Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

German-Language Newspaper Access in North America

Index to German-language newspaper access in North America is a project of the Collection Development Working Group of the Center for Research Libraries' German-North American Resources Partnership (GNARP) in cooperation with the European Studies Section

Nauen (Germany)

Osthavelländisches Kreisblatt

Staatsbibliothek zu Berlin (1849-1859, 1890-1892) Onlineicon.gif

Neustettin (Poland)

Newark (New Jersey, USA)

New Jersey deutsche Zeitung

Rutgers University (Apr. 12, 1880 - June 30, 1898) - Not loanable Filmicon.gif

New Jersey freie Zeitung

Rutgers University (1880-May 31, 1930, with gaps) - Not loanable Filmicon.gif

New Braunfels (Texas, USA)

Neu-Braunfelser Zeitung

Rice University (1912, 1914-1915, 1917-1918,1924-1930, 1932-1936, 1939-1940) Papericon.png
Rice University (v.85 (1936/1937)-v.86:no.15 (1937:Dec. 16), v.86:no.17 (1937:Dec. 30)-v.86:no.50 (1938:Aug. 18)) - restricted, not for loan Papericon.png
Harvard University Library (1852-1941) Filmicon.gif

The Portal to Texas History(1852-1853)

The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas (Nov 12, 1852-Nov 18, 1853) Filmicon.gif
The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas (Jan 2, 1930-Dec 25, 1941) Filmicon.gif
The Dolph Briscoe Center for American History at the University of Texas (Dec 16, 1853-Dec 31, 1953) Papericon.png

New Orleans (Louisiana, USA)

Deutsche Zeitung *

Google News Archives (1 June 1853 - 31 July 1885, gaps; 388 issues) Onlineicon.gif

Die Deutsche Zeitung *

Google News Archives (21 Aug. 1849 - 31 May 1853, gaps; 1,143 issues) Onlineicon.gif

Die Tägliche Deutsche Zeitung *

Google News Archives (10 May 1845 - 1 Dec. 1857, gaps; 1,023 issues) Onlineicon.gif

New Orleanser Deutsche Zeitung *

Google News Archives (27 Apr. 1876 - 30 Dec. 1906, gaps; 4,161 issues) Onlineicon.gif

New-Orleans Tägliche Deutsche Zeitung *

Google News Archives (1 Jan. 1873 - 21 Aug. 1878, gaps; 886 issues) Onlineicon.gif

Tägliche Deutsche Zeitung *

Google News Archives (1 Dec. 1837 - 31 Oct. 1889, gaps; 4,996 issues) Onlineicon.gif


*NOTE: These appear to be continuations of the same paper, and there is some overlap among them.

New Ulm (Minnesota, USA)

Die Neue Zeit

University of Minnesota (1926-1932) Papericon.png

New York City (New York, USA)

Amerikanische Schweizer Zeitung

Center for Research Libraries (Oct. 1936-May 2, 1973)Papericon.png

Amerikanischer Botschafter

Harvard University Library (Bd.12:no.12,1858.) Filmicon.gif

Aufbau

Deutsche Nationalbibliothek -Exilpresse (1934-1950) Onlineicon.gif
Leo Baeck Institute Library (1934-2004) Onlineicon.gifPapericon.pngFilmicon.gif
 
Northwestern University Library (1934-1999) Filmicon.gif

Aufbau : Nachrichtenblatt des German-Jewish Club

Center for Research Libraries (1934-1982) Papericon.png Filmicon.gif
Harvard University Library (1934:Oct- 1946:Jul)(v.8-18:no.1-52;1942-1952, gaps)(Jahrg.71-75:no. 1-12; 2006-2009) Papericon.png Filmicon.gif

Austria

Center for Research Libraries (Nov. 1944-Nov. 1952; Nov. 1954-July 1963) Papericon.png

Austro American Tribune

Harvard University Library (v.2(1943/1944)-v.7(1948/1949) gaps) Filmicon.gif

Das Neue Deutschland

Yale University Library nr.1(1933:Aug.)-nr.8(1933:Dez.) Papericon.png

Deutsch-Amerika (weekly supplement to New Yorker Staats-Zeitung; includes New-Yorker Kriegs-Album, Feb. 27 - Dec. 25, 1915)

Yale University Library  (1916/1917-1928/1929)Papericon.png

Deutschamerikanische Monatsschrift : German American Monthly (hg. Otto Lohr)

HathiTrust Digital Library  (1. Jg., Heft 1-3; October - December 1916)Onlineicon.gif

S. Zickel's Deutsch-Amerikanische Volks-Bibliothek

HathiTrust Digital Library  (1880) Onlineicon.gif

Deutsch-Amerikanischer Familien-Schatz

Newberry Library (1879?)Papericon.png

Deutsche Monats-Hefte (continuation of: Meyer's Monats-Hefte)

University of Cincinnati (1856) Papericon.png

Deutsche Schnellpost

New York Public library  (Nov.3, 1847 - April 19, 1848-1851, with gaps) Filmicon.gif

Der Deutsche Vorkämpfer

HathiTrust Digital Library (1908-1910)Onlineicon.gif

Deutscher Weckruf und Beobachter

Online CRL (Sept 29-Nov 24, 1938)Onlineicon.gif
Center for Research Libraries (July 5, 1935-Sept. 22, 1938) Filmicon.gif
Harvard University Library (June 27, 1940-Nov. 27, 1941:[Gaps) Papericon.png Filmicon.gif

