Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ACRL Diversity Alliance: Resources

Resources for ACRL Diversity Alliance residency coordinators.

Banner

ACRL RIG Toolkit

The Residency Interest Group (RIG)’s subgroup on diversity residencies has developed the Diversity Residency Toolkit that contains four tools that provide guidance for a residency program from its inception to its completion and beyond.

  • Guidelines for establishing residency planning and steering committees – Provides recommendations on the creation of a steering committee to provide a continuous support system for the resident(s) and a planning committee which serves as the initial start to the planning process of a residency program.
  • Pre-residency checklist for institutions – Designed to broadly assess an institution’s current readiness to host a resident by outlining the activities, tasks, and support mechanisms that are recommended to be implemented prior to a resident’s arrival. 
  • Guidelines for establishing a mentorship program – Outlines the roles and expectations for mentors, residents, and residency coordinators/supervisors and is appropriate for developing a new mentorship program or revising an existing one. 
  • Residency support survey – Assesses the level of support an institution provides residents based on four factors that contribute to a supportive environment: mentorship, professional development, career advancement, and inclusion. 

ACRL Diversity Alliance Task Force Webinar Series

Webinar 1: Residency Interest Group's (RIG) Diversity Residency Toolkit & Resident-Centered Framework

Sponsored by Grand Valley State University Libraries

After a brief introduction to the ACRL Diversity Alliance, learn more about the ACRL Residency Interest Group's (RIG) newly published Diversity Residency Toolkit. The Toolkit is designed to support organizations that are considering hosting a diversity residency program or revising an existing program with a suite of tools to support the resident experience. Engage with the developers to learn about the resident-centered framework and how to use the Toolkit. This webinar was held on February 7, 2022. 

Speakers

  • Willa Tavernier, Research Impact and Open Scholarship Librarian at Indiana University Libraries
  • Laura Tadena, Inclusive Services Consultant at the Texas State Library and Archives Commission
  • Mallary Rawls, Humanities Librarian at Florida State University Libraries
  • Michelle Peralta, Resident Archivist for Yale Special Collections at Yale University Library
  • Ana Corral, Medical and Health Sciences Librarian at the University of Houston Libraries
  • Maya Bergamasco, Faculty Research & Scholarly Support Librarian at  Harvard Law School Library
  • Kalani Adolpho, Processing Archivist at the University of Miami Libraries

Resources referenced during the webinar

PowerPoint Slides

Webinar 2: ACRL Diversity Alliance: Kindly Hire Me: The Process and Impact of Inclusive Hiring

This presentation will explore perspectives on inclusive hiring practices from both sides of the table. Grand Valley State University Libraries developed inclusive recruitment and high-empathy hiring practices, which they implemented in 2018. The Dean and a past diversity resident team up to dissect the hiring process from both of their perspectives. Annie Bélanger discusses the work behind critically examining the existing hiring process, designing an inclusive recruitment plan, and implementing a new structure in order to ensure empathy to applicants going through the process. Preethi Gorecki then discusses the impact of inclusive hiring on perceptions of the work environment, satisfaction with the search, and overall experience of the hiring process. This webinar was held on February 28, 2022. 

Presenters

  • Preethi Gorecki, Communications Librarian at MacEwan University
  • Annie Bélanger, Dean of University Libraries at Grand Valley State University

PowerPoint Slides

Resources

ACRL Diversity Alliance ALA Connect Community

Residency coordinators from current Diversity Alliance institutions are added to the members-only ALA Connect Community. The community provides a space for residency coordinators to ask questions, share ideas, and engage in conversation. Please contact ACRL Program Manager for Strategic Initiatives Allison Payne at apayne@ala.org if your institution is a current Diversity Alliance member and you'd to be added to the listserv.

Residents-only Slack Channel

Current Diversity Alliance residents can informally connect in the residents-only Slack Channel. Contact apayne@ala.org to add your residents.

ACRL Residency Interest Group (RIG)

The Residency Interest Group (RIG) supports both current and former residency librarians. Visit the RIG website for resources, job postings, and more.

ACRL Diversity Standards: Cultural Competency for Academic Libraries

The Diversity Standards: Cultural Competency for Academic Libraries are intended to emphasize the need and obligation to serve and advocate for racial and ethnically diverse constituencies. As such­­­, they are intended to apply to all libraries supporting academic programs at institutions of higher education.

ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy & Outreach Services

The ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy & Outreach Services (ODLOS) offers a number of helpful resources for residency coordinators including: Recruiting for Diversity, Strategic Planning for Diversity, and Diversity Research and Statistics.

ALA Ethnic and Multicultural Exchange Round Table (EMIERT)

The ALA Ethnic and Multicultural Exchange Round Table (EMIERT) provides information on multiculturalism in libraries, as well as a comprehensive list of multicultural bibliographies, guidelines, and standards.

San José State University Catalyst Project

The School of Information (iSchool) at San José State University, with grant funding from the Institute of Museum and Library Services, developed a residency model for recent MLIS graduates, focused on leadership development and integrating emerging technology in diverse types of libraries. Learn more about the Catalyst project and residency model and download the iSchool’s whitepaper on the project on the San José State University website.