LibGuides: Medieval and Renaissance Studies: Electronic Texts and Images--Free Sites (selected)

Medieval Electronic Texts & Images

Christian Classics Ethereal Library The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP) The Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP) is a searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy - the Commedia.
Electronic European literature collections WESS Web: Electronic European literature collections
Eurodocs - History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents EuroDocs: History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents
Europeana Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
Internet Medieval Sourcebook Welcome to The Internet History Sourcebooks Project, a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses. From the outset the site took a very broad view of the sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. You will also find many documents especially relevant to women's history and LGBT studies.
more...less...
The Internet Medieval Sourcebook is organized as three main index pages, with a number of supplementary indices. Each individual section is still large - an organizational goal here is to avoid incessant "clicking" to get between pages and to information.

Selected Sources
This is the main entry to the resources here. It consists of an links to an organized "index of selected and excerpted texts for teaching purposes." For teachers who wish to refer students to the Sourcebook, this page is the best starting point.
Full Text Sources
Full texts of medieval sources arranged according to type.
Saints' Lives
Devoted to Ancient, Medieval and Byzantine hagiographical sources.
Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO) The Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO) is a joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas. Its task is to make available to users the best scholarship about the peoples and nations of the Iberian peninsula. Consequently, the book list is principally drawn from recent, but out-of-print university press monographs. In addition, the collection includes a number of basic texts and sources in translation. These are presented in full-text format and reproduce all the matter included in the original print version. The collection focuses upon peninsular history from the fifth to the seventeenth centuries.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century, Restoration
Medieval & Classical Literature Library The Medieval and Classical Literature Library is a collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization.
Monumenta Germaniae Historica Digitized (browsable) version of a massive collection of sources for the study of German history from the end of the Roman Empire to 1500. In progress.
Princeton Charrette Project The Princeton Charrette Project is a complex, scholarly, multi-media electronic archive containing a medieval manuscript tradition—that of Chrétien de Troyes's Le Chevalier de la Charrette (Lancelot, ca. 1180).
TEAMS - Middle English Texts The TEAMS Middle English Texts Series (METS) is published for TEAMS (The Consortium for the Teaching of the Middle Ages) in association with the University of Rochester by Medieval Institute Publications, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, Michigan. The goal of the TEAMS Middle English Texts Series is to make available to teachers and students texts which occupy an important place in the literary and cultural canon but which have not been readily available in student editions. The focus is upon literature adjacent to that normally in print, which teachers need in compiling the syllabi they wish to teach. The editions maintain the linguistic integrity of the original works but within the parameters of modern reading conventions.
Voice of the Shuttle : Anglo-Saxon & Medieval

Renaissance Electronic Texts & Images

An Analytic Bibliography of On-Line Neo-Latin Texts An analytic bibliography of Latin texts written during the Renaissance and later that are freely available to the general public on the Web (texts posted in access-restricted sites, and Web sites offering electronic texts and digitized photograpic reproductions for sale are not included).
CAMENA - Latin Texts of Early Modern Europe Our successive projects are dedicated to building a digital library of the humanistic Respublica Litterarum. We now offer five collections as well as a growing data base (EVRECA) that contains words and names (with additional morphological and lexical data) linked to general and special dictionaries or encyclopedias of our digital library.
Catasto of 1427 online The Online Catasto is a World Wide Web searchable database of tax information for the city of Florence in 1427-29 (c. 10,000 records). It is based on David Herlihy and Christiane Klapisch-Zuber, Principal Investigators, Census and Property Survey of Florentine Dominions in the Province of Tuscany, 1427-1480.
Christian Classics Ethereal Library The Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education.
The Digital Michelangelo Project: 3D Scanning of Large Statues A computer rendering made from a 3D model of Michelangelo's David. The model was built by scanning the statue using a laser triangulation rangefinder and assembling the resulting range images to form a seamless polygon mesh. The mesh contains 8 million polygons, each about 2.0 mm in size.
Early Modern Texts On this site you will find versions of some classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.
Eurodocs - History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents EuroDocs: History of Medieval and Renaissance Europe: Primary Documents
Europeana Europeana provides access to millions of books, music, artworks and more – with sophisticated search and filter tools to help you find what you’re looking for.
Electronic European literature collections WESS Web: Electronic European literature collections
Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO) The Library of Iberian Resources Online (LIBRO) is a joint project of the American Academy of Research Historians of Medieval Spain and the University of Central Arkansas. Its task is to make available to users the best scholarship about the peoples and nations of the Iberian peninsula. Consequently, the book list is principally drawn from recent, but out-of-print university press monographs. In addition, the collection includes a number of basic texts and sources in translation. These are presented in full-text format and reproduce all the matter included in the original print version. The collection focuses upon peninsular history from the fifth to the seventeenth centuries.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature Medieval, Renaissance, 17th Century, Restoration
Plague and Public Health in Renaissance Europe This project involves the creation of a hypertext archive of narratives, medical consilia, governmental records, religious and spiritual writings and images documenting the arrival, impact and response to the problem of epidemic disease in Western Europe between 1348 and 1530. When completed researchers will be able to follow themes and issues geographically across Europe in any given time period or chronologically from the first cases of bubonic plague in 1348 to the early sixteenth century.