Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Copyright and Libraries
Copyright and cultural Institutions by
The development of new digital technologies has led to fundamental changes in the ways that cultural institutions fulfill their public missions of access, preservation, research, and education. Many institutions are developing publicly-accessible websites in which users can visit online exhibitions, search collection databases, access images of collection items, and in some cases create their own digital content. Digitization, however, also raises the possibility of copyright infringement. It is imperative, therefore, that staff in libraries, archives, and museums have a good understanding of fundamental copyright principles and how institutional procedures can be affected by the law. Copyright and Cultural Institutions was written to assist understanding and compliance with copyright law. It discusses the basics of copyright law and the exclusive rights of the copyright owner, the major exemptions used by cultural heritage institutions, and stresses the importance of "risk assessment" when conducting any digitization project. Two cases studies (on digitizing oral histories and student work) are also included.
Publication Date: 2009
Copyright Law for Librarians and Educators by
Readers will learn basic copyright definitions and key exceptions for education and library services; find information quickly with key points sidebars, legislative citations, and cross-references; understand the four factors of fair use and related court interpretations; get up to speed on current interpretations of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act from a librarian-educator viewpoint. Copyright Law for Educators and Librarians--highly praised in previous editions--draws on cutting-edge case law in 18 discrete areas of copyright, including specialized and controversial music and sound recording issues. Information professionals will find the tools they need to take control of their rights and responsibilities as copyright owners and users in this succinct, easy-to-use guide.
Publication Date: 2011
Reclaiming Fair Use by
In the increasingly complex and combative arena of copyright in the digital age, record companies sue college students over peer-to-peer music sharing, YouTube removes home movies because of a song playing in the background, and filmmakers are denied a distribution deal when some permissions “i” proves undottable. Patricia Aufderheide and Peter Jaszi chart a clear path through the confusion by urging a robust embrace of a principle long-embedded in copyright law, but too often poorly understood—fair use. By challenging the widely held notion that current copyright law has become unworkable and obsolete in the era of digital technologies, Reclaiming Fair Use promises to reshape the debate in both scholarly circles and the creative community. This indispensable guide distills the authors’ years of experience advising documentary filmmakers, English teachers, performing arts scholars, and other creative professionals into no-nonsense advice and practical examples for content producers. Reclaiming Fair Use begins by surveying the landscape of contemporary copyright law—and the dampening effect it can have on creativity—before laying out how the fair-use principle can be employed to avoid copyright violation. Finally, Aufderheide and Jaszi summarize their work with artists and professional groups to develop best practice documents for fair use and discuss fair use in an international context. Appendixes address common myths about fair use and provide a template for creating the reader’s own best practices. Reclaiming Fair Use will be essential reading for anyone concerned with the law, creativity, and the ever-broadening realm of new media.
Publication Date: 2011
Owning and Using Scholarship by
Copyright and other types of laws regulating intellectual property create an increasing concern for contemporary scholarship. The digital environment has created exciting new opportunities and possibilities for scholars to work and distribute their work. But these new opportunities also create issues that did not arise in the analog world. Owning and Using Scholarship: An IP Handbook for Teachers and Researchers attempts to demystify intellectual property, and especially copyright law, for academic authors and independent scholars who face these dilemmas. It also can serve as a comprehensive resource for librarians who are asked to assist with these new and challenging decisions.
Publication Date: 2014
Managing Copyright in Higher Education by
As more and more colleges and universities establish copyright offices and/or assign the responsibilities of copyright education and advisory services to specific individuals within the institution, many times librarians, there is a paucity
of resources available on how to manage that responsibility. Most works on copyright discuss the law and court cases interpreting the law but few address the situational application of it and the management and coordination of copyright efforts on a campus.
Here is a complete, one-stop, guide to managing copyright at all levels - community college, college, and university. Complete chapters are devoted to: the university culture; the role of a copyright office; how to establish a copyright office; copyright services
for librarians; copyright services for faculty; copyright services for administrators and staff; copyright services for students. Written by the director of the University Copyright Office at Purdue University who holds both law and library science degrees,
this complete, authoritative guide is a must-purchase for every institution of higher education seeking to comply with the copyright law and thus avoid potential liability exposure.
