Skip to Main Content 
Criminal Justice Statistics
Bureau of Justice Statistics
Includes comprehensive data on all aspects of the criminal justice system, including information on jails, deaths in custody, law enforcement management, recidivism, juveniles, sexual violence, and more.
Federal Bureau of Investigation -- Crime Data Explorer
CDE aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data. Use the CDE to discover data through visualizations, downloads in .csv format, and other large data files.
Federal Bureau of Investigation -- Uniform Crime Reporting
Houses statistical crime reports on crime, hate crimes, terrorism, financial crimes, and law enforcement killed or assaulted. Searchable by year or crime.
Federal Bureau of Prisons - Statistics by the numbers
These statistics provide an interesting look at the prison system.
Justice Research and Statistical Association -- Incident Based Reporting Resource Center
Presents incident-based reporting data from numerous states with state data, state mapping projects, sample data, and more. Has option to create files for analysis.
National Institute of Justice -- Statistics
Provides research and data on criminal justice trends, policing, corrections, and crime prevention.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention: Research & Statistics
Includes statistical briefing book, evidence-based programs, model programs guide, and archived data.
Pew Research Center -- Criminal Justice
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research."
TRAC: Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse
Provides detailed data on federal criminal justice topics, including immigration, prosecution, and sentencing.
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime
International crime and justice statistics, including global crime trends, human trafficking, and drug-related crimes.
United States Department of Justice -- National Institute of Corrections Library -- Statistics
"Provides lists of resources related to local, state, and federal statistics. This page also includes applications, visual representations of data in various dashboards, data mapping utilities and other online tools available to the corrections community."
University of Michigan -- National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
Includes guides on capital punishment, expenditures for criminal justice system, homicide, crime victimization, juvenile justice, violence against women, and more. Up-to-date data provided by U.S. Department of Justice.
