Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL Diversity Alliance: Home

Resources for ACRL Diversity Alliance residency coordinators.



The ACRL Diversity Alliance program unites academic libraries committed to increasing the hiring pipeline of qualified and talented individuals from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups. By working together and thinking more broadly, ACRL Diversity Alliance institutions will help diversify and thereby enrich the profession.

The commitment of each library leader to create one or more residency positions will expand the opportunities available to individuals from professionally underrepresented groups to gain the knowledge, skills, and competencies necessary to thrive in an academic context. Library leaders participating in the ACRL Diversity Alliance are committed to opening doors, sharing their networks, and preparing residents for success in scholarship, professional service, and leadership. Residents and library leaders will each have access to a network so that they can share ideas, resources, and best practices.

ACRL Diversity Alliance Program Goals

In order to unite academic libraries committed to racial equity in their hiring and retention practices of qualified and talented individuals from underrepresented racial and ethnic groups, the ACRL Diversity Alliance fosters the:

  1. Increased adoption of inclusive employment and onboarding practices.
  2. Development of inclusive healthy workplace cultures that support BIPOC colleagues.
  3. Creation of paid positions with no required years of experience through early career diversity residencies and graduate student practicums.
  4. Advancement of career path development of BIPOC early professionals.
  5. Building of professional network connections for BIPOC individuals.
  6. Retention of BIPOC librarians and archivists in the profession.
  7. Commitment of library leaders to the advancement of inclusive leadership and access to the profession.


Founding Members

The Founding Members of the Diversity Alliance are American UniversityUniversity of IowaVirginia Tech, and West Virginia University.

ACRL Diversity Alliance Committee


The Diversity Alliance Committee oversees the ACRL Diversity Alliance program and works closely with ACRL staff to regularly evaluate program goals and materials; cultivates community and development among residency coordinators; fosters engagement and support for residents in conjunction with the ACRL Residency Interest Group (RIG). Oversees and ensures accountability to Diversity Residents and for host institutions, their leaders, and their residency coordinators. Provides a reservoir of expertise and a knowledge base for diversity residents and institutions on relevant issues. Leverages a resident-centered frame in its work.


Coming soon!