Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Marketing and Outreach Interest Group: Images & Icons

Resources for Library Marketing & Outreach

Free Image Collections

  • AlltheFreeStock offers one place to find free stock photos, videos, sound effects, and icons. "All of the sites under Free Stock Photos [offer] images listed under the Creative Commons Zero license, so you are free to use these images in commercial projects. Free Stock Videos, Free Sound Effects, & Free Icons offer different licenses, it's a good idea to check the terms of use on each site before you use them."
  • Burst is a "free stock photo site that is powered by Shopify. We have 1000’s of high quality and royalty-free images available and free to download." Read more about terms of service.
  • CC Search provides users with the ability to search for content with Creative Commons licenses from a variety of databases offered by independent organizations, including Wikimedia Commons, SoundCloud, Pixabay, Google Images, etc. Users can also limit results to content that can be used for commercial purposes and/or modified, adapted, or built upon. As Creative Commons does not have control over search results, users should double-check to see that the content is under a CC license by following the links. The new Beta CC Search, with new search filters and one-click attribution, allows users to search across a variety of vetted open sourced content through one single interface.
  • Canva Photos provides stock photos that can be browsed by categories, though users can also run their own keywords searches.
  • Cupcake offers images that "are licensed under the Creative Commons license CC0, which means that you are free to use the images without any costs. You can copy, modify, distribute and perform the work, even for commercial purposes, all without asking for permission."
  • Death to Stock sends free images to your email on a monthly basis. Premium accounts cost $15/month.
  • Everystockphoto is "a search engine for free photos. These come from many sources and are license-specific. You can view a photo's license by clicking on the license icon, below and left of photos. Membership is free and allows you to rate, tag, collect and comment on photos."
  • Fancycrave photos "are licensed under the Creative Commons Zero (CCO) license which grants you an irrevocable, nonexclusive copyright license to download, copy, modify, distribute, perform, and use photos from Fancycrave for free, including for commercial purposes, without permission from or attributing the photographer or Fancycrave."
  • Foodiesfeed "is a resource of awesome naturally looking food photos that are completely free to download."
  • Gratisography is another website serving up high-resolution photos covered under the Creative Commons Zero license. All of the photos are taken by Ryan McGuire, a "whimsically creative visual artist, based in Ithaca, NY."
  • ISO Republic's mission is to "provide high-quality images to be used by designers, developers, bloggers, marketers, and social media teams." For those looking for access to more exclusive free photos, ISO Republic invites you to sign up for its email list and receive photos right to your inbox.
  • Jay Mantri adds seven new "do anything photos every Thursday.
  • Kaboompics is a royalty-free collection of images provided by Karolina, a web designer from Poland. Photos are sorted into categories, such as nature, technology, home decor, lifestyle, interiors, food and drink, etc.
  • Life of Pix provides "free high-resolution photos, no copyrights restrictions for personal and commercial use."
  • Morguefile is "a community-based free photo site, and all photos found in the Morguefile archive are free for you to download and re-use in your work, be it commercial or not."
  • Nappy.co has free hi-resolution images of black and brown people. Photos are available under a Creative Commons Zero license.
  • NegativeSpace's "photographs (and their raw image files) are made available under the Creative Commons CC0 license." This means you can download, copy, edit, and share the photo and use it for commercial and noncommercial purposes. Attribution is not required but appreciated.
  • New Old Stock provides "[v]intage photos from the public archives. Free of known copyright restrictions."
  • No Backs provides "comprehensive collections of free stock photos with isolated transparent backgrounds, Download isolated stock PNG photos, vectors, and illustration for free."
  • Old Book Illustrations provides free vintage-style imagery. All the images are scanned from old books and are in the public domain, so there are no rights hassles. Categories include plants, animals, buildings and monuments, ornaments and patterns.
