LibGuides: ACRL/EBSS Education Librarian’s Toolkit: Program Review Tools

Program Review Tools

Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Education Programs (CACREP) -- For Programs Provides resources for the accreditation process for counseling and related educational academic programs. Delineates the eight step process of securing accreditation.
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) -- Accreditation & Program Review Offers useful explanations of accreditation as related to both institutions and professions.
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) -- CAEP Accreditation Handbook Offers a detailed handbook regarding the procedures of CAEP application that is divided into four parts: introduction, CAEP standards and evidence, the accreditation process, and appendices. Downloadable as a PDF document.
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) -- Glossary Provides an extensive list of alphabetized definitions of terms relating to the higher education that includes a glossary of acronyms.
Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) -- Standards Delineates the five CAEP accreditation standards, which are: content and pedagogical knowledge, clinical partnerships and practice, candidate quality, recruitment, and selectivity, program impact, provider quality, continuous improvement, and capacity.

The Citadel Annual CAEP Reports Offers examples of the annual CAEP accreditation reports at the Citadel.
Missouri State University -- CAEP Reports and Data Details examples of the annual CAEP accreditation reports and related data from Missouri State University.
Southwestern Oklahoma State University -- CAEP Annual Report Links to a PDF document of Southwestern Oklahoma State University’s 20114 CAEP accreditation report.

Council for Higher Education Accreditation Offers a wealth of information on higher education accreditation from 3000 colleges and universities that recognize 60 different programmatic and institutional accrediting organizations. Includes sections on government relations, databases and directories, and research and publications.
Council for Higher Education Accreditation -- Regional Accrediting Organizations 2015-2016 Lists information about the six regional accreditation bodies in the United States, including ACCJC, HLC, MSCHE, NEASC-CIHE, SACSCOC, and WSCUC.

U.S. Department of Education -- Accreditation in the United States Offers extensive information written by the U.S. Department of Education on a multitude of topics related to higher education in this country. Includes history of accreditation in the USA, nationally recognized accrediting agencies, and specialized accrediting agencies.
U.S. Department of Education -- The Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs Lists all institutional and specialized accrediting bodies responsible for each college or university. Searchable by institution, state, or accrediting agency to learn more about accreditation in higher education.