Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Publications

Information and resources on equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI).

ACRL EDI banner

Ethnic Studies in Academic and Research Libraries

Ethnic Studies in Academic and Research Libraries

by Raymond Pun, Melissa Cardenas-Dow, Kenya S. Flash

Ethnic Studies in Academic and Research Libraries serves as a snapshot of critical work that library workers are doing to support ethnic studies, including areas focusing on ethnic and racial experiences across the disciplines. Other curriculums or programs may emphasize race, migration, and diasporic studies, and these intersecting areas are highlighted to ensure work supporting ethnic studies is not solely defined by a discipline, but by commitment to programs that uplift underserved and underrepresented ethnic communities and communities of color.  

The Community College Library series, Assessment and Reference and Instruction

Community college librarians are engaged in meaningful work designing and delivering library programs and services that meet the needs of their diverse populations and support student learning. The Community College Library series is meant to lift the voices of community college librarians and highlight their creativity, tenacity, and commitment to students.

The Community College Library: Reference and Instruction

Edited by Janet Pinkley and Kaela Casey

The Community College Library: Reference and Instruction collects research, programs, and new approaches to reference and instruction implemented by community college librarians around the U.S. Chapters include sample activities and materials and cover topics including using race-centered and trauma-informed practices in the reference interview; incorporating online workshops into an existing information literacy program; and using student-driven pedagogy to navigate the early stages of research.

This book demonstrates the innovative and replicable ways community college librarians are meeting the information and research needs of their college population both in person and remotely, all while providing a safe, inclusive space for students to explore and learn.

The Community College Library: Assessment

Edited by Janet Pinkley and Kaela Casey

The Community College Library: Assessment explores the research, comprehensive plans, and new approaches to assessment being created by community college librarians around the U.S. Chapters include sample activities and materials and cover topics including assessing student learning while shifting from Standards to Framework; investigating and communicating library instruction’s relationship to student retention; and building librarian assessment confidence through communities of research practice.

This book demonstrates the innovative and replicable ways community college librarians are measuring, evaluating, and reflecting on the services they provide, and how to use these assessments to demonstrate the value and impact of library services and advocate for resources.

Implementing Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: A Handbook for Academic Libraries

Implementing Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion: A Handbook for Academic Libraries

Edited by Corliss Lee, Brian Lym, Tatiana Bryant, Jonathan Cain, Kenneth Schlesinger

Academic library workers often make use of systemic, bureaucratic, political, collegial, and symbolic dimensions of organizational behavior to achieve their diversity, equity, and inclusion goals, but many are also doing the crucial work of pushing back at the structures surrounding them in ways small and large.
 
Implementing Excellence in Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion captures emerging practices that academic libraries and librarians can use to create more equitable and representative institutions. 19 chapters are divided into 6 sections:

  • Recruitment, Retention and Promotion
  • Professional Development
  • Leveraging Collegial Networks
  • Reinforcing the Message
  • Organizational Change
  • Assessment

The Globalized Library: American Academic Libraries and International Students, Collections, and Practices

book coverLibrary Partnerships in International Liberal Arts Education: Building Relationships Across Cultural and Institutional Lines

edited by Jeff Hiroshi Gima and Kara Malenfant

Internationalization continues to gain traction among US colleges and universities as overseas branch campuses now dot the globe alongside an established and growing group of independent American-modeled institutions of higher education, some founded as early as the 19th century. As higher education and the academic library environment evolves, librarians at many of these independent institutions are identifying priorities that include not only collaborating with educational stakeholders, enhancing teaching and learning, and connecting to the institution’s mission, but also positioning themselves as active and creative partners in increasingly digital learning and scholarship. An international environment is both a challenge and an opportunity for these priorities.

Library Partnerships in International Liberal Arts Education explores these challenges and opportunities through perspectives that are inherently international and intercultural because of the authors’ own backgrounds, and in particular because of their institutional environments. 

