LibGuides: German Studies: News

General

Deutschsprachige Medien im Internet
A comprehensive and well-organized listing of German-language news sources (from Exeter University).
CRL's Foreign and US Newspaper Collection Search
Access to hard copies, microfilm, digital newspapers. Can search as well as browse by country.
Paperball
Search engine for a number of German daily papers
List of German-language Magazines (Wikipedia)
German-Language Newspaper Access in North America
North American library holdings of paper, microfilm as well as online versions of German-language newspapers. Organized by city of publication. Joint project with the German North American Resources Partnership (GNARP) and ESS.

News from Austria

NEWSPAPERS

Kleine Zeitung (Graz): Daily. Selected articles.
Kronen Zeitung (Austria): Daily tabloid.
Kurier (Vienna): Daily. Selected articles.
NÖN.at (Niederösterreichische Nachrichten) (Sankt Pölten): Weekly.
Oberösterreichische Nachrichten (Linz)
Die Presse (Vienna): National daily. Selected articles.
Salzburger Nachrichten: Daily.
Der Standard (Vienna): National daily.
Tiroler Tageszeigung (Innsbruck): Daily
Vorarlberger Nachrichten (Bregenz): Daily
Wiener Zeitung: Daily

NEWS MAGAZINES

NEWS: Austrian weekly
Profil: Austrian weekly

RADIO & TV BROADCASTERS

ATV.at: National private TV broadcaster
Austrian TV broadcasters: Streaming
ORF (Österreichischer Rundfunk): Austrian Broadcasting Corporation. National public radio and TV broadcaster
Puls4: National private TV broadcaster
ServusTV: Private TV broadcaster headquartered in Salzburg

OTHER

ANNO (AustriaN Newspapers Online): From the Austrian National Library, scanned images of Austrian newspapers from 16th to 20th centuries. Browsing and searching available.
Wikipedia list of Austrian media (includes newspapers and magazines)
The Local.at: News in English from Austria

News from Germany

NEWSPAPERS

Bild (Hamburg): National daily tabloid. Selected articles.
FAZ.net (online version of Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung): National daily. Selected articles.
Handelsblatt (Düsseldorf): National business daily. Selected articles.
Heute Journal: Television news magazine broadcast on ZDF
Junge Freiheit (Berlin): National weekly. Includes searchable archive.
J üdische Allgemeine (Berlin): National Jewish weekly.
SZ.de (Munich) (online version of Süddeutsche Zeitung): National daily. Selected articles.
Der Tagesspiegel (Berlin): National daily.
Die Tageszeitung (Berlin): National daily.
Die Welt (Hamburg): National daily. Selected articles
Die ZEIT (Hamburg): National weekly. Includes complete archive of back issues (1946-).

NEWS MAGAZINES

Bunte (Munich): National weekly.
Eulenspiegel (Berlin): National monthly humor and satirical magazine.
Focus (Munich): National weekly. Includes archive (1993-).
Der Spiegel (Hamburg): National weekly. Selected articles. Includes archive of back issues (1947-).
Stern (Hamburg): National weekly.

RADIO & TV BROADCASTERS

ARD: joint organization of Germany's regional TV and radio public broadcasters.
BR (Bayerischer Rundfunk): Munich-based public television and radio broadcaster.
Deutsche Welle: German state-owned public international broadcaster; available in 30 languages.
Das Erste: ARD's national public television channel.
ProSieben: Privately-owned national television broadcaster.
RTL: Privately-owned national television broadcaster.
Tagesschau: National and international television news service produced by ARD.
WDR (Westdeutscher Rundfunk): Cologne-based public television and radio broadcaster.
ZDF (Zweites Deutsches Fernsehen): Second German Channel. National German public television broadcaster.
German TV Stations--Streaming: Via wwiTV.com

OTHER

List of German Newspapers from Paperboy
List of newspapers in Germany (Wikipedia)
List of television stations in Germany (Wikipedia)
The Local.de: News in English from Germany

News from Liechtenstein

NEWSPAPERS

Liechtensteiner Vaterland (Vaduz). Daily newspaper.
Liechtensteiner Volksblatt (Schaan). Daily newspaper.

