Skip to Main Content

Southern Food Culture & Politics

A pathfinder to accompany the ANSS-PPIRS program at ALA New Orleans 2018.

Program Introduction

Panelists representing diverse perspectives will discuss political and cultural issues related to food policy and preservation of knowledge about food in the south. They include a founder of a museum focused on southern food and beverages and an archivist who oversees a culinary collection that documents the influence of women and the diverse cultural heritage of the region’s culinary history.

As John Egerton wrote in his book Southern Food, “Within the South itself, no other form of cultural expression, not even music, is as distinctly characteristic of the region as the spreading of a feast of native food and drink before a gathering of kin and friends. For as long as there has been a South, and people who think of themselves as Southerners, food has been central to the region’s image.” Our program will delve into political and cultural issues as they relate to the celebration of the food, drink and the related culture of the South and features two panelists. Liz Williams is a founder of the Southern Food and Beverage Museum and President of the National Food and Beverage Foundation who researches and writes about legal and policy issues related to food and foodways. Susan Tucker recently retired as the Curator of Books and Records for the Newcomb Archives and Vorhoff Library at Tulane University which has approximately 300 unique collections, many of which document the history of women and gender in the Gulf South including culinary history. Southern food culture will be discussed and participants will understand how librarians and archivists can play a part in preserving food culture anywhere in the world.

Date & Time:
Saturday June 23, 2018, 1:00 - 2:00pm
Morial Convention Center Room 213

Panel Sponsors

This panel is sponsored by the following groups:

Panel Guide Contributors

This guide was created with the help of the following committee members:

ANSS Conference Program Planning Committee, New Orleans 2018

  • Ilka Datig (co-chair)
  • Susan Smith (co-chair)
  • Hilary Collins Bussell
  • Quinn Galbraith
  • Maureen Diana Sasso
  • Megan R. Griffin (staff liaison)

PPIRS Conference Program Planning Committee, New Orleans 2018

  • Earl R. Shumaker (co-chair)
  • Eric M. Wedig (co-chair)
  • Erin Ackerman
  • Kevin William Baggett
  • Brian E. Coutts
  • Elizabeth Lynn White
  • David Schwieder (Ex-Officio member)
  • Megan R. Griffin (staff liaison)