The goals of this project are to identify, locate, and publicize the existence of major sets of microfilm pertaining to the history, culture, language and literature of France and francophone countries. The selected microfilm resources have significant research value and reflect holdings in European and North American libraries and archives.
This list was compiled by Ceres Birkhead (now retired from the University of Utah) as a project of CIFNAL.
Title: Index photographique de l'art en France
Author: Bildarchiv Foto Marburg.
Imprint: [München ; New York] : K.G. Saur, 1979-
Description: [977] microfiche : all ill. ; 11 x 15 cm.
Note: Contains more than 100,000 rare photos on French art and architecture which are housed at the Forschungsinstitut für Kunstgeschichte of the Philipps-Universität Marburg and the Rheinisches Bildarchiv Köln. Includes index. In French or German.
"Ca. 150000 Bilder auf 1500 microfiches"--Verzeichnis lieferbarer Bücher, 80/81.
ISBN: 359830160X; 9783598301605.
OCLC: 7442798; 18225528; 15542488.
Title: Archives biographiques françaises
Author: Susan Bradley and Tommaso Nappo, eds.
Imprint: London: Bowker-Saur, 1988-1990.
Description: 1073 microfiches: negative, ill.; 11 x 15 cm.
Note: "A compilation of biographical notices selected from 180 biographical works on about 300,000 people in France, French-speaking Switzerland, Belgium, French Canada, and the Francophone colonies, as well as foreigners associated with France for a period of their lives. The collection represents phase one ('French Biographical Archive') and ('French Biographical Archive.New Series') of this project. The entries in this collection were taken from 302 biographical reference works originally published between 1647 and 1986"--The Library of Congress Guide to the Microform Collections in the Humanities and Social Sciences Division, online version.”
Second series: München : K.G. Saur Verlag, 1993 [644 microfiches : negative, ill.]
See also, Biographiques françaises jusqu'à 1999 = Französisches bigraphisches Archiv bis 1999 : ABF III. (Series III). -- München : K.G. Saur, [1999]- [466 microfiches in 12 leaves].
Index biographique français = Französischer biographischer Index = French biographical index. 2nd ed. Compiled by Tommaso Nappo. München: K. G. Saur, 1998. 7 vol. (Série I, II et Supplément).
OCLC: 24469312; 36548714; 50971598; 43613390 (Supplément)
Title: Canadian biographical archive: CaBA (Archives biographiques Canadiennes)
Author: Laureen Baillie, comp.
Imprint: München: K.G. Saur, 2001.
Description: [421] microfiche : negative, ill., 11 x 15 cm.
Note: “Cette collection de microfiches contient des reproductions d’extraits d’environ 160 ouvrages de référence publiés entre 1848 et 1993. Elle contient des extraits biographiques sur environ 150 000 personnes, de l’ère de la colonisation européenne jusqu’à nos jours. Cette collection traite de personnes telles que des missionnaires, trappeurs, chefs ou découvreurs, tels que Cabot, Cartier et Champlain. Ce groupe de microfiches traite aussi d’hommes et de femmes de tous les domaines de la vie publique contemporaine : politiciens, artistes, universitaires, athlètes, entrepreneurs, représentants de syndicats, personnalités et citoyens ordinaires. La riche texture multiculturelle de la société canadienne se reflète encore davantage dans le traitement des autochtones et des immigrants du monde entier. Le texte est en anglais ou en français.”
ISBN: 3598347227 (diazo: 1st inst.); 9783598347221 (diazo: 1st inst.); National Library: 20010049061.
OCLC: 46809844
Title: Canadian imprints, 1751-1800, identified and arranged by Tremaine numbers; reproductions of items listed in M. Tremaine's, A bibliography of Canadian imprints, 1751-1800
Imprint: Ottawa: Canadian Institute for Historical Microreproductions, 198- ?
Description: 21 [microfilm] reels; 35 mm.
Catalogued by individual title.
