LibGuides: ACRL/EBSS Statistical Directory for Education & Social Science Librarians: Education Statistics

Education Statistics

National Center for Education Statistics -- 120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait Accesses 1993 report on historical American education statistics.
U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences -- Common Core of Data Collects annual fiscal and non-fiscal data on public schools, districts, and state education agencies. Provides access to demographics and custom search tools.
U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences -- Digest of Education Statistics Consists of compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of American education from prekindergarten through graduate school. Contains data that is nationwide, current, and from many sources, both government and private.
U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences -- Fast Facts Offers concise information on many educational issues, such as assessment, early childhood, elementary and secondary, postsecondary and beyond, library, and resources.
U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences -- National Assessment of Educational Progress Connects to brochure that provides overview of NAEP and explains the subjects assessed. Contains links to various versions of Nation’s Report Card.
U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences -- Projections of Education Statistics to 2021 Provides 10-year projections of statistics for elementary and secondary schools and institutions of higher education; includes enrollments, graduates, teachers, and expenditures.
U.S. Department of Education, Institute of Education Sciences -- The Condition of Education Outlines key indicators of the condition of education in the U.S., including spotlights, population characteristics, participation in education, elementary and secondary education, and postsecondary education.
United States Census Bureau -- Education "The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing."
United States Department of Education, Institute of Education Services -- National Center for Education Statistics Acts as primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations. Fulfills a Congressional mandate to collect, collate, analyze, and report complete statistics on the condition of American education; conduct and publish reports; and review and report on education activities internationally.
United States Department of Education -- Data Provides access to educational data, including the Open Data Platform (ODP), the Institute of Education Sciences (IES), Nation’s Report Card, College Scorecard, and other educational data sets.
United States Department of Education -- Research Provides access to educational research, including the National Center for Education Evaluations, the Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), What Works Clearinghouse (WWC), and other research resources.

General State Resources

National Center for Education Statistics -- MapED Contains a new dynamic data mapping tool that provides geographic context to NCES, Census, and other education demographic datasets. Create your own customized maps using the Interactive Data Map or explore pre-existing Story Maps.
National Center for Education Statistics -- State-level Statistics Includes links to Digest of Education Statistics, State Education Reforms, National Assessment of Educational Progress: State Profiles, NAEP Data Explorer, Common Core of Data Fiscal Publications, Elementary/Secondary Information Systems, and National Teacher and Principal Survey State Dashboard.
National Education Association -- Rankings of States and Estimates of School Statistics Includes facts about the extent to which local, state, and national governments commit resources to public education. Report published annually.

State Profiles

College Board -- SAT Report on College and Career Readiness Gives state-level data, including SAT results and student demographics of test takers based on annual information from CollegeBoard, administers of the SAT and other standardized entrance examinations. Formerly known as College Bound Seniors.
National Center for Education Statistics -- State Education Practices Compiles and disseminates data on state education reform efforts on a variety of topics, including Enrollment and Attendance Policy, School Choice, High School Completion, and State Assessments.

Early Childhood Education

Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics -- America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being Provides statistics on children and families in the United States across a range of domains, including family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
Office of Head Start, Administration for Children and Families, Early Childhood Learning and Knowledge Center -- Data & Reports Houses current and historical information about the funding, location, and services of Head Start programs and centers. Head Start Fact Sheets available back to 2004. Other reports, only the last 2-3 years.
National Center for Children in Poverty -- Child Care and Early Education: Research Connections Offers both research data suitable for further analysis and statistical results generated from public sources.
National Center for Eduction Statistics -- State Education Practices -- Early Childhood and Kindergarten Tables include State Prekindergarten Standards and Teacher Qualifications by State, Early Childhood School Readiness Definitions, Assessments, and Interventions by State; and Percent and Number of Children Enrolled in State Prekindergarten Programs by State.

European Commission -- Eurostats Education and Training Provides statistical information from European Union member countries on the participation of individuals in education and training activities, education financing and teaching staff as well as on outcomes of education.
Institute of International Education -- Open Doors Data Includes statistical data on international students in the U.S., American students studying abroad, English intensive programs, online enrollment survey reports, and much more.
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) -- Education Offers open repository for political and social science data and provides access to numerous data related to education from a variety of sources. Go to “Browse by Topic” and select “Education.”
National Center for Education Statistics -- International Activities Program Provides reports on U.S. participation in various international studies of education as well as comparisons between U.S. and G20 countries.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics -- Data for Sustainable Development Goals Covers all education levels for more than 200 countries and addresses key policy issues such as gender parity, teachers, and financing.
UNICEF - Education Overview and Education Data Based on their sustainability goal, education statistics for primary and secondary education and overall literacy. Good notes on where the data originates.
The World Bank -- EdStats: Education Statistics Houses comprehensive portal to data and analysis for key topics in education such as access, completion, learning, expenditures and equity.