German Studies

Major 18th century German encyclopedia

Searchable full-text portal for a number of 19th and early 20th century encyclopedias (Brockhaus, Philosophy, Mythology, etc.)

Portal to historical German-language lexica and encyclopedias.

Biographies for German-speaking Europe from Middle Ages to the present. Searches Allgemeine Deutsche Biographie (ADB, Neue Deutsche Biographie (NDB), & other sources. German or English interface.

Based on the print "Österreichische Biographische Lexikon 1815–1950" covers Austria and the Austro-Hungarian Empire. Entries covering 1950- being added.

All four volumes of this 1811 dictionary are available full-text.

"more than 700,000 translations"

Searchable version of this major dictionary ( the German equivalent of the OED). This free site includes only the original 16 volume work [1854-1960], not the Neubearbeitung [1965-].

Claims to contain over 300,000 terms

Free access to the two standard dictionaries of the Middle High German language, "Lexer" and "Benecke - Müller - Zarncke"

English-German idiomatics

Image-based dictionary

German to/from other European languages (including English)

Portal to various historical German-language dictionaries and encyclopedias, including for Middle High German, regional language dictionaries & more

German-English dictionary

Consult the country listing for detailed information about all German-speaking countries.

Information from the Austrian Press and Information Service

Information about Germany from the German Embassy in Washington, D.C.

A "knowledge portal" offering free search of Wahrig dictionaries. In addition, time tables of history and assorted information ranging from gardening tips to pets and recycling, etc..

Website of the Statistisches Bundesamt - Destatis

Zip code look-up from Deutsche Post

Area Code look-up

Train and bus schedules (Germany and Europe)

Official train schedules for Austria

Official train schedules for Germany

Official train schedules for Switzerland