Publication Date: 2014
The Copyright Librarian by
Within most libraries in the United States today there is an information professional who has become the 'go-to' person for grasping and grappling with copyright questions. While not an attorney, this librarian has developed an awareness and understanding of copyright law, legislation and practice as they relate to a wide variety of library activities. This practical handbook provides a broad overview of copyright librarianship. It is written for information professionals whose area of expertise, specialization or job it is to inform and educate others about the ethical use and best practices surrounding copyrighted materials It is written about the person with solid analytical skills and the ability to adapt and adjust in a rapidly changing environment; someone who can serve as an intermediary between information producers and consumers; someone who is knowledgeable about the law and providing access to information; someone who is well positioned within an organization to answer questions about copyright and provide reliable, accurate, and relevant answers, information, assistance, and guidance when needed. In short: a copyright librarian. Thorough and up-to-date look at an emerging field of specialization within libraries Provides an overview of job opportunities available and how to prepare for these jobs Presents a range of useful current awareness and professional development resources and tools for the new, prospective, and working professional Addresses common misperceptions about copyright librarians
Publication Date: 2015
Copyright Conversation: Rights Literacy in a Digital World by
Publication Date: 2019-10-31
Legal Issues in Libraries and Archives by
Publication Date: 2021-10-29
Copyright & Libraries
Libraries are creatures of the historical and statutory balance in copyright law. Libraries lend materials based on the First Sale doctrine. Libraries share materials and preserve works under specific provisions for libraries in the Act. Libraries are often the only entities that provide access to the vast majority of copyrighted works that lose market vitality long before the expiration of the copyrights, and are often the only entities that preserve public domain materials. Libraries enable users to access copyrighted and public domain works and to exercise their rights under the exceptions and limitations to creators' rights in the law. The creation of new intellectual property building on the old is stimulated as a result of the existence of libraries. Libraries are places where the public and the proprietary meet. The multiple roles of libraries as social organizations address the balance in the law, and are shaped by it.1
1From "Libraries as Creatures of Copyright: Why Librarians Care about Intellectual Property and Policy." Carol Henderson, American Library Association. http://www.ala.org/advocacy/copyright/copyrightarticle/librariescreatures
Copyright Law - Courses & Presentations for Librarians
Copyright for Educations and Librarians (MOOC)
A Coursera MOOC taught by Kevin Smith, Lisa Macklin, and Anne Gilliland providing an overview of U.S. copyright and various rights and exceptions.
Copyright Crash Course (Univ. of Texas LibGuide)
New version of the fantastic guide to copyright created by Georgia Harper. Covers copyright basics, fair use, TEACH Act, and more.
Copyright for Libraries (Self Paced Course)
Developed by the Berkman Center and EIFL for librarians in developing and transitional countries, this multi-module course provides training on various copyright issues including public domain, permissions, and rights & exceptions.
CopyrightX (Harvard MOOC)
12 week free MOOC on copyright law offered through Harvard Law School.
Certificate in Copyright Management (SLA Courses)
Series of courses available for purchase through the Special Library Association. Completion of eight or more courses results in an award of a Certificate in Copyright Management.
Copyright in Higher Education Elements Resources (CHEER)
This repository, hosted by Clemson University, provides the building blocks that anyone can use to develop copyright education and awareness programming at their institution. Elements range from images and text to full presentations. Licensed for re-use, you can customize elements to best fit the copyright needs of your situation and audience.
Copyright in the Classroom
From the Ohio State University Copyright Resource Center a series of podcast lectures on copyright law.
Series of webinars on a variety of copyright topics presented by the American Library Association Office of Information Technology Policy.
Copyright Basics - Resources
Copyright Act of 1976
Full text of the Copyright Act, enacted in 1976, which is the primary copyright law in the United States.
Copyright Advisory Network
A forum for asking questions about copyright issues in libraries, as well as several online tools for evaluating copyright status of works.
A digital annotated concept map of the fundamentals of U.S. Copyright Law
Digital tool for determining whether a work first created or published in the United States is still protected by copyright and permission needed for reuse.
ARL Copyright Timeline
A history of copyright legislation and judicial decisions in the United States
IP Policies for Universities and Institutions (WIPO)
Searchable database of policies, manuals and model agreements from universities and institutions around the world.
Section 108 (Library Exception) - Resources
Section 108 Spinner
Tool to help libraries and archives determine whether 108 applies to their proposed reproduction or preservation activity.
Video at Risk
Guidelines to assist libraries in analyzing section 108 as applies to preserving video collections.
Section 108 Due Diligence Project
Collaborative project to create a database of VHS titles eligible for duplication under Section 108.
Public Domain Tools & Resources
Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States
Public domain chart created and maintained by Cornell University
State Copyright Resource Center
A guide, developed at Harvard, to determining the copyright status of state government works.
Is it in the Public Domain?
A handbook for evaluating the public domain status of works created in the United States. Produced by the Samuelson Law, Technology and Public Policy Clinic at Berkeley Law School
Finding the Public Domain: Copyright Review Management System Toolkit
Toolkit for libraries, developed by the University of Michigan team who designed the Copyright Review Management System, to assist in developing a workflow for making copyright status determinations of books.
Tales from the Public Domain
A comic, developed by Duke University's Center for the Public Domain, that explains not only the public domain but also fair use.
Public Domain Sherpa
A general resource with information about public domain in the United states with guides to locating books, photos, movies, and other media in the public domain.
Stanford Copyright Renewal Database
Searchable database of copyright renewal records received by the U.S. Copyright Office between 1950 and 1992 for books published in the U.S. between 1923 and 1963.
Out of Copyright
A calculator for determining the copyright status of works created in select countries