  Bibliography of secondary studies of newspapers and periodicals published in the British Isles from about 1620-1800. Most entries are drawn from 19th century periodicals. (Balay)

19TH CENTURY

• British Periodicals & Newspapers, 1789-1832: A Bibliography of Secondary Sources. William S. Ward. Lexington: University Press of Kentucky, 1974.
  Index to monographs and journal articles on periodicals and newspapers published during 1789-1832 in the British Isles. Covers 20 journals. Indexes of authors, subjects, library catalogs, and union lists.
• Tercentenary handlist of English & Welsh newspapers, magazines and reviews. Section 1: London & suburban; [section] 2: Provincial. London: Dawsons of Pall Mall, 1966. [Spine title: Handlist of English and Welsh newspapers, 1620-1920.]
• Waterloo directory of English newspapers and periodicals, 1800-1900. 1st Series. Waterloo, Ont.: North Waterloo Academic Press, 1997. 10 vols. 

20TH-21ST CENTURIES

Tercentenary handlist of English & Welsh newspapers, magazines and reviews. Section 1: London & suburban; [section] 2: Provincial. London: Dawsons of Pall Mall, 1966. [Spine title: Handlist of English and Welsh newspapers, 1620-1920.]

GENERAL

17TH CENTURY

18TH CENTURY

The Spectator Project: A Hypermedia Research Archive of Eighteenth-Century Periodicals
Text of The Spectator and The Tatler.

19TH CENTURY

• British Periodicals at Minnesota: The Early Nineteenth Century
  Chronological and alphabetical listings of periodicals that began publication in Great Britain between 1801 and 1850, as well as earlier titles that continued to publish after 1800. Contains bibliographic information only.
• Victorian Periodicals: Aids to Research: A Selected Bibliography
  Provides an introduction to research on Victorian periodicals and lists guides in the following categories: General References; Biographical Resources; Histories of Individual Periodicals; Critical Commentary. Last updated in 2010.

20TH-21ST CENTURIES