Supporting Today’s Students in the Library

Book CoverSupporting Today’s Students in the Library: Strategies for Retaining and Graduating International, Transfer, First-Generation, and Re-Entry Students

Edited by Ngoc-Yen Tran and Silke Higgins

Supporting Today’s Students in the Library collects current strategies from all types of academic libraries for retaining and graduating nontraditional students, with many of them based on learning theories and teaching methodologies. The book explores methods for overcoming language barriers, discusses best practices, and presents case studies that support the changing student population. Additionally, Supporting Today’s Students in the Library provides a variety of ideas for new services, spaces, and outreach opportunities that support nontraditional students on campus and beyond.

Improving Library Services in Support of International Students and English as a Second Language Learners

Improving Library Services in Support of International Students and English as a Second Language Learners

Edited by Leila June Rod-Welch

International students in the United States contribute to the diversity of university campuses, classrooms, and our communities. These students bring new ways of thinking, help to foster academic competition, and enrich the cultural diversity of campuses and the common understanding and appreciation of differences around the world. At the same time, international students encounter many difficulties and obstacles during their collegiate studies, such as cultural shock, the social isolation of being away from family and friends, being homesick, finding employment and balancing work, financial struggles, different spiritual beliefs, unfamiliar living settings and food options, different learning styles and educational systems, language barriers, and cultural differences.

Academic librarians are uniquely positioned to help these students overcome cultural and educational challenges. Improving Library Services in Support of International Students and English as a Second Language Learners provides outreach examples, lesson plans, and collection development practices that can help you better support international students and ESL learners.

Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future

Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future Also available as a free download.

Prepared for ACRL by Nancy Maron and Rebecca Kennison with Paul Bracke, Nathan Hall, Isaac Gilman, Kara Malenfant, Charlotte Roh, and Yasmeen Shorish.

For many years, the academic and research library workforce has worked to accelerate the transition to more open, inclusive, and equitable systems of scholarship. Enacting change in the scholarly communications environment is complicated by a broad range of issues that need to be addressed: the challenges of the global digital divide and information inequality, decolonization, democratization, the politics of technology, privilege (or lack thereof), the public or common good, unbiased policymaking, etc.

"Open and Equitable Scholarly Communications: Creating a More Inclusive Future" is an action-oriented research agenda designed to provide practical, actionable information for academic librarians; include the perspectives of historically underrepresented communities in order to expand the profession’s understanding of research environments and scholarly communication systems; and point librarians and other scholars toward important research questions to investigate.

Choosing to Lead: The Motivational Factors of Underrepresented Minority Librarians in Higher Education

Choosing to Lead: The Motivational Factors of Underrepresented Minority Librarians in Higher Education 
edited by Antonia Olivas 

Choosing to Lead: The Motivational Factors of Underrepresented Minority Librarians in Higher Education takes a positive inquiry approach by providing first-hand accounts of success stories, best practices, and practical advice from a collection of diverse authors. Instead of looking at academic library “failures” when it comes to diversifying the leadership workforce, this book highlights what’s going right and how to implement it across the profession—with an emphasis on building strengths and fully leveraging one’s interests, behaviors, and passions, while never ignoring or deemphasizing the prevailing challenges that exist for diverse LIS professionals who wish to advance their leadership skills. Through case studies, promising practices, and specific strategies for cultivating diversity in academic library leadership, this is a resource for both librarians of color who wish to seek leadership positions and current library leaders who want to nurture these future leaders.

The Globalized Library: American Academic Libraries and International Students, Collections, and Practices

The Globalized Library: American Academic Libraries and International Students, Collections, and Practices 
edited by Yelena Luckert with Lindsay Inge Carpenter

The Globalized Library collects chapters from practitioners across North America detailing how their work has become globalized and demonstrating new ways to address language and cultural differences, the international purchase and processing of materials, professional development and growth of librarians, and information literacy needs of students from all over the world. It explores ways to provide support to students studying abroad, create online teaching tools, establish American-style libraries at satellite campuses, and leverage campus partnerships to create specifically designed programs and learning opportunities for international students, making a huge difference in the success and retention of a diverse student body.    

