Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

German Studies

Scholarly resources in German Studies, including all German-speaking countries. The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process.

Germany

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

This is a monumental collection of medieval documents. Consisting of published volumes in facsimile form of various sub-series.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

WWW page of German historians: book reviews, documents, and subject-oriented discussions.

An H-NET webgroup for discussing and debating historical issues related to the Holy Roman Empire.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

English-language history portal provided by German institutions for the study of history.

From the Institut für europäische Geschichte in Mainz.

Compiled & maintained by Chris Brady at Baylor University.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

The unified national library in Frankfurt, Leipzig and Berlin.

Classified directory of German archives, courtesy of the Archivschule at Marburg.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

Includes witness testimonies, archives, and further resources on the Holocaust.

Resources and directories of the German Historical Museum, including current exhibitions.

Museum of History of the Federal Republic.

Includes links to a number of virtual libraries on historical topics.

Online source documents and a digital library of the Friedrich Ebert Foundation.

Resources and archives of the Holocaust Museum.

Museum guide for German-speaking countries.

 

Austria

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

Reviews and commentaries from the discussion group on the Habsburg monarchy and its successor states.

An H-NET webgroup for discussing and debating historical issues related to the Holy Roman Empire.

Research projects of the history faculty and students at the University of Vienna.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

Searchable database combining entries from the various annual printed volumes of the Austrian Historical Bibliography.

 LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

Classified directory of Austrian archives, courtesy of the Archivschule at Marburg.

The Austrian National Library.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

University of Vienna's Institute for Economic and Social History.

Museum guide for German-speaking countries.

Switzerland

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

HISTORIOGRAPHY, COMMENTARY, SECONDARY LITERATURE

An H-NET webgroup for discussing and debating historical issues related to the Holy Roman Empire..

By Alan M. Schom; Includes a response from the Swiss Government.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

Includes links to primary sources, reference material, genealogy, heraldry, and more.

Swiss Historical Dictionary searchable by names, places and subject

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

Directory to Swiss archives.

The Swiss National Library.

Classified directory of Swiss archives, courtesy of the Archivschule at Marburg.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

The Swiss National Museum.

Museum guide for German-speaking countries.

Liechtenstein

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

Liechtenstein's official webpage.

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

Guide to Liechtensteinian archives.

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

The National Museum of Liechtenstein.

Luxembourg

DOCUMENTS, DATA FILES, PRIMARY LITERATURE

Documents are either transcriptions, translations, or facsimile copies of originals.

 REFERENCE WORKS, GATEWAYS, TERTIARY LITERATURE

LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, COLLECTIONS

SOCIETIES, ACADEMIC CENTERS, ORGANIZATIONS

The National Museum of History and Art for Luxembourg.

WESSWeb