Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Online Learning

Information and resources on equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI).

ACRL EDI banner

ACRL Webinars

Logo: ACRL eLearning

Offered live and take place in an interactive, online classroom environment.

Upcoming e-Learning

June 2022

Cognitive Load and Instructional Design - June 9, 2022
Generally, the Cognitive Load Theory is a theory about learning built on the premise that since the brain can only do so many things at once, we should be intentional about what we ask it to do. Learn how to help your students learn more efficiently by reducing the cognitive load -- the amount of mental effort -- taken up by extraneous information and poor design. 

August 2022

Building community partnerships through online digital literacy workshops - August 11, 2022
Do you provide digital and information literacy instruction that could be disseminated to a broader community? Are you interested in building a robust and cohesive digital literacy curriculum? If so, this session is for you. Digital Matters Librarian Rebekah Cummings will share her experiences at the University of Utah partnering with the College of Education to disseminate online digital literacy training to 7-12 grade teachers. In this session, we will discuss the initial needs assessment, building community partnerships, creating a digital literacy curriculum, and the unexpected benefits of deploying that content online.

ACRL-Choice Webinars

Logo: ACRL-Choice webinars

Stay current on library trends and discover more about where the field is headed with free ACRL-Choice webinars. Industry experts lead these sponsored, 60-minute interactive presentations, which cover topics like digital publishing, research trends, and open access. These webinars are paid sponsorship opportunities. The products, services, and opinions presented in them do not constitute a Choice, ACRL, or ALA endorsement of any kind.

Upcoming ACRL-Choice Webinars

Unlocking Value: Keys to Incorporating Open Access in Library Collections

Sponsored by SirsiDynix

Scheduled for Thursday, June 09 at 1:00pm

Free registration

While Open Access has been a frequent topic of discussion in scholarly communications circles for more than a decade, relatively few librarians have had the opportunity to work closely with this content to develop best practices around collection management, discovery and assessment of OA materials. We are partnering with Choice to facilitate a dialogue between librarians and vendors about the current OA landscape, developing OA collections, and best practices for implementing an OA strategy at your library.

 

Strategies for Uncovering Black Women’s Voices in Primary Sources

Sponsored by ProQuest, Part of Clarivate

Scheduled for Thursday, June 16 at 2:00pm

Free registration

Join Dr. Ashley D. Farmer, Associate Professor of History and African & African Diaspora Studies, for a discussion about how to locate Black women intellectuals and thought across ProQuest Primary Source databases and other sources. Farmer will discuss the challenges she faced in excavating the archives of Black women intellectuals while writing her books Remaking Black Power: How Black Women Transformed an Era and Queen Mother” Audley Moore: Mother of Black Nationalism. She will also discuss strategies for uncovering Black women intellectuals in primary source databases and archives and provide examples of how she helps students uncover Black women’s intellectual production in classroom settings and for their research projects

ACRL-Choice Webinar Recordings

Lessons in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion: Managing Change from Where You Are (January 28, 2021): Transforming libraries into diverse, equitable and inclusive institutions is accomplished by driving change from within, through learning and unlearning, and through conversation and collective action. In order to stick, systemic change must be enacted from all levels within an organization’s structure. This webinar will offer guidance for libraries to effectively organize for diversity, equity, inclusion and social justice.

Impacts of COVID-19 on Education and Remote Learning. What comes next? (November 17, 2020): The COVID-19 pandemic has forced nearly 1.5 billion students worldwide to quickly adapt to online learning. While technology has been able to provide students with access to high quality learning, most education systems need to pay close attention to ensure that technology does not amplify existing inequalities in access and quality of education. Different OECD countries are adopting different strategies to reopen schools, but only 22% of them say they are looking to go back to where they came from, indicating that some form of hybrid learning is likely here to stay. Building teaching capacity has become absolutely critical in most OECD countries. As we move into the next stages of the pandemic, what lessons can be learned to help pave the way for more strategic education implementation processes for schools reopening, and beyond?

How to Uncover Diverse Voices for Research and Teaching: Strategies with Primary Source Archives (October 13, 2020): Join Dr. Marcia Chatelain, professor of history and African American studies at Georgetown University for a discussion on “rethinking archives” to support research and learning about marginalized peoples and communities using primary source collections. Dr. Chatelain will describe the challenges she confronted researching and writing her books South Side Girls: Growing up in the Great Migration and Franchise: The Golden Arches in Black America, and how her experiences have shaped the way she teaches students to navigate collections that include different perspectives. Dr. Chatelain will also provide examples of how she uses short assignments to spark student engagement and increase their familiarity and comfort using primary sources. 