Note: "Cette collection de 21 bobines de microfilms contient des reproductions de textes complets d'environ 600 articles extraits de A bibliography of Canadian imprints de Marie Trémaine, mentionné ci-dessous. La collection inclut des livres, pamphlets, brochures, prospectus, feuillets et autres publications imprimées (sauf les journaux et périodiques) publiés de 1751 à 1800 surtout en Nouvelle-Écosse, au Québec et au Nouveau-Brunswick. Parmi les sources historiques utiles de cette collection, mentionnons des textes de lois, journaux de débats législatifs, proclamations, catéchismes et almanachs. Les textes originaux sont surtout en anglais avec quelques articles en français, en allemand et dans d'autres langues. Plusieurs articles de cette série ont aussi été reproduits dans le CIHM/ICMH microfiche series = CIHM/ICMH collection de microfiches." Includes some text in French and German.
OCLC: 18689477
Web: http://www.canadiana.org/eco.php?doc=microcoll
Title: Encyclopédie ou dictionnaire raisonné des sciences, des arts et des métiers.
Author: Diderot, Dennis
Imprint: Erlangen: Harald Fischer Verlag, 1996.
Description: 25,260 p.; 180 microfiches in cassette. [Mikrofiche-Ausg.].
Reproduction of the 35 vols. published in Paris 1751-1780. (Archiv der europäischen Lexikographie, Abt. 1: Enzyklopadien; 34).
ISBN: 3891312245 ; see also, Paris : Briasson [u.a.] ; ISBN: 9783891312247
OCLC: 75655951
Title: Encyclopédie méthodique 1782-1832
Author: Harald Fischer
Imprint: Erlangen: Harald Fischer Verlag, 2004
Description: 206 vols.,125,350 p., 6,300 tables on 1,516 microfiches.
Companion volume to the Microfiche Edition: Harald Fischer: Die Encyclopédie méthodique. Zum Inhalt und Aufbau des Werkes. 140 p.
ISBN: 3891314140.
Note: “Pankoucke was, from 1768 onwards, the official publisher of both the Imprimerie Royale and the Académie Royale des Sciences. At the end of the 18th Century with such important works as Journal des savants, Mercure de France, L'Année littéraire and a series of famous authors he became the dominant figure in French publishing….” (Harald Fisher Verlag catalog).
OCLC: 72094449
Title: Encyclopédie oeconomique, ou système général (I. d'oeconomie rustique, II. d'oeconomie domestique, III. d'oeconomie politique)
Author: Otmar Seemann, ed.
Imprint: Erlangen: Harald Fischer Verlag, 1994.
Description: 35 microfiche; 12 x 17 x 4 cm.
(Archiv der europäischen Lexikographie. Abt. 1, Enzyklopädien ; 27; Variation: Archiv der europäischen Lexikographie / 1; 27).
Note: Publisher varies.
OCLC: 23949631, 75514135
Title: Encyclopédie moderne: Dictionnaire abrégé des sciences, des lettres, des arts, de l'industrie, de l'agriculture et du commerce
Author: Léon Renier, ed.
Imprint: Erlangen : Harald Fischer Verlag, 1998
Description: 16,259 p. ; 638 tables ; 128 microfiches ; 24 cm.
Note: Also published in Paris : Firmin-Didot.
(Archiv der europäischen Lexikographie ; 40).
ISBN: 389131314; 3891313144; 9783891313145; National Library: 954367944.
OCLC: 76069217
Title: Louis Moreri: Le grand dictionaire historique
Imprint: Erlangen : Harald Fischer Verlag, 1998
Description: 50,248 p. ; 532 microfiches ; 24 cm.
Note: Original title, Le Grand dictionnaire [sic] historique, genealogique, geographique….
Multiple editors and editions : Lyon (1681), Utrecht (1692), Paris (1699), Paris (1718), Paris (1725), Basel( 1731-32), Amsterdam (1740), Paris (1759), Leipzig (1709), and Leipzig (1730-1732).
(Archiv der europäischen Lexikographie, Abt. 1 : Enzyklopädien; 44).
ISBN: 389131342
OCLC: 16052453; 7970086; 28068084.
Title: La Grande Encyclopédie, 1886-1902
Author: Dreyfus, Camille and André Berthelot
Imprint: Erlangen : Harald Fischer Verlag, 1992
Description: 406 [i.e. 407] microfiches : negative ; 13 x 17 x 26 cm.
(Archiv der europäischen Lexikographie. Abt. 1 : Enzyklopädien; 3)
Note: Original Paris, Lamirault, 1886 - 1902 edition consists of 31 vols.
