Marketing Libraries Journal "Marketing Libraries Journal (MLJ) is a new peer-reviewed, independently published, open access scholarly journal that focuses on innovative marketing activities libraries are engaged in." First issue coming in Fall 2017.
Marketing Library Services "MLS will provide information professionals in all types of libraries with specific ideas for marketing their services. You'll find numerous suggestions for planning programs, making money, increasing business, and proving your value to your administrator."
The ACRL ULS Academic Outreach Committee (AOC) is charged with developing and maintaining a community of practice to share information and foster best practices in campus outreach for academic libraries. The committee hosts online roundtable discussions throughout the year around specific topics, such as Planning & Managing the Outreach Calendar for the Year, Collaborating with Campus Partners on Outreach Activities, and Outreach to International Students. The roundtables are great places to share experiences and learn from others in a small group setting. Previous discussions are hosted on the committee's YouTube channel.
Did we miss something? Want to add something? Post the information to our Facebook page here, and we will add it to the LibGuide. Thank you!
The Accidental Library Marketer by 
Bite-Sized Marketing by
Written and designed to reflect the way people read today, this book is structured to quickly impart simple and cost-effective ideas on marketing your library.
Crash Course in Marketing for Libraries by
Crash Course in Marketing gives the librarian with little formal training, a member of the friends of the library who would like to help with marketing, or someone who has had little experience with marketing to gain skills needed to build a marketing plan for their library. Examples from libraries are used to illustrate the marketing elements described. Here is everything librarians, especially those in small libraries, need to know about marketing, PR, and advocacy. You'll learn what these things are, and why they make sense for the librarian in a small library. More important, this book will teach you how to perform these important tasks, including how to develop a marketing plan, how to work with the media, and how to raise money with events. Appendixes include Useful Resources for the Librarian. Created for those with little formal LIS training who are working in small, rural libraries, this entry in the "Crash Course" series will also be useful for librarians who are new to this area of service or need to brush up on their skills. The reader will find easy-to-follow instructions with examples to illustrate the implementation of various methods.
Creative Library Marketing and Publicity by
Creative Library Marketing and Publicity: Best Practices shares the success of libraries of various sizes and types--small to large public, academic, and school libraries, systems, and organizations. Each best-practice scenario describes a library's successful experience with marketing, branding, and promoting a library service or program, providing information about planning, actual promotion techniques, and evaluating the success of the plan or promotion methods. Most importantly, each include tips and best practices for readers. Many of these ideas and techniques are applicable across the board, so they will help you implement similar methods to promote your library services and programs and spark different and unique uses for these techniques. Strategies covered include: -Using constituents' voices in outreach efforts -Building a social media presence -Crafting step-by-step marketing plans -Planning and implementing branding campaigns -Creating buzz with promotional videos -Using e-mail marketing in outreach -Marketing a new library space -Marketing on a shoestring budget Drawing on the best practices, experience, and expertise of library personnel from public, academic, and school libraries, this volume brings together a variety of marketing plans and creative methods for promoting libraries and their programs and services to a twenty-first-century audience. All library employees should be able to take away something from these creative, successful efforts and apply tips, techniques, and best practice suggestions to their own library marketing efforts.
The Librarian's Nitty-Gritty Guide to Content Marketing by
What is content marketing? Simply put, it's the most effective way to increase your value to customers. When you deliver content that library users find useful and relevant, you give a compelling answer to their question, "What's in it for me?" Author of the best-selling book "The Librarian's Nitty-Gritty Guide to Social Media," Solomon speaks directly to public relations personnel, web librarians, and other staff responsible for the library's online presence. Filled with nuts-and-bolts advice on how to increase the library's value to its users, her guide: defines the essential characteristics of effective content marketing; explores methods of audience assessment; demonstrates how to optimize content for sharing; explains the elements of an editorial calendar for sustainable content, and shows how to create once and re-purpose many times; describes meaningful metrics for the library context; points out 5 common mistakes and how to avoid them; provides a template for creating personas; and includes first-hand accounts from library marketers. Making content marketing concepts bite-sized and easily digestible, this guide shows libraries how to market effectively by focusing on what library users find useful and relevant.
The Library Marketing Toolkit by 
Marketing and Social Media: A Guide for Libraries, Archives, and Museums by
Marketing and Social Media: A Guide for Libraries, Archives, and Museums is a much-needed guide to marketing for libraries, archives, and museum professionals in the social media age. This book is both an introductory textbook and a guide for working professionals who want to go beyond mere promotion to developing a planned and deliberately managed marketing campaign. Beginning with mission, goals, and objectives, readers will review the components of both the internal and external environments which must be understood to plan an objective campaign. Chapter coverage includes how to do a SWOT analysis, identify and involve stakeholders, a 4-step marketing model, market research, market segmentation, market mix strategy, and evaluation are all covered. Each chapter includes explanatory topical content designed to build a framework of marketing and social media management understanding including discussion questions (which can be developed into classroom or workshop assignments and key terms. Illustrative and brief case study examples from all three institution types are embedded in chapters as relevant.
Marketing for Special and Academic Libraries by
Here s an easy-to-follow, practical, easily-implementable, 21st-Century marketing book for academic and special libraries. Written by two practicing librarians who are passionate about communicating with users, the book provides both the inspiration and drive to market your library and practical tips and suggestions on how to do that effectively. Topics covered include: .The process of planning a marketing campaign and how some time spent on planning at the outset can help keep you focused and help you determine your level of success. .The importance of using brands and brand identity to help you establish your library s brand and market that aggressively to your users and potential users. Brand consistency is stressed here. .Marketing tools: oDigital publications, oSocial media, oVisual and print marketing materials, oPersonal interactions oEvents you can use throughout the year. For each topic, we will talk about best practices, what works, what often doesn t, and we share best concise case studies from all types of academic and special libraries."
Marketing the 21st Century Library by
Although the 21st century library is competing with numerous web-based resources, its clients can benefit from using its research assistance, physical and online holdings, and physical space, so they need to understand what the library offers. Marketing the 21st Century Library systematically and concisely teaches students and practitioners how to and why they should market and promote academic libraries. Librarians need to use marketing not only to advertise and promote resources, but also to boost the profession and the role we play. The book introduces key marketing concepts, followed by the history of library marketing. Subsequent chapters guide readers through a series of tools and resources so they can create their own marketing plans, concluding with an exploration of resources, services and further readings. Includes web extras, tables, problem and solution exercises Contains extensive references to real-world examples of good practice Details practical examples and case summaries from leading libraries Explores the importance of marketing and promoting academic libraries Provides resources for readers to help create marketing plans
Marketing Today's Academic Library by
In this study, Brian Mathews uses his vast experience to speak directly to the academic library practitioner about matching services with user needs. This book proposes new visions and ideas, challenging the traditional way of thinking and providing a framework to target users more precisely.
Strategic Marketing for Non-Profit Organizations by
For graduate courses in Nonprofit Marketing and Management. Strategic Marketing for Non-Profit Organizations, 7th Edition is a best-selling text that focuses on the impact of nonprofit marketing in the social sector and the growing intersection between nonprofit management and the business world.