RADIO & TV BROADCASTERS

Radio Liechtenstein. Public radio station.

News from Switzerland

The resources below are primarily German-language Swiss news sources. For sources in French and Italian, see the French Studies [NEED LINK} and the news section in the Italian Studies guide.

NEWSPAPERS

Basler Zeitung. Daily. Selected articles.
Berner Zeitung. Daily. Selected articles.
Blick (Switzerland). Daily tabloid.
Neue Zürcher Zeitung. National daily. Complete text and free 30-day archive.
Tages-Anzeiger (Zürich): National daily.

NEWS MAGAZINES

Nebelspalter (Zürich): National monthly humor and satirical magazine.
Schweizer Monat (Zürich): Monthly magazine for politics, economy and Culture. Complete archive of current and past issues.
Die Weltwoche (Zürich): Weekly. Free registration required.

RADIO & TV BROADCASTERS

Schweiz5: Private TV broadcaster
Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen (SRF): National public radio and TV broadcaster
Telebasel: Regional TV station for Basel
TeleZüri: Regional TV station for Zürich
World Radio Switzerland: 24 hour, English-language broadcast radio station in Switzerland
Swiss TV Stations--Streaming: Via wwiTV.com

OTHER

e-newspaperarchives.ch: Access to historical and current Swiss newspapers in French, German and Italian digitized by the Swiss National Library and other Swiss libraries.
WWW.Zeitung.ch: searchable portal to Swiss German-language newspapers
List of magazines in Switzerland (Wikipedia)
List of radio stations in Switzerland (Wikipedia)
List of television stations in German-speaking Switzerland (Wikipedia)
The Local.ch: News in English from Switzerland.

German-language News from Other Countries/Regions

BELGIUM

Grenz-Echo (Eupen): Daily newspaper.

LUXEMBURG

Luxemburger Wort (Luxembourg City). Daily newspaper

SOUTH TYROL/TRENTINO-ALTO ADIGE

Dolomiten: Tagblatt der Südtiroler (Bozen/Bolzano): Daily newspaper.
Die Neue Südtiroler Tageszeitung (Bozen/Bolzano): Daily newspaper.

Historical News Sources

ANNO (AustriaN Newspapers Online)
From the Austrian National Library, scanned images of Austrian newspapers and periodicals from 16th to 20th centuries. Browsing and searching available.
Compact Memory: Retrospektive Digitalisierung jüdischer Periodika im deutschsprachigen Raum
A digitization project of German Jewish periodicals (mainly 19th and early 20th century).
DDR Presse
Open access to three major East German papers -- Neues Deutschland, Berliner Zeitung, Neue Zeit (registration is required)
DigiPress
Newspapers from the Bavarian State Library from 17th to mid-20th century.
Digital Exile Press (Deutsche Nationalbibliothek)
Digitization of 30 exile German-language magazines from 1933-1945. Access links to magazines in DNB Catalog.
e-newspaperarchives.ch
Access to historical and current Swiss newspapers in French, German and Italian digitized by the Swiss National Library and other Swiss libraries.
Europeana/European Library
Historical German-language newspapers via Europeana/European Library
German-Language Newspaper Access in North America
North American library holdings of paper, microfilm as well as online versions of German-language newspapers. Organized by city of publication. Joint project with the German North American Resources Partnership (GNARP) and ESS.
Historic German Newspapers Online (EuroDocs)
Part of EuroDocs, list on open access historical newspapers from Germany.
Index Deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750-1815
Spiegel Archiv (1947-)
Keyword searching and browsing by issue available.
ZEFYS: Zeitungsinformationssystem
Major digitization project that provides scans historical German-language newspapers from Germany and elsewhere.
Die Zeit Print Archive (1946-)
Browsing by issue and searching available.
Zeitgeschichtliches Archiv
Of interest, in particular, for the period immediately after World War II. Indexes 9 million newspaper clippings. The search is free but there is a fee for obtaining copies of the documents. Registration required to search.
Zeit.punktNRW
Historical newspapers from the 18th century to 1970s from the area of Nordrhein Westfalen (North Rhine Westphalia).