ISBN: 3891310544 (microfiche) ; 9783891310540; National Library: 920493408.
OCLC: 38084179
Title: Ambassadorial and secret service reports on revolutionary and Napoleonic France, 1781-1815
Imprint: Brighton, Sussex, Eng.: Harvester Press, 1984-.
Description: 17 microfilm reels; 35 mm. + guide ([5] leaves; 28 cm.).
Note: Part 1, PRO class FO 27, vol. 1-20, 1781-1786 (17 reels). Includes a title list.
“British ambassadorial and secret service papers, focusing upon France, including the Versailles Treaty of 1783, the Eden-Vergennes "Free Trade" Treaty of 1786, the French bankruptcy of 1786 and the growing tension leading up to the outbreak of the Revolution.”
Also published in microfiche: Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation, c1985.
OCLC: 84982035, 14185221
Title: Ancien Regime in turmoil? Commerce, politics, and society in France, c. 1682-1793: the Gazette Manuscrite, 1775-1793 and related sources from the John Rylands University Library of Manchester
Imprint: Marlborough, Wiltshire, England: Adam Matthew Publications, 1991.
Contents: [1] Gazette manuscrite, 1775-1793, 10 vols.(Fr. mss. 42-51). Comprised of letters sent on a weekly basis from Paris to Rennes. Interleaved are letters from Brest, L'Orient, Nantes, St. Malo, Vannes, etc. [2] Comité Révolutionnaire (Fr. mss. 110). Émargement des membres du Comité Révolutionnaire des Sections de Paris, 1793. — [3] Révolution française (Fr. mss. 115). Dialogue patriotique. — [4] Mirabeau (Fr. mss. 116). 18 Satirical epitaphs. — [5] Pièces diverses (Fr. mss. 117). [6] Mélanges littéraires (Fr. mss. 76-86 and 111).
OCLC: 30478366
Title: Anti-Napoleon. Schriften. Fürstliche Bibliothek
Author: Rainer Schöwerling and Hartmut Steinecke, (compilers).
Imprint: Hildesheim: Hildesheim : Georg Olms Verlag, [1998]
Guide: UCLA French Collections
Description: 417 microfiche; 11 x 15 cm.
Note: Title on data sheet: “Anti-Napoleonische Pamphlete; politische Schriften aus den Freiheitskriegen 1813-1815; eine Microfiche-Edition aus den Fürstlichen Bibliothek Corvey.”
ISBN: 3487217740 (HBZ-ld. 3898655); 9783487217741 (HBZ-ld. 3898655); 3487217759 (HBZ-ld. 3942040); 9783487217758 (HBZ-ld. 3942040).
OCLC: 47768879
Title: Collection de docum[ents] s[ur] l'hist[oire]de la Révol[ution] française
Imprint: Zug, Switzerland: IDC, 1973
Description: 1835 [1820?] microfiche ; 9 x 13 cm.
Note: Reprints. Originally published under titles: Collection de documents inédits sur l'histoire économique de la Révolution française [1906-1952] ; Collection de documents relatifs à l'histoire de Paris pendant la Révolution française. 1906-1923[1883-1923?]. Issued in 51 containers. "690." Includes bibliographies and indexes. Various publishers, places, and dates of publication.
OCLC: 10149611, 24310440, 35685342, 54216019
Title: La condition ouvrière [en France]
Imprint: [Paris]: Microéditions Hachette, 1971
Catalogued by individual title. Series title varies.
Other title: Condition ouvrière en France au 19e siècle.
See, Perrot, Michele. Enquêtes sur la Condition Ouvrière en France au 19e Siècle. Paris: Microéditions Hachette, 1972.
Note: “The collection contains a vast amount of documentation about various economic and social aspects of 19th century working class life in France. Diverse viewpoints are included. There are some ideological works in the collection, but priority has been given to statistical and factual studies, including official government reports and private works of doctors, economists, statesmen and men of letters.”-- University of Toronto.
OCLC: 3857128, 3857128, and others.
Title: Despatches from United States ministers to France, 1789-1906
Author: United States. Dept. of State
Imprint: Washington: National Archives, 1940-1966?. National Archives Microfilm Publications, no. 34.
Description: 128 microfilm reels; 35 mm.