The Self as Subject: Autoethnographic Research into Identity, Culture, and Academic Librarianship

The Self as Subject: Autoethnographic Research into Identity, Culture, and Academic Librarianship  
edited by Anne-Marie Deitering, Robert Schroeder, Richard Stoddart

Using autoethnography as their research method, the 21 academic librarian authors of The Self as Subject: Autoethnographic Research into Identity, Culture, and Academic Librarianship investigate aspects of what it means to be a librarian. Starting with a reflective examination of themselves, they each investigate questions of culture, values, and identity. The Self as Subject presents a collection of reflective narratives that, taken together, explore the varied dimensions of librarianship in the present moment. It also examines autoethnography’s potential to help librarians answer questions that cannot be answered by traditional, empirical research methods and to reveal voices that are obscured by aggregations of data.

Critical Library Pedagogy Handbook 2-VOLUME SET

Critical Library Pedagogy Handbook 2-VOLUME SET 
edited by Nicole Pagowsky and Kelly McElroy

Critical pedagogy incorporates inclusive and reflective teaching for aims of social justice; it provides mechanisms for students to evaluate their social, political, and economic standing, and to question societal norms and how these norms perpetuate societal injustices. Teaching librarians have long incorporated social justice into their work, but focused interest in critical library pedagogy has grown rapidly in recent years.

Critical Approaches to Credit-Bearing Information Literacy Courses

Critical Approaches to Credit-Bearing Information Literacy Courses 
edited by Angela Pashia and Jessica Critten

Critical librarianship understands the work of libraries and librarians to be fundamentally political and situated in systems of power and oppression. This approach requires that information literacy instruction expand its scope beyond straightforward demonstrations of tools and search mechanics and towards more in-depth conceptual work that asks questions about, among other things, the conditions of information production, presumptions of neutrality, and institutionalized oppression. Critical Approaches to Credit-Bearing Information Literacy Courses includes chapters that examine how both critical pedagogy and critical information literacy are applied throughout a credit-bearing course as well as in specific lesson plans.

Choice's Toward Inclusive Excellence (TIE)

Choice's Toward Inclusive Excellence explores issues of equity, diversity, and inclusion, particularly, though not only, as they affect the academic library community. This new content strand will incorporate weekly blog posts as well as occasional podcasts and webinars, in which contributors will explore the intricacies of racial identity as they relate to implicit bias, systemic racism, and ableism, among other pertinent topics. Among the goals of this channel is the development of a pool of knowledge and actionable resources for information professionals, undergraduates, and faculty seeking to understand racism from new perspectives and promote racial justice on their campuses.

About the Editor

Alexia Hudson-Ward is Associate Director of Research and Learning, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Libraries. Her past roles include: the Azariah Smith Root Director of Libraries for Oberlin College, a Penn State tenured librarian, an award-winning entertainment editor, public radio promotions coordinator, and Coca-Cola Company marketing manager. Alexia holds a MLIS degree from the University of Pittsburgh & BA from Temple University and is currently a Simmons University doctoral candidate in the Managerial Leadership in the Information Professions program.

College & Research Libraries Articles

Logo: C&RL

Rosalind Bucy. "Native American Student Experiences of the Academic Library." May 2022.

Amelia Brunskill, Catherine Lantz, and Kavita Mundle. "What Information Are We Providing to Users with Disabilities? An Analysis of ARL Libraries’ Accessibility Webpages." November 2021.

Mirah J. Dow, Bobbie Sartin Long, and Brady D. Lund. "Reference and Instructional Services to Postsecondary Education Students with Intellectual Disabilities." November 2021.

Ijeoma J. Ibegbulam and Anthonia N. Ejikeme. "Perception of Work-Life Balance among Married Female Librarians in University Libraries in South-East Nigeria." September 2021.

Murtaza Ashiq, Shafiq Ur Rehman, Sadaf Rafiq, and Muhammad Tariq. "Women Academic Library Leadership in Pakistan: A Qualitative Study on the Journey of Career Progression and Serving the Community." September 2021.

Candice Benjes-Small, Jennifer Knievel, Jennifer Resor-Whicker, Allison Wisecup, and Joanna Hunter. "#MeToo in the Academic Library: A Quantitative Measurement of the Prevalence of Sexual Harassment in Academic Libraries." July 2021.

Teresa Auch Schultz and Elena Azadbakht. "Open but Not for All: A Survey of Open Educational Resource Librarians on Accessibility." July 2021.

