German Studies

The best bet as a starting point for searching German library catalogs. The KVK is an extremely useful "meta-catalog" that allows for simultaneous searching of several library catalogs, among them the union catalogs for Bavaria, North Rhine-Westphalia and Southwest Germany. The list of covered catalogs keeps growing; it now includes Austrian and Swiss libraries, as well as an increasing number of other national catalogs.

A major resource. The main OPAC covers 1501 – 1840, 1953– present. New: an "image catalog" based on the old card catalog now covers the years 1841-1952.

The major union list of serials for German libraries.

A list of Austrian libraries and their catalogs by region, provided via TU Wien.

Several catalogs. Of particular interest is Ariadne, a Women's Studies database, listed under "Research" ("Forschung").

Union catalogs for the German-speaking region of Switzerland.

Metacatalog of Swiss academic libraries, the Swiss National Library, several cantonal libraries, and other institutions.

Helveticat is the Swiss National Library catalog. Additional catalogs and databases are listed on the library website.

This is the major bibliography for German language and literature. Commonly referred to as Eppelsheimer Köttelwesch. (Currently the years 1985-2019 are available.)

Women's Studies database produced at the Austrian National Library.

An index to newspaper articles (some full text) on German-language and other literatures.

Includes the full text of 18th and early 19th century German periodicals listed in the "Index deutschsprachiger Zeitschriften 1750-1815."

A growing list of web bibliographies on local history. Some of these can be searched simultaneously at the UB Karlsruhe.

Austrian database of book reviews.

Online database of 15th century printed books, produced by the Staatsbibliothek Preussischer Kulturbesitz in Berlin. Supplements the printed edition with additional indexes and draft versions of new descriptions.

Documents library holdings for 16th century German imprints.

A major cataloging project with the purpose of creating a national bibliography for the 17th century.

National bibliography for 1701 to 1800 of all German-language imprints and publications in other languages published in German-speaking countries. Includes access to all digital copies of most items in bibliography.

Catalog of the Zentralkartei der Autographen (ZKA); currently contains almost 500,000 records for letters kept and cataloged in German archives and libraries, and brief biographical data for letter writers.

Major research site for medieval manuscripts in German-speaking countries. Includes digitized versions of manuscript catalogs and a Handschriftendatenbank.

Although dissertations are included in the German National Library's catalog, DissOnline provides a search just of electronic publications of German universities. Dissertations begin with 1998.