Washington: National Archives, 1940-1966?.
National Archives Microfilm Publications, no. 34.
Note: Microfilm publications-U.S. National Archives ;; M34; Record Group 59-U.S. National Archives, General Records of the Department of State ;; FM 34; Variation: National Archives microfilm publications ;; microcopy no. M 34; United States; National Archives.; Record Group 59. General records of the Dept. of State; FM34.
OCLC: 5096828, 27636206
Title: Documents diplomatiques français, 1871-1914
Imprint: Paris, Impr. nationale, 1929-1959
Description: 41 vols; 28 cm.
(Commission of Publication of the Documents Relating to the Origins of the War of 1914. French Diplomatic Documents).
Note: At head of title: Ministère des affaires étrangères./ Reproduction: Microfiche. Cleveland, Microphoto Division, Bell & Howell Co. [n. d.] 5 boxes of sheets. 10.5 x 15 cm. Also: Zug, Switzerland,/ Inter-Documentation,/ [19--]./ 558 microfiches in 14 cases ; 9 x 12 cm.
OCLC: 1570017, 1377484, 14160394
Title: The Dreyfus affair in the making of modern France; rare books and pamphlets from the Dreyfus Collection of the Harvard College Library
Author: M. Scott Lerner, ed.
Imprint: Woodbridge, Conn.: Research Publications, 1996.
Description: 53 microfilm reels; 35 mm. + 1 guide.
Note: Microfilm reproduction: Woodbrige, Conn.: Primary Source Media, 1995; 597 titles in 66 reels.
OCLC: 36236077, 38421024
Title: Les Enquêtes des préfets de l'empire
Author: Jean-Claude Perrot, présentées par
Imprint: Montrouge, France : Micróeditions Hachette, 1975.
Description: 435 [microfiche]cards; 11 x 15 cm.
(Sources statistiques de l'histoire de France)
Note: Title from accompaying guide (16, [1] p. ; 21 cm.)./ Reproduction: Microfiche. Reproduces ca. 30,000 pages of volumes of varying formats and titles housed in the Bibliothèque nationale, Paris.
OCLC: 3021450, 4045428
Title: European Women's Periodicals
Imprint: Woodbridge, CT: Research Publications, 1992-1999.
Guide: UCLA French Collections
Description: [114] microfilm reels; 35 mm. + guide[s].
Note: “Unit 2, Periodicals from France; (24 microfilm reels ; 35 mm. + 1 guide ([28] leaves ; 28 cm.). OCLC: 31084697.”
“Rare and important titles from the Internationaal Instituut voor Sociale Geschiedenis and the Interationaal Informatiecentrum en Archief voor de Vrouwenbeweging in Amsterdam. Introductory material and reel numbers in guide in English.”
OCLC: 61734013, 61741658, and others.
Title: France's forgotten legion: Service records of French military and administrative personnel stationed in the Mississippi Valley and Gulf Coast Region, 1699-1769
Author: Carl A. Brasseaux
Imprint: Baton Rouge: Louisiana State University Press, 2000.
Description: 1 computer laser disc; 3/4 in. + 1 introductory text (xvi, 103 p.; 19 cm.).
Note: "A CD-ROM publication." pt. 1. Governors and administrators — pt. 2. Military officers — pt. 3. Noncommissioned officers — pt. 4. Cadets — pt. 5. Enlisted men — pt. 6. Support personnel. Presents the career biographies of more than 7,000 men and women known to have served the French monarchy in colonial Louisiana. With data drawn from military, administrative, civil, judicial, and ecclesiastical sources, colonists from all walks of life are sketched: governors, laborers, midwives, interpreters, land surveyors, corporals, clerks, and surgeons. The CD-ROM also contains over thirty images, ranging from portraits to maps of towns and architectural drawings of fortifications.”
ISBN: 0807124834; 9780807124833
OCLC: 44862167
Title: French political pamphlets, 1547-1648
Author: Robert O. Lindsay
Imprint: New Haven : Research Publications, 1978-
Description: 62 microfilm reels; 35 mm.
Note: The target numbers in this project are based on the item numbers in: Lindsay, Robert O. and Neu, John, compilers. French political pamphlets, 1547-1648; a catalog of major collections in American libraries. Madison, University of Wisconson Press, 1969. Some pamphlets identified with the Lindsay-Neu numbers are not available. See also, French political pamphlets, 1560 thru 1653 from collections in the Newberry Library.