Xiang Li, Tang Li. "The Evolving Responsibilities, Roles, and Competencies of East Asian Studies Librarians: A Content Analysis of Job Postings from 2008 to 2019." June 2021.

Yanli Li. "Racial Pay Gap: An Analysis of CARL Libraries." March 2021.

Jill Barr-Walker, Courtney Hoffner, Elizabeth McMunn-Tetangco, and Nisha Mody. "Sexual Harassment at University of California Libraries: Understanding the Experiences of Library Staff Members." March 2021.

Kathia Ibacache. "University Libraries as Advocates for Latin American Indigenous Languages and Cultures." March 2021.

Lorelei B. Rutledge. "Leveling Up: Women Academic Librarians’ Career Progression in Management Positions." November 2020.

Jennifer Cong Yan Zhao and Tara Mawhinney. "Effectiveness of Vernacular Library Orientation Videos in Comparison with the English Language Equivalent." November 2020.

Kathia Salomé Ibacache Oliva, Javier Alonso Muñoz-Diaz, Caitlin M. Berry, Eric A. Vance. "Forgotten Hispano-American Literature: Representation of Hispano-American Presses in Academic Libraries." September 2020.

Amelia Brunskill. "'Without That Detail, I’m Not Coming': The Perspectives of Students with Disabilities on Accessibility Information Provided on Academic Library Websites." July 2020.

Emily Crist and Diana Popa. "Information Literacy and Cultural Context: Chinese English Language Learners’ Understandings of Information Authority." May 2020.

Heather A. Howard, Meara H. Habashi, and Jason B. Reed. "The Gender Wage Gap in Research Libraries." May 2020.

Rachel E. Scott and Brannen Varner. "Exploring the Research and Library Needs of Student-Parents." May 2020.

Janice Y. Kung, K-Lee Fraser, and Dee Winn. "Diversity Initiatives to Recruit and Retain Academic Librarians: A Systematic Review." January 2020.

John Siegel, Martin Morris, Gregg A. Stevens. "Perceptions of Academic Librarians toward LGBTQ Information Needs: An Exploratory Study." January 2020.

Xan Arch and Isaac Gilman. "First Principles: Designing Services for First-Generation Students." November 2019.

Tatiana Bryant, Hilary Bussell, and Rebecca Halpern. "Being Seen: Gender Identity and Performance as a Professional Resource in Library Work." September 2019.

Erin Burns and Kristin E.C. Green. "Academic Librarians’ Experiences and Perceptions on Mental Illness Stigma and the Workplace." July 2019.

Quinn Galbraith, Adam Henry Callister, and Heather Kelley. "Have Academic Libraries Overcome the Gender Wage Gap? An Analysis of Gender Pay Inequality." May 2019.

Joanne Oud. "Systemic Workplace Barriers for Academic Librarians with Disabilities." March 2019.

Quinn Galbraith, Heather Kelley, Michael Groesbeck. "Is There a Racial Wage Gap in Research Libraries? An Analysis of ARL Libraries." December 2018.

Juleah Swanson, Azusa Tanaka, and Isabel Gonzalez-Smith. "Lived Experience of Academic Librarians of Color." December 2018.

Sarah Hare and Cara Evanson. "Information Privilege Outreach for Undergraduate Students." September 2018.

Frans Albarillo. "Information Code-Switching: A Study of Language Preferences in Academic Libraries." July 2018.

Amelia Anderson. "Autism and the Academic Library: A Study of Online Communication." July 2018.

Elise Silva and Quinn Galbraith. "Salary Negotiation Patterns between Women and Men in Academic Libraries." April 2018.

Eamon C. Tewell. "The Practice and Promise of Critical Information Literacy: Academic Librarians' Involvement in Critical Library Instruction." January 2018.

Angela Boyd, Yolanda Blue, and Suzanne Im. "Evaluation of Academic Library Residency Programs in the United States for Librarians of Color." May 2017.

Arthur Taylor and Heather A. Dalal. "Gender and Information Literacy: Evaluation of Gender Differences in a Student Survey of Information Sources." January 2017.

Julie Gilbert. "Heroes and Holidays: The Status of Diversity Initiatives at Liberal Arts College Libraries." July 2016.