Navigating Accessibility to Support All Library Users (May 7, 2020): Many patrons have disabilities that present barriers to accessing research and learning resources. How can libraries navigate web accessibility requirements and ensure their resources accommodate users’ needs – especially at a time when physical libraries are temporarily closing and focusing on remote services?

Equity and Access in the Age of COVID-19: How Academic Libraries Can Build a Better Digital Content Strategy (October 1, 2020): As colleges and universities continue to grapple with the implications of reopening and the need for more effective remote learning, what will the “new normal” look like for academic libraries? How is the COVID-19 pandemic accelerating existing trends, and what new imperatives has it created for librarians? This panel will bring together librarians, institutional leaders, analysts, and technology developers to discuss the changing role of libraries in an unprecedented and uncertain time, against the backdrop of ongoing digital transformation across the higher education landscape. 

Confronting Hard History: Using Primary Sources to Teach Slavery, Civil Rights and Black Lives Matter (September 15, 2020): Join us for this session with Hasan Jeffries, associate professor of history at Ohio State, who will discuss teaching with primary sources to complicate normative narratives of slavery, the civil rights movement and Black Lives Matter protests. This presentation will highlight the importance of looking honestly at the past to understand the persistence of racial inequality in the U.S. today, and to create a more equitable and democratic future.

Decolonizing the Literature Curriculum: Equality, Diversity and Inclusion in Literary Studies (April 21, 2020): Literature curriculum that is as diverse as the student population itself can have a profound effect on student engagement and success. However, ensuring that literary studies are truly diverse and accessible is not a simple task. In this session, you will hear from academic experts in the classroom and library on how they are addressing the importance of diversity in literary studies in curriculum and collections. Discover how to enrich and better support online research, teaching and learning with a diverse and comprehensive literature collection.

ACRL Presents

Logo: ACRL Presents

The ACRL Presents program offers free occasional webcasts on issues of broad interest and importance to the academic and research library community. ACRL Presents webcasts are recorded and closed captioning is available in the Zoom platform. Check back for upcoming live sessions, or browse our archived recordings in the recordings tab.

Upcoming ACRL Presents

Ethical Engagement in Learning Analytics: Lessons Learned by Campus Colleagues 
When: Friday, July 22, 2022
Time: 1:00PM-2:00PM Central Time (US and Canada)
Free registration

Is your library considering, initiating, or already engaging with campus partners in institutional learning analytics efforts? Are you concerned about negotiating new territory for students, establishing new practices and policies, guiding data collection and analysis, and aligning learning analytics with your professional and personal ethics and values? In this webinar, sponsored jointly by ACRL’s Value of Academic Libraries and Professional Values Committees, hear from a panel of higher education experts in learning analytics, data governance, data privacy, data security, and assessment. These panelists have addressed many of the questions libraries are currently grappling with and are now engaging in learning analytics and assessment with and on behalf of their students.

ACRL Presents Past Webinars

Supported to Stay: A Discussion of Retention Experiences and EDI-informed Approaches (March 3, 2022)

Organized by the ACRL New Roles and Changing Landscapes Committee and the ACRL Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion Committee

We want to talk about why we stay in library work and what practices might motivate our reason to do so. This session is not aimed at solving all issues with retention. It aims to offer to offer a space for participants as well as panelists to learn, share, and discuss themes emphasizing retention and our experiences in our respective positions as participants as well as speakers. Due to the potentially sensitive topic of this session and the goal for an honest discussion, this session was not recorded, but the following resource has been made available. 

ACRL Presents Webinar Recordings

Selected recordings are included below, and the full listing can be found on the ACRL YouTube page

Cultures of Collecting: Sustaining Diversity, Equity and Inclusion in Collection Development (May 27, 2021): What is the "right way" to decenter racism when building collections in academic libraries? As librarians, how do we hold ourselves accountable for fostering diversity and equity through our collection development plans? What systemic and pervasive barriers within academic libraries must be dismantled before we can effectively perform and sustain this work? Please join the ACRL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee for this panel discussion to hear experts from academic libraries and special collections repositories provide insights into including diverse perspectives in scholarly collections for teaching, research, and learning. Discussion will include the value of expanding collections with diversity in mind, how to assess collections for diverse content, continuing to include underrepresented voices when funding is restricted, and ensuring diverse voices are preserved when collections are weeded or reappraised. This webinar will include methodologies for assessment, and time for question and response.

ACRL Presents: An Insider's Guide to Preparing for Promotion: the Good, the Bad and the Ugly (March 9, 2021): Hosted by the ACRL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Committee, this interactive discussion is about the promotion process in academic libraries. Our distinguished panelists will discuss all aspects of the promotion process including the value that promotion and tenure bring to librarianship, how to prepare your documentation, and where to find support from within your institutions or professional organizations. If you are new to the profession, or are facing the daunting task of beginning this process, this webinar will be of value to you. Challenges including the mysterious process of determining when you are ready, and dealing with the likelihood of imposter’s syndrome will also be discussed.