OCLC: 4080893, 5317617, 44045930, 7179523, 47435
Title: French Revolution research collection
Author: Colin Lucas, ed.
Imprint: [Oxford]: Pergamon Press, 1989-1995.
Description: Microfiche number varies: 26,000?
Contents: 12 volume Guide to the microfiche collection has call no. DC141.F63 1990 (RR3). Collection also includes Videodisk, Images of the French Revolution (RR3).
A comprehensive collection of source material for study of the French revolution, comprising approximately 1,145,000 pages.
Contents: Section 1, Newspapers: Newspapers reproduced include the full range of newspapers active during the 1790s, including many rarely seen issues. (Approximately 100,000 pages.) — Section 2, Memoirs and histories. Includes memoirs and histories by witnesses of the Revolution. (Approximately 167 titles, 100,000 pages.) — Section 3, Basic printed collections. Collected primary sources published in the 19th and early 20th century. (Approximately 150,000 pages.) — Section 4, Bibliographical and research tools. Includes all known catalogs, inventories, and bibliographies for French Revolution research. (Approximately 20,000 pages.) — Sections 5-12: Thematic collections of selected pamphlets and other documents published during the period of the French Revolution: Section 5, Pre-Revolutionary debate: Discourse on citizenship, rights, social organization, government and power during the 12 years prior to the Revolution. (Approximately 1,200 items, 30,000 pages.) — Section 6, Political themes: Local government, extra-parliamentary politics, political authors. Political thought and activity in the population at large; local authorities dealing with revolutionary legislation; writings of major political thinkers. (Approximately 160,000 pages.) — Section 7, Resistence [sic] to the Revolution: Materials reflecting anti-revolutionary sentiment among property owners and the poor. Much material originating in provinces. (Approximately 100,000 pages.) — Section 8, Religion: Sale of church lands; changing roles of the church under the Directory, emanicipation [sic] of Jews and Protestants. (Approximately 1,900 items, 100,000 pages.) — Section 9, The Reorganization of Society: Part 1: Abolition of the corporate society and feudalism. Part 2: The countryside. Part 3, Towns and townspeople. Part 4. Women and the family. Part 5, Public assistance. (Approximately 125,000 pages.) — Section 10, The Economy: Part 1: Policy, trade, and finance. Part 2: Agriculture. Part 3: Industry and technology. (Approximately 100,000 pages.) — Section 11, War and the Colonies: Part 1: The army and the navy: Structure, organization, composition, and tactics. Part 2: The collapse of the French colonies overseas. (Approximately 65,000 pages.) — Section 12, Culture: Revolutionary approach to music, theatre, poetry and fiction; calendar, festivals, and monuments; costume, and fashion; symbols, images, and allegories; and education. (Approximately 95,000 pages.) Collection also includes videodisk, Images of the French Revolution, presenting 38,000 color images representing the entire holdingsof the Bibliothèque Nationale's collection of Revolutionary iconography, including engravings, maps, medals, theatre designs, urban views, playing cards, cockades, coins, calendars, and caricactures.
Note: “Issued in conjunction with a collection of visual material on videodisc: Images de la Révolution Française (Videodisc 1).”
OCLC: 23119529, 24050392
Title: French revolutionary pamphlets
See also: Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature.
Imprint: Woodbridge, Conn.: Research Publications, 1976.
Catalogued by individual title.
OCLC: 22350517, 22377805, and others.
Title: French royal and administrative acts, 1256-1794
Author: Marcel Lipkowitz, comp.
Imprint: New Haven, Conn.: Research Publications, 1978.
Description: 59 microfilm reels; 35 mm.
Note: Consists of approximately 16,000 pamphlets offering a wealth of information on the financial and political administration of France from the late thirteenth century to the end of the monarchy, with about three-fourths concentrating on the eighteenth century. Includes Arrets (the final judgments of an edict of the king by Parlements or royal courts or councils), Memoires (official reminders), Lettre Patentes (which established privileges), Royal Ordonnances (in response to petitions), and Remonstrances and Extraits. The subject matter varies widely and includes such topics as fiscal matters in the Chambres des Comptes, taxation and tariffs, toll collections and disputes, military administration, criminal justice, book printing and prohibitions, significant people and guilds.
