European Studies

Access to information on archival material from different European countries as well as information on archival institutions throughout the continent

Index of scholarly websites that offer online access to digitized primary sources on the history of Europe.

An electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification in the 20th and 21st century. AEIPlus simultaneously searches both the AEI and European Research Papers Archive. Hosted by the University Library System, University of Pittsburgh.

Full-text historical documents relating to law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy, and government, with links to supporting documents. The site may be searched by keyword or browsed by category, including by time period. Its focus is primarily American and governmental, but it also contains documents of interest to Europeanists, for instance on Franco-American and Spanish-American diplomacy, Nazi-Soviet relations, and the Nuremberg Trials.

Find US government hearings and reports, CSCE digest, speeches and statements, articles on CSCE.

Links to primary source documents - transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated - arranged chronologically under each country. Maintained by Richard Hacken, Brigham Young University

Keyword search and full text of EU law, treaties, Bulletin, and documents related to the EU parliament and council

Primary source materials on European history and culture

Offers access to primary source texts for educational purposes broken down into ancient, medieval, modern, and subject history sourcebooks. Edited by Paul Halsall, Fordem University.

This site makes available full digital texts of 253 Renaissance festival books from the British Library's collections. The texts cover the period 1475 to 1700 and record every form of festival, from coronations and stately entries to the marriages and funerals of notable European royals and nobles.

European newspapers from 20 countries, dating from 1618 to 1996

Links to selected maps digitized from the collection of the Perry-Castañeda Library
Map Collection, University of Texas.

Selected links to historical maps of Europe.

From Rutgers University, "its aim is to provide scholars with an expanding library of information in electronic format on the medieval and early modern periods of European history, circa 800-1815 C.E."

Financial statistics in the Euro zone includes historical data.

Provides statistics from recent decades on European nations related to demographic, social, economic, and industrial issues.

Provides a range of statistical data from European nation members which comprise most of the OECD member nations. Data coverage various over several decades.

Data from recent decades for EU nations related to economic, demographic, and social issues.

"Since 1958 the Society has furthered scholarly discussion and activities in the fields of German, Habsburg and Central European history." Journal: Central European History

"promote the comprehensive study of the histories of the peoples of Eastern Europe, including Russia, as well as to further the development of effective contacts and collaboration between scholars specializing in the region." Journal: East European History

Promotes "European research and training in economic history." Journal: European Review of Economic History

Offers links to societies in several European countries.

FEEFHS is "an international organization to promote genealogical research in Eastern and Central Europe without any ethnic, religious, or social distinctions." Journal: FEEFHS Quarterly

"The Medieval Academy supports research, publication, and teaching in medieval art, archaeology, history, law, literature, music, philosophy, religion, science, social and economic institutions, and all other aspects of the Middle Ages." Journal: Speculum

"The European Historical Population Samples Network (EHPS-Net) brings together scholars to create a common format for databases containing non-aggregated information on persons, families and households." Journal: Historical Life Course Studies

The RSA is an "international academic society devoted to the study of the era 1300–1700." Journal: Renaissance Quarterly

Explore categories for H-net groups of interest in European history. Many topics include European network groups.