  • Pixabay features over 1.1 million photos, vector graphics, illustrations, and videos that can be used for commercial and noncommercial purposes. All content is licensed under Creative Commons. Users can search by media type, orientation, pixel size, color, and categories ranging from animals, architecture, religion, music, beauty/fashion, and people. Images can be downloaded in a variety of sizes, and each image also provides users with suggestions for similar images.
  • Pexels is a library of 40,000 free high-quality stock photos, which can be used for both personal and commercial purposes. All photos are covered under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license, and attribution is not required. Users can search for images or can also browse by color, popular photos, popular searches, photographers, and categories (summer, abstract, city, fashion, etc.) Every image can be downloaded in a variety of sizes, and each photo also has suggestions for similar images. Those who sign up for accounts receive 40 additional photos to download and can upload their own photos to the Pexels community.
  • Picjumbo was started by Viktor Hanacek in the Czech Republic in 2013. Photos can be downloaded for free and be used for commercial and non-commercial purposes. Attribution is not required but appreciated. With a $7.50/month subscription, you can receive a premium pack of photos sent straight to your inbox every month. The packs include unpublished and upcoming images, as well as complete collections.
  • The Public Domain Project allows you to "[d]ownload thousands of historic media files for your creative projects. Completely free and made available by Pond5.
  • Representation Matters offers high-resolution, royalty-free stock image collection focusing on inclusion and diversity.
  • Skitterphoto contains "license-free images in the public domain."
  • SplitShire, powered by Italian photographer Daniel Nanescu, offers free photos for you to use without restrictions.
  • Spoon Graphics provides design tutorials, articles, and "freebies to use in your own artwork."
  • Startup Stock Photos offers "free photos for startups, bloggers, publishers, websites, designers, developers, creators, & everyone else."
  • StockSnap's photos are "under the Creative Commons CC0 license. That means you can copy, modify, distribute any photo on the site, even for commercial purposes, all without asking permission!"
  • Stocky Bodies features plus size people. The images are on the smaller side and can be used without modification, as long as Stocky Bodies is given credit.
  • Unsplash is a searchable library of free high-resolution digital photographs that can be downloaded and used for any purpose, both commercial and noncommercial. In addition to searching for images, users can also browse the most popular collections by topic or the results of trending searches. Unsplash also has a Chrome extension, so each new tab provides a new photograph, which can also be downloaded. Users who create accounts can make private or public collections and receive announcements, recommended photos, resources, tips, etc.
  • 100+ Free (& Nearly Free) Stock Photo Libraries is a list provided by WhoIsHostingThis.com that you can check out for even more image sources!
  • Where to Find Free Stock Photos with People of Color provides a list of websites, including Blend, ColorStock, Tonl, CreateHER Stock, Pexels, Jopwell, and Women of Color in Tech.
  •  #WoCinTech chat Flickr photo group has photos of women and non-binary people of color at computers. Photos are available under a Creative Commons Attribution license.

Free Icon Collections

  • Flaticon features over 573,000 free vector icons that can be used for personal and commercial purposes. Premium subscribers who pay a small monthly fee also have access to premium icons and don’t need to provide attribution. Users who aren’t premium subscribers must provide credit to the icon designer.  Users can search and download individual icons or icon packs that are organized by category (finance, technology, etc.). Icons are available in PNG, SVG, EPS, PSD and BASE 64 formats. Flaticon’s @font-face Generator allows users to convert icons to webfonts. Flaticon also has an Adobe extension and Mac OS X app.
  • IconArchive has a library of more than 500,000 icons organized in 45 different categories. Users can search or browse for individual icons or icons sets that can be sorted by alphabet, popularity, number of icons, resolution (the highest resolution, 1024px, is listed first), color, size, or artist. Icons can be downloaded in a variety of sizes and formats. The license and attribution information is also available for each icon and icon set.

 

Want to Contribute?

Did we miss something? Want to add something? Post the information to our Facebook page here, and we will add it to the LibGuide. Thank you!