Indexed in: French royal and administrative acts, 1256-1794: a subject guide to the New York Public Library collection of 16,000 pamphlets now on microfilm / compiled by Marcel Lipkowitz.
OCLC: 44019644, 65985357
Title: Nouveau Recueil General de Traites
Author: Georg Friedrich von Martens
Imprint: Washington, D.C.: Microcard Editions, 1964.
2. sér. Originally published in 1876-1908.
Description: (35 vols. in) 215 microopaque; 8 x 13 cm.
Note: Tomes VIII-X, par Jules Hopf; t. XI-XXXV par Felix Stoerk./ There are three indexes in this set: no.10, covering v.1-10; v. 25, covering v. 1-25, and in v. 35, covering v. 1-35./ Reproduction: Microopaque/ Washington, D.C. :/ Microcard Editions,/ 1964./215 microopaques; 8 x 13 cm.
OCLC: 10962605
Title: Records of the Department of State Relating to Internal Affairs of France, 1910-1929
Imprint: Washington [D.C.]: National Archives and Records Service, 1964.
Continued by: Records of the Department of State relating to internal affairs of France, 1930-1939 (89 microfilm reels) published by Washington [D.C.]: National Archives and Records Administration, 1986.
OCLC: 2490191, 35981732
Title: Recueil des historiens des Gaules et de la France
Author: Martin Bouquet and Léopold Delisle
Imprint: Washington, D.C.: Microcard Editions, 1966
Description: 356 microfiche; 11 x 15 cm.
Originally published: Paris, Aux dépens des librairies associés, 1738-1904.
Note: Half title: Rerum Gallicarum et Francicarum scriptores./ Edited by M. Bouquet, et al. Introductory material in French and Latin, texts primarily in Latin. Vols. 15, 20-24 [print version] are of different edition, published by Imprimerie Impériale, Imprimerie Royale and Imprimerie Nationale. Includes bibliographical references and indexes.
OCLC: 18571556, 11464239
Title: The World of Port-Royal. Jansenism in the Catholic Church, 17th-18th centuries. "Port-royal et ses adhérents."
Author: J. Bruggeman & Adrianus Johannes van de Ven
Imprint: [Utrecht]: Utrecht Archives/Old Catholic Church of the Netherlands; Lisse, the Netherlands: MMF Publications, 1998.
Guide: UCLA French Collections
Description: 511 microfiche ; 11 x 15 cm. + 1 guide & concordance.
Note: Guide reprints in part: Inventaire des pièces d'archives françaises se rapportant à l'abbaye de Port-Royal des Champs et son cercle et à la résistance contre la bulle Unigenitus et à l'appel (ancien fonds d'Amersfoort) / J. Bruggeman, A.J. van de Ven. La Haye: M. Nijhoff, 1972./ Concordance of inventory numbers and microfiche numbers at end of guide.
OCLC: 38948329, 47221489
Title: Fin-de-siècle symbolists and avant-garde periodicals (Series title)
Imprint: New Haven, Conn.: Research Publications, 1973; Woodbridge, Ct ; Reading, England : Research Publications, 1987.
Description: 230 [microfilm reels]; 35 mm.
Catalogued by periodical title. Also published under title Chime`re by Montpellier : Imp. Gustave Firmin et Montane, 1981-1893, and others.
OCLC: 6516366 and others.
Title: French books before 1601 (series title)
Imprint: Cambridge, Mass.: General Microfilm Co., 19--
Description: [microfilm reels]; 35 cm.
Catalogued by individual title.
See, A Guide to French Books Before 1601 and A Guide to French Books, 1601-1700; Goldsmith, Valentine F. A Short Title Catalogue of French Books, 1601-1700 in the Library of the British Museum; and, British Museum. Department of Printed Books. Short title catalogue of books Printed in France and of French Books Printed in Other Countries from 1470-1600 in the British Museum. Note: Comprehensive collection of books printed in any language in France (mainly French and Latin), and books in French printed outside of France. Also published by Louisville, Ky.: Erasmus Press, 1966. Continued by: French books, 1601-1700.
