LibGuides: Social Work Liaison Toolkit: Evidence-based Practice Resources

About

According to the National Association of Social Workers, "In social work, most agree that [Evidence-Based Practice] is a process involving creating an answerable question based on a client or organizational need, locating the best available evidence to answer the question, evaluating the quality of the evidence as well as its applicability, applying the evidence, and evaluating the effectiveness and efficiency of the solution" (https://www.socialworkers.org/News/Research-Data/Social-Work-Policy-Research/Evidence-Based-Practice).

This page contains selected option access resources for evidence-based practice for a variety of areas of social work practice.

Current page editor: Elle Covington (ecovington4@unl.edu) and Anita Kuiken (akuiken@syr.edu)

Evidence-based Practice Resources: Open Access

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-based Practice Center (EPC) Reports
"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), through its EPCs, sponsors the development of various reports to assist public- and private-sector organizations in their efforts to improve the quality of healthcare in the United States."
American Academy of Pediatrics (Research)
Selected open resources about child health data trends, suggested research resources, and other research conducted by AAP members.
American Speech-Language-Hearing Association
Includes an explanation of EBP, toolkits, and a catalog of resources
Anxeity and Depression Association of America (ADAA)
Provides evidence-based resources for education, professional practice, and research related to anxiety disorders and depression
Blueprints for Healthy Youth Development
"A comprehensive registry of scientifically proven and scalable interventions that prevent or reduce the likelihood of antisocial behavior and promote a healthy course of youth development and adult maturity." Note: No longer updated as of July 1, 2024.
California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare
"...a searchable database of programs that can be utilized by professionals that serve children and families involved with the child welfare system."
Campbell Collaboration (Research Evidence)
Includes plain language summaries of published systematic reviews.
Cochrane (Our Evidence)
Includes plain language summaries of health evidence.
Crime Solutions
"CrimeSolutions helps practitioners and policymakers understand what programs & practices work in criminal and juvenile justice, victims assistance, school safety, and youth mentoring."
Effective Child Therapy
"Mental health information for parents, caregivers, and families based on the best available science."
Evidence-Based Behavioral Practice
"We create training resources to help bridge the gap between behavioral health research and practice. Professionals from the major health disciplines are collaborating to learn, teach, and implement evidence-based behavioral practice (EBBP)."
Home Visiting Evidence of Effectiveness
Information about models used and their effectiveness.
National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools' Health Evidence
"...database of 10,158 quality-rated reviews on the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions, including cost data."
Promising Practices Network
ocial and Behavioral Policy Projects. PPN is a group of individuals and organizations who are dedicated to providing quality evidence-based information about what works to improve the lives of children, families, and communities. The site helps decision-makers understand what approaches and programs have been shown in the scientific literature to improve outcomes in various areas such as child health and education
PracticeWise
Click on "Resources" for a menu of open/free resources.
Social Programs that Work
"This site seeks to identify those social programs shown in rigorous studies to produce sizable, sustained benefits to participants and/or society, so that they can be deployed to help solve social problems."
Society of Clinical Psychology (Psychological Treatments)
"...contains a list of psychological treatments with published evidence of efficacy as determined by a review of criteria established by the SCP."
Substance Abuse and Mental health Services Administration (SAMHSA) Evidence-Based Practices Resource Center
Provides guides and other resources developed by SAMHSA
VA/DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines | U.S Department of Veteran Affairs
"Guidelines address patient cohorts, serve to reduce errors, and provide consistent quality of care and utilization of resources throughout and between the VA and DOD health care systems. Guidelines are also cornerstones for accountability and facilitate learning and the conduct of research."
What Works Clearinghouse
"a central and trusted source of scientific evidence on education programs, products, practices, and policies. We review the research, determine which studies meet rigorous standards, and summarize the findings. We focus on high-quality research to answer the question 'what works in education?'"