Deutsches Journal

Center for Research Libraries (1913-1917) Papericon.png

Deutsche Zeitung

Yale University Library no.1(1934:Jan.4)-no.46(1934:Nov.24) Papericon.png

Die Brücke

Yale University Library nr.1(1933:Juli)-nr.2(1933:Aug.) Papericon.png

Forum und Tribüne

Harvard University Library (v.7:no.2-10:1948-1949) Papericon.png

Frank Leslie's illustrirte Zeitung

BYU library - on site use only [1860-1881] Papericon.png
University of Colorado at Boulder (Bd.15 (1864) - Bd.19 (1867) Papericon.pngLib use only
Wisconsin Historical Society (University of Wisconsin-Madison) (1858-1859,1875-1900)Papericon.png
Center for Research Libraries (Jan. 1, 1877-June 22, 1878) )Papericon.png
Brown Univesity Library or University of Cinnecanti hold this title, too. 

Der Freidenker: Monatsschrift für Volksaufklärung, Religion, Wissenschaft und Kunst (hg. Friedrich Leiss)

Wisconsin Historical Society (University of Wisconsin-Madison) (Jahrg. 1-3, March 1871-October 1873) Papericon.png

Freiheit für Österreich

Harvard University Library (v.1:1942-1943) Papericon.png

The German American

Yale University Library v.5(19 /1947) have no. 17-18,20-24, v.6(1947/1948)-v.7(1948/1949) Papericon.png

Meyers's Monats-Hefte (continues as: Deutsche Monats-Hefte)

Wisconsin Historical Society (University of Wisconsin-Madison) (Bd. 1-6; June 1853 - Dec. 1855) Papericon.png

Neue Volks-Zeitung

Center for Research Libraries (May 26, 1934-Aug. 6, 1949) Papericon.png

New Yorker deutsches Journal

Center for Research Libraries (Nov. 19, 1917-Apr. 21, 1918) Papericon.png

New Yorker Echo

New York Public Library (1902-1903, 1905, 1907-1908) Papericon.png

New-Yorker Illustrirte Zeitung & Familienblätter

Harvard University Library (Jahrg.5:Nr.193:1864) Filmicon.gif

New-yorker Handels-Zeitung

Harvard University Library (no.2804:1902:Juni 21) Filmicon.gif

New Yorker Staats-Zeitung

Center for Research Libraries (Sept 2, 1908-Sept 1910; Jan-Nov 1911; Aug 27, 1917-1918; Dec 1918-Sept 1921) Filmicon.gif Papericon.png
Center for Research Libraries (1991-current) Filmicon.gif

S. Zickel's Novellenschatz = Novellen-Schatz

Yale University Library  (Jahrg.11:Lfg.2(1870)-Jahrg.13:Lfg.2(1872), -- Jahrg.15(1874), -- Jahrg.17(1876)-Jahrg.24(1883), -- Jahrg.26(1885) Papericon.png

Der Pionier

Harvard University Library (1874-77) Papericon.png

Puck : illustrirtes humoristisches Wochenblatt

HathiTrust Digital Library  (Jahrg. 10-22, 16 Sept. 1885 - 3 Aug. 1898) Onlineicon.gif
Yale University Library (Jahrg.1:no.1(1876:Sept.)-Jahrg.2:no.104(1878:Sept.18), -- Jahrg.6:no.261(1881:Sept.21)-Jahrg.6:no.468(1885:Sept.9), -- Jahrg.13:no.625(1888:Sept.12)-Jahrg.14:no.697(1890:Jan.29)Papericon.png
 
Vorwärts
Center for Research Libraries (June 1897-1932) Filmicon.gif
Yale University Library, Jahrg.2(1893/1894) have no.3-35,37-52 Papericon.png

Wochenblatt der New-Yorker Staats-Zeitung

Center for Research Libraries (1870-1893; Sept. 1908-Sept. 1910; Jan.-Nov. 1911) Filmicon.gif

Nürnberg (Germany)

Nuremberg (Germany)

Bayerische Staatsbibliothek digiPress: Allgemeine bayrische Hopfen-Zeitung, Allgemeine Hopfen-Zeitung, Allgemeines Intelligenz-Blatt der Stadt Nürnberg, Bamberger Volksblatt, Bayerische Lehrerzeitung and more newspapers. You can find it alphabetically or by city.

Bar Kochba Blätter

Leo Baeck Institute (Jg. 1-2: 1927-1929) Papericon.pngOnlineicon.gifFilmicon.gif

Bayerisches Brauer-Journal

Bayerische Staatsbibliothek digiPress (17 Jan. 1891 - 29 Dec. 1919, gaps) Onlineicon.gif

Blätter für das Volk zunächst in Bayern

Bayerische Staatsbibliothek digiPress (1848, gaps) Onlineicon.gif

Fränkische Tageszeitung

Center for Research Libraries (June 1933-Feb. 11, 1941) Filmicon.gif

Der freie Staatsbürger

Bayerische Staatsbibliothek digiPress (1848) - (1849) (1850) Onlineicon.gif

Nürnberger Nachrichten

Center for Research Libraries (1945-1947) Papericon.png

Nürnberger Tagblatt

Bayerische Staatsbibliothek digiPress (1 July 1848 - 30 March 1850) Onlineicon.gif