Building Structural Equity and Inclusion in Scholarly Communications (October 21, 202): International Open Access Week is a time for the scholarly communications community to coordinate their efforts to accelerate the transition to more open, inclusive, and equitable systems of scholarship. Join recipients of ACRL’s scholarly communications research grants—based on research suggested by 2019’s Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future—for a discussion of their projects; the challenges of enacting change in scholarly communications including the global digital divide and information inequality, decolonization, democratization, and privilege (or the lack thereof); and practical, actionable steps that academic librarians can take to help build a better future.

Reopening Campus During the Pandemic: Treading Water in the Deep End (October 6, 2020): Our patrons think it’s “business as usual” during these unusual times, but as COVID-19 consistently creates more questions, administrators and students look for answers in the usual place - the library. Libraries are often seen as a beacon of knowledge on campus, but what happens when there is no information to provide? This is where we found ourselves, in the deep end, with little notice and certainly no precedent for how to stay afloat. Join the dean and access services librarian from the University of Nebraska at Omaha to hear what their university and library did to prepare for reopening, and what they’re doing now to keep students safe and cared for on campus.

Advocating for Library Workers During Uncertain Times (May 13, 2020): The recent public health situation has created much uncertainty for higher education funding. Libraries are finding themselves in complex fiscal situations, with layoffs, furloughs, and budget reductions being announced. View the recording that includes practical strategies for engaging campus administrators in conversations that emphasize the importance of supporting library employees and the critical work they are doing for their students and organizations. 

Quickly Implementing Accessibility Tools  (April 13, 2020): Everyone is working and learning online right now. We need to ensure what we create and share is accessible to everyone. This presentation and Q&A will discuss the legal and ethical standards for making courses and learning objects accessible. We will also share some free tools for the generation of new material and retrofitting previously created content.

Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources Level the Playing Field (October 22, 2019): Open educational resources (OER) are not usually a hard sell for students. But what about educators? How do they benefit from having access to resources that are licensed openly? And how can we, as librarians, guide faculty in adopting and adapting OER?

Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources: Recording of the the October 22, 2019, ACRL Presents: Open for Students and Educators: Open Educational Resources Level the Playing Field, with speaker Sara Rachel Benson, from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Recording of the July 15, 2019, ACRL Presents: Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications with speakers Nathan Hall, Rebecca Kennison, Nancy Maron and Yasmeen Shorish.

Open Data Repositories-Creating Equitable and Sustainable Data Access: Recording of the October 25, 2018, ACRL Presents: Open Data Repositories-Creating Equitable and Sustainable Data Access

ACRL/ODLOS: Addressing cultural humility and implicit bias in information literacy sessions: Recording of the January 23, 2018, ACRL/ODLOS: Addressing cultural humility and implicit bias in information literacy sessions.

ACRL Online Forums

Logo: Online discussion forums

ACRL membership groups host free, periodic Online Discussion Forums on a range of topics, including diversity, equity and inclusion. 

Upcoming Online Forums

June 2022
ACRL Health Sciences Interest Group: Evidence Based Teaching Practice: How Are You Incorporating Evidence Into Your Practice?  - Friday, June 10, 2022 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL IS Virtual Engagement Committee Discussion Forum - Wednesday, June 15, 2022 1:00 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. Central Time

ACRL ULS PDC: Introducing Conversations About Diversity, Equity and Inclusion to Personnel at a Mid-Sized Academic Library - Wednesday, June 15, 2022 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL Academic Library Services to International Students Interest Group: Annual Meeting - Wednesday, June 29, 2022 - 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time


July
ACRL ULS Professional Development Committee: Advanced Session on Libraries and Learning Analytics 
- Friday, July 15, 2022  - 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Central Time

August
ACRL Project Outcome 101 - Wednesday, August 10, 2022 - 1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. Central Time

ACRL Online Forums Recordings

ACRL Diversity Alliance: Kindly Hire Me: The Process and Impact of Inclusive Hiring (February 28, 2022)This presentation will explore perspectives on inclusive hiring practices from both sides of the table. Grand Valley State University Libraries developed inclusive recruitment and high-empathy hiring practices, which they implemented in 2018. The Dean and a past diversity resident team up to dissect the hiring process from both of their perspectives. Annie Bélanger, Dean of University Libraries at Grand Valley State University, discusses the work behind critically examining the existing hiring process, designing an inclusive recruitment plan, and implementing a new structure in order to ensure empathy to applicants going through the process. Preethi Gorecki, Communications Librarian at MacEwan University, then discusses the impact of inclusive hiring on perceptions of the work environment, satisfaction with the search, and overall experience of the hiring process. Download accompanying slide deck.