Quinn Galbraith, Leanna Fry, and Melissa Garrison. "The Impact of Faculty Status and Gender on Employee Well-being in Academic Libraries." January 2016.

Vince Graziano. "LGBTQ Collection Assessment: Library Ownership of Resources Cited by Master’s Students." January 2016.

C&RL News Articles

logo: C&RL News

 

Lori Chapin, Annie Nguyen, Jovonah Kramer, Hayden Dutro, and Elias Tzoc. "Intentional diversity in the Makerspace: A student worker hiring plan." April 2022.

Brittany O’Neill. "Authority is constructed and contextual: Empowering students to navigate privilege in academic publishing." December 2021.

Paulette Kerr, Kathryn La Barre, and Spencer Lilley. "Diversity in local and comparative contexts: Grounding change in academic libraries through dialogue." November 2021.

Jesse Carliner and Kyla Everall. "Time of one’s own: Piloting free childminding at the University of Toronto Libraries." November 2021.

Kaetrena Davis Kendrick, Amanda M. Leftwich, and Twanna Hodge. "Providing care and community in times of crisis: The BIPOC in LIS Mental Health Summits." September 2021.

Bernadette M. López-Fitzsimmons and Kanu A. Nagra. "Implementing excellence in diversity, equity, and inclusion in the library workforce: Tips to overcome challenges. " July 2021.

Christopher Sweet. "Overdue: Incorporating social justice into the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education." May 2021.

Willa Tavernier. "Developing scholarly communication competencies: How a post-master’s degree residency program can provide career preparation." April 2021.

Wanda Marsolek, Shannon L. Farrell, Julia A. Kelly, and Kristen Cooper. "Grey literature: Advocating for diverse voices, increased use, improved access, and preservation." February 2021.

Steve Ching and Brad New. "Touching history: Activating historical materials and enhancing inclusivity in the library." February 2021.

Rachael Elrod and Brittany Kester. "Diverse BookFinder: BIPOC collection development for children’s and young adult collections." November 2020.

Aubrey Iglesias. "Stop, reflect, replace: Renovating our foundation for inclusive participation." November 2020.

Kanwal Ameen, Clara M. Chu, Spencer Lilley, Ana Ndumu, and Jaya Raju. "Multiple ways of knowing: Global perspectives on academic libraries re-imagining systems of knowledge." October 2020.

Karin Heffernan. "Loaded questions: The Framework for Information Literacy through a DEI lens." September 2020.

Jon E. Cawthorne. "Mountains to climb: Leadership for sustainable change in scholarly communication." September 2020.

Selene Colburn . "Beyond the bathroom wars: Increasing gender-free restroom access in libraries." September 2020.

Elizabeth Hobart. "Antiracism in the catalog: An analysis of records." September 2020.

Stephanie Birch, Suzanne Stapleton, and Margarita Vargas-Betancourt. "Outreach from academic libraries: Supporting our local school district’s diversity initiative." July/August 2020.

Lana Mariko Wood. "Empty shelves: How your academic library can address food insecurity." July/August 2020.

Dennis Ocholla. "Decolonizing higher education in Africa: Implications and possibilities for university libraries." June 2020.

Clare Kuntz Balcer. "The Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education (in prison): Using the frames to teach incarcerated students." April 2020.

Charlotte Roh and Vanessa Gabler. "Systemic barriers and allyship in library publishing: A case study reminder that no one is safe from racism." March 2020.

Michael Dudley. "Exploring worldviews and authorities: Library instruction in Indigenous Studies using Authority is Constructed and Contextual." February 2020.

Sue Erickson, Sophie Rondeau, and Maggie Sweeney. “'Drops of Diversity': How a small academic library is working to increase cultural competence." December 2019.

Bernadette M. López-Fitzsimmons, Kanu A. Nagra, Alexandra de Luise, Jeremy Czerw, and  Michael W. Handis. "Academic librarians serving diverse populations of multilingual students: Tips to support success." November 2019.

Emily Underwood. "Mental health awareness: Resources for everyone." November 2019.

Sabrina Thomas and Kacy Lovelace. "Combining efforts: Libraries as mental health safe spaces." November 2019.

