LibGuides: Italian Studies: Digital Collections, Digital Libraries, & Digital Humanities

Digital Collections

Italian Library (Biblioteca italiana - Sapienza Università di Roma)
Digital library of texts representative of the Italian cultural and literary tradition from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century.
National Institute of Renaissance Studies -- Virtual Library (BIVIO: Biblioteca Virtuale On-Line)
Renaissance texts, including translations and images (requires registration).
The ideal library of Giordano Bruno (La biblioteca ideale di Giordano Bruno)
Part of the National Institute of Renaissance Studies. Giordano Bruno's opus and texts from his own library (requires registration).
Digital Rare Books
Part of the National Institute for Renaissance Studies (requires registration).
Computerized Catalogue of European Cultural Periodicals (C.I.R.C.E. - Catalogo Informatico Riviste Culturali Europee)
European cultural periodicals from 20th century, including Italian futurist journals.
Institute for the European Intellectual Lexicon and History of Ideas (Risorse digitali Istituto per il Lessico Intellettuale Europeo e Storia delle Idee)
Collection of philosophical texts, including the complete works of Giambattista Vico. Site known under acronym: ILIESI.
IntraText
Full-text Digital Library offering books and corpora as lexical hypertexts on Creative Commons License; for example religious, philosophical and literary texts and corpora in Italian language.
National Archive System: Portals and Thematic Sites (Portali e siti tematici - Sistema Archivistico Nazionale)
Thematic guides to fonds and digital documents, developed by the Central Institute for Archives.

Digital Libraries

Cultural Internet -- catalogs and digital collections of Italian libraries (La Biblioteca digitale italiana -- Internet Culturale)
Aggregator of digital repositories from various regional libraries, archives, museums, research institutes, etc.

Digital Humanities

Association for Humanistic Informatics and Digital Culture Projects (Associazione per l’Informatica Umanistica e la Cultura Digitale)
List of Digital Humanities projects in and/or about Italy, maintained by the Association for Humanistic Informatics and Digital Culture (AIUCD).