ALA/ARL Cultural Proficiencies for Racial Equity: A Framework Update (February 16, 2022): Christina Fuller-Gregory, assistant director of libraries, South Carolina Governor’s School for the Arts and Humanities, and Mark A. Puente, Associate Dean for Organizational Development, Diversity, and Inclusion, Purdue University Libraries and School of Information Studies, lead this information session on the draft ALA/ARL Cultural Proficiencies for Racial Equity. Download accompanying slide deck.

ACRL STS: Equitable Hiring Practices and Retention of Diverse Library Employees (February 3, 2021)A recording of the presentation, hosted by the ACRL STS Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Task Force.

ACRL ULS PDC: Incorporating Feminist Practice into Library Research (July 26, 2021)Hosted by the ACRL University Libraries Section Professional Development Committee, with speakers, Kelsey Cheshire, Hillary Miller, and Pattie Sobczak. Librarianship has made strides in incorporating feminism into library services, but have you considered how librarians can embrace their personal beliefs as feminists within our scholarly pursuits? In this session, we will start by sharing ways we incorporate feminist theory in our own work (including reference and instruction, collections, and scholarly communication) and invite you to share your own examples. We will then introduce a number of concepts from feminist ethics and theory that inform feminist research practice and showcase how these can be applied in any combination to produce research that is feminist. Finally, we will explore ways that feminism can be incorporated into research at many decision points, including approaches to research methods, citation, and the production and presentation of scholarship. We will conclude the session with a guided discussion regarding next steps for incorporating feminism into your own research practices.

ACRL CJCLS: OER : What’s next? Equity diversity (July 22, 2021): Hosted by the ACRL Community and Junior College Libraries Section (CJCLS), with speakers Ann Fiddler and Dr. Rebecca Karoff.

ACRL Digital Scholarship Section PDC: Documenting Diversity in Appalachia (July 22, 2021): Hosted by the ACRL Digital Scholarship Section Professional (DSS) Development Committee

ACRL RBMS IOC/DC: Integrating Critical Race Theory and Teaching with Primary Sources (May 14, 2021): Hosted by the ACRL Rare Books and Manuscripts Section (RBMS)RBMS Instruction and Outreach Committee (IOC), and RBMS Diversity Committee (DC), with speakers Kellee Warren, Rachel E. Winston and Jimmy Zavala.

ACRL IS Inclusive Pedagogy Committee: Bringing Race to the Forefront (May 13, 2021): Hosted by the ACRL Instruction Section (IS) Inclusive Pedagogy Committee. In this conversation between Jesus Espinoza and Symphony Bruce, the speakers will talk through their experiences using Critical Race Theory and Antiracism to inform their instruction and engage students and teaching faculty. They will discuss the successes and challenges of their work, in addition to the process of navigating the uncertainty of applying critical race theories and antiracist pedagogies while still learning about them. Specifically, they will talk about their individual experiences creating lesson plans and workshops, especially in online learning spaces.

ACRL 2021 Conference

The ACRL 2021 Virtual Conference, “Ascending into An Open Future," was held April 13-16, 2021. ACRL 2021 and featured a mix of more than 300 live and on-demand programs, interactive discussion groups, eye-popping posters, a social wall, fun connections and prizes, and content on demand for 30 days. The conference also featured author Tressie McMillan Cottom and journalist Mona Chalabi as keynote speakers along with invited presentations from Kaetrena Davis Kendrick and We Here administrators Jennifer Brown, Jennifer Ferretti, and Charlotte Roh.

Conference programs focused on social and racial justice, qualitative data analysis, innovation, problem-solving, instructional collaborations, student success, copyright policies, mentoring, sustainability practices, remote learning, first-generation students, information ethics, and more.

“Today’s higher education environment calls for continually innovative ways to advance student, faculty, and institution success,” said ACRL 2021 Conference Chair Beth McNeil of Purdue University. “The content of the ACRL 2021 Virtual Conference was selected with this emphasis in mind, and we are excited to connect with our colleagues and continue working together for an open future.”

Thanks to everyone who joined us for the ACRL 2021 Virtual Conference! We wish to extend our sincere thanks to all of the presenters who shared their content and to everyone who attended the week of virtual programming and networking opportunities for the academic and research library community. You made it all possible!

Recordings of some of the most popular sessions from the conference are freely available below and on our YouTube channel.

ACRL membershipconferences and e-learningbooks, and donations help fund advocacyresearch, and continuing education programs for the academic library community worldwide.