Buhle Mbambo-Thata, Jia Tina Du, Ulrike Lang, Jesús Lau, Amal W. Mostafa, Bharat Mehra, Clara M. Chu, and Jaya Raju. "Gender inclusivity and equity in academic libraries: Insights from around the globe." September 2019.

Yasmeen Shorish and Nathan Hall. "Creating the ACRL research agenda for scholarly communication: A move towards more equitable, open systems." September 2019.

Thura Mack and Savanna Draper. "Assessment and social change: Empowering underserved students to reimagine their future through STEM outreach." September 2019.

Karen Munro. "Renewing the system: Thinking broadly about equity, diversity, and inclusion in scholarly communication." July/ August 2019.

Nataly Blas, Aisha Conner-Gaten, Rachel Deras, and Jessea Young. "Empowering collaborations and creating brave spaces: People of Color in Library and Information Science Summit." May 2019.

Shawn McCann and Rebeca Peacock. "Be an ally for accessibility: Tips for all librarians." May 2019.

Sierra Laddusaw and Jeremy Brett. "Dyslexia-friendly fonts: Using Open Dyslexic to increase exhibit access." January 2019.

Kelly McElroy and Laurie M. Bridges. "Multilingual access: Language hegemony and the need for discoverability in multiple languages." December 2018.

Shamika Dalton and Michele Villagran. "Minimizing and addressing microaggressions in the workplace: Be proactive, part 2." November 2018.

Shamika Dalton and Michele Villagran. "Minimizing and addressing implicit bias in the workplace: Be proactive, part one." October 2018.

Emily Mross and Christina Riehman-Murphy. "A place to study, a place to pray: Supporting student spiritual needs in academic libraries." June 2018.

Allan Van Hoye. "Who’s left out of the conversation: The problem of marginalizing students in the scholarly conversation." June 2018.

Myra Waddell and Elena Clariza. "Critical digital pedagogy and cultural sensitivity in the library classroom: Infographics and digital storytelling." May 2018.

Kai Alexis Smith. "Popular culture as a tool for critical information literacy and social justice education: Hip hop and Get Out on campus." May 2018.

Michelle Baildon. "Extending the social justice mindset: Implications for scholarly communication." April 2018.

Rebekah Scoggins. "Broadening your library’s collection: Implementing a LGBTQIA collection development project." March 2018.

Stephanie Rosen. "What does a library accessibility specialist do? How a new role advances accessibility through education and advocacy." January 2018.

Emily Ford, Wendi Arant Kaspar, and Peggy Seiden. "Diversity of ACRL publications, editorial board demographics: A report from ACRL’s Publications Coordinating Committee." November 2017.

Kimberly Pendell and Robert Schroeder. "Librarians as campus partners: Supporting culturally responsive and inclusive curriculum." September 2017.

Jennifer Kaari. "Social activism in the United States: Digital collection and primary sources." September 2017.

Charlotte Roh. "Library publishing and diversity values: Changing scholarly publishing through policy and scholarly communication education." June 2016.

Donna Braquet. "Past overdue!: Protections for LGBT Americans in the workplace." June 2015.

Nicole Pagowsky and Niamh Wallace. "Black Lives Matter!: Shedding library neutrality rhetoric for social justice." April 2015.

Rachel Lockman. "Academic librarians and social justice: A call to microactivism." April 2015.

Other Publications

Desirae Zingarelli-Sweet. "Keeping Up With.. Trauma-Informed Pedagogy." June 2021.

Robin Brown, Zach Welhouse, and Amy Wolfe. "Keeping Up With... Universal Design for Learning." April 2020.

Tarica LaBossiere and Abby Deese. "Keeping Up With... Microaggressions." March 2020.

Candice Benjes-Small, Maura Seale, Alex R. Hodges, and Meg Meiman."Keeping Up With... Critical Assessment." June 2019.

ACRL President's Program EDI Discussion Series. 2019.

Tarica LaBossiere, Endia Paige, and Beau Steenken. "Keeping Up With.. Implicit Bias." February 2019.

Kenny Garcia. "Keeping Up With... Critical LIbrarianship." June 2015.