OCLC: 5222688
Title: French books, 1601-1700
Imprint: Watertown, Mass. : General Microfilm Company, [New York, NY : Norman Ross Pub.]
Description: 231 microfilm reels ; 35 mm.
Notes: Based on V.F. Goldsmith's A short title catalog of French books, 1601-1700, and supplemented by other 17th century French books.
OCLC: 44952287
Title: French drama (A comprehensive collection of French plays of the 17th, 18th, and 19th centuries)
Imprint: Louisville, Ky.: Falls City Microcards, 1957-
Description: [?] microfiche; 11 X 15 cm.
Catalogued by individual title.
Note: Title from bibliography. The series was begun on micro-opaque under the title: Three centuries of French drama. Items published before 1967 are listed in A bibliography of French plays on microcards by Lawrence S. Thompson; also, Brenner, Clarence D., A Bibliographical list of plays in the French language, 1700-1789.
OCLC: 18288178
Title: The French-language medieval manuscripts in the Koninklijke Bibliotheek (National Library of Netherlands), The Hague
Author: compiled by Edith Brayer with a catalog an introduction by Anne Sophia Korteweg
Imprint: Amsterdam: Moran Micropublications, 2006.
Description: 58 [microfilm] reels; 35mm.
Note: 118 manuscripts and four collections of fragments. Guide in English by Anne S. Korteweg. “…The basis of the library, the book collection of the former stadholders, contained a large number of medieval manuscripts in French from the southern Netherlands and France….
Title on guide:; Guide to the Catalogue of the French-language medieval manuscripts in the Koninklijke Bibliotheek and Meermanno-Westreenianum Museum, the Hague on microfiche. At fiche header; IRHT catalogue of French-language medieval manuscripts.
OCLC: 65794127, 55133614
Title: Histoire Littéraire de la France: Ouvrage Commencé par des Religieux Benedictins de la Congregation de Saint Maur, et Continué par des Membres de l'Institut
Author: Antoine Rivet de la Grange et al.
Imprint: Washington, D.C.: Microcard Editions, 1963-
Description: 16 [microfilm] reels; 35 mm.
Note: “This detailed history of French literature begins with the earliest period and continues into the fourteenth century. It includes some articles about literary forms, subjects and movements, but consists primarily of biographical and critical articles about individual authors, many of whom are not treated in other histories.” Volumes 1-32 (1733-1898) [print version]. Originally published: Paris: Imprimerie nationale, 1733-1900s.
Title and imprint vary.
OCLC: 5386572, 7228889
Title: Nicolas de Bonneville et le Cercle social, 1787-1800
Author: François Furet
Imprint: Paris: Microéditions Hachette, 1976.
Description: 201 microfiches + guide (7 p.; 21 cm.).
Note: Collection consists of 9 journals and periodicals published by the Cercle social, 9 titles by Bonneville, and 30 related titles. Title from printed guide. Guide also available online. Reproduction: Microfiche (negative).
OCLC: 3754734
Title: Ouvrages sur Voltaire, 1788-1826
Author: [J. Vercruysse, éditeur]
Imprint: [Paris] : Microéditions Hachette, 1978
Description: 151 fiches, + 1 guide ([8] p. ; 21 cm.)
Series - Microéditions Hachette ; 8579-8593, 8600-8603, 8605-8607, 8609-8641
OCLC: 16765228
Title: Sélection de revues et journaux littéraires des XIXe et XXe siècles
Imprint: Paris : Association pour la conservation et la reproduction photographique de la presse, 1965-1979
Description: 54 microfilm reels, 35mm.
Note(s): Periodicals for microfilming selected on the basis of: Bibliographie des revues et journaux littéraires des XIXe et XXe siècles / Jean-Michel Place et André Vasseur.
OCLC: 71806914
Title: Three Centuries of French Drama [1600-1899].
Imprint: Lexington, Ky., Falls City Microform, 1972
Description: 24,307 cards and 2,088 fiche
Note: The collection consists of 14,000 French plays including partial and complete works, school texts, stage adaptations, translations, and poems and prose pieces, spanning the 17th to the 19th century. The majority of the titles included in this collection are housed in the University of Kentucky Library and the Library of Congress.
OCLC: 78124741, 65820447
Title: Utopies au siècle de lumières (Series title)
Imprint: Paris: Microéditions Hachette, 1972.
