Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health and Medicine
Pan American Health Organization
Works with countries throughout the region to improve and protect people's health. PAHO engages in technical cooperation with its member countries to fight communicable and noncommunicable diseases and their causes, to strengthen health systems, and to respond to emergencies and disasters.
World Health Organization (WHO)
Primary role is to direct and coordinate international health within the United Nations system.
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
USDA's vision is to provide economic opportunity through innovation, helping rural America to thrive; to promote agriculture production that better nourishes Americans while also helping feed others throughout the world; and to preserve our Nation's natural resources through conservation, restored forests, improved watersheds, and healthy private working lands.
National Agricultural Library
USDA’s Library includes links to sources such as ARGRICOLA and PubAg
PLANTS National Database
The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITIS)
Provides authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
Genome Programs of the U.S. Department of Energy
DOE's Genomics:GTL program will use the new genomic data and high-throughput technologies for studying the proteins encoded by microbial and plant genomes.
NOAA Scientific Publications Office
Includes a digital archive of all publications produced in their core publication series, as well as some discontinued series and special publications.
USGS Science Explorer
Includes topics such as biology and ecosystems and environmental health.