Description: 260 [microfiche] sheets ; 11 x 15 cm. with accompanying guide.
Catalogued by individual title.
See also, Utopies au siècle de lumières: étude et bibliographie/ Albert Soboul.
OCLC: 6717744
Title: D'Holbach et ses amis, 1760-1789
Imprint: Paris : Microéditions Hachette, 1980; New York : distributed by Clearwater Publication Co.
Description: 394 [microfiche] sheets; 11 x 15 cm.
Note: The set includes original editions of French materials and anticlerical writings from 1760-1789, collected in honor of the 250th anniversary of the birth of D'Holbach. Indexed in Jerome Vercruysse's D'Holbach et ses amis.
OCLC: 7081109
Title: Le Rousseauisme
Author: Roger Barny
Imprint: Paris : Microeditions Hachette, 1976.
Description: 87 microfiche ; guide (5 p.; 21 cm.).
Note: A collection of 35 titles written about Rousseau, his works, and the principles underlying the French Revolution. Title from printed guide.
OCLC: 3436950
Title: The Catholic Reformation, including French diocesan catechisms, 1615-1900 (Series)
Imprint: Leiden, The Netherlands: Inter Documentation, 1987-
Description: 1,134 microfiche.
Note: Catalogued by individual title. Includes printed guide.
Series varies: Catholic Reformation including French diocesan catechisms, 1615-1900, on microfiche.; A,; Catholic Reformation ; CA-124/1 et al.
OCLC: 29677745, 29672829
Title: Freemasonry and antimasonry (series title)
Imprint: Leiden: IDC Publishers, 19-
Description: 725 microfiche; 17 cm.
Catalogued by individual [208] title[s].
NOTE: “Freemasonry and antimasonry : sources from the Fonds Valentin Brifaut, Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium IDC2126.
OCLC: 47671215
Title: Reformed Protestantism : sources of the 16th and 17th centuries on microfiche.
Imprint: Zug, Switzerland : Inter Documentation Co., 1980-
Description: 9,948 fiche
Note: Part 2: Strasbourg/France – 127 titles on 1,309 fiche.
Reformation -- Europe -- Sources -- Catalogs
OCLC: 19222458
Title: French Exploration of Africa
Imprint: Paris: Microéditions Hachette, 1972
Description: 165 microfiches; 11 x 15 cm.
Note: Rare books on the French exploration of Africa, 1637-1802. Texts are in French. Catalogued by author.
OCLC: 38076455, 156194649, 29500944
Title: Goldsmiths'-Kress library of economic literature (Series title).
Description: 2,885 microfilm reels.
Catalogued by individual title.
Note: “Collection of about 59,000 titles, including not only works on economic theory, trade and commerce, and public finance, but also the technical literature on agriculture, mining, crafts and manufacturing. Also included are materials on topics such as slavery, public utilities, demography and urban development, piracy, smuggling, tithes, counterfeiting and numismatics, poverty and welfare, penology, emigration, dietary conditions, colonies, and every aspect of transportation. Languages represented include Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Spanish, and Swedish.”
Guide: Woodbridge, Conn.: Research Publications; ISBN: 0892350776 (set) 9780892350773 (set).
OCLC: 20883193 and others.
Title: Sorciers, démonologues, magistrats, théologiens et médicins aux XVIè et XVIIè siècles
Author: Robert Mandrou, ed.
Imprint: Paris : Microéditions Hachette, 1975.; New York: Distributed in the U.S.A. by Norman Ross Publ. Co.
Description: 159 [microfiche]: ill. ; 11 x 15 cm. + guide (12 p.; 21 cm.).
Note: A collection of 99 texts written from 1569 to 1738. Distributed in the U.S. under title: The strange and terrible loves of a devil.
OCLC: 27699886
Title: Les Femmes: Rare works from France on microfiche from the Bibliothèque nationale
Imprint: Paris: Microéditions Hachette, 197-?
Description: 408 microfiche; [19 cm.]
Note: “This collection consists of 129 titles by and about women held by the Bibliothèque Nationale de France dating from the seventeenth to the twentieth century. Items are individually cataloged” (University of Maryland).
Some titles in microfilm.
OCLC: 21251897
