It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
British and UK Studies
Scholarly resources in British and UK Studies, including the nations making up the United Kingdom (England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales). The resources organized here are all freely available and have undergone a selection and evaluation process
British Pathé "britishpathe.tv is an award-winning online video streaming service featuring hundreds of full-length documentaries. It is designed for specialist audiences such as history buffs, royal watchers, cinema aficionados and train enthusiasts."
"Broadside Ballads Online presents a digital collection of English printed ballad-sheets from between the 16th and 20th centuries, linked to other resources for the study of the English ballad tradition."
The Military Archives mission is to "collect material from the foundation of the State up until the present day, including records from overseas missions. From as early as 1924, the National Army, recognising the importance of the War of Independence, undertook to preserve historical documents from that time. Some of the earliest collections preserved by the Historical Section include the Collins Papers, Civil War Operations and Intelligence files and Captured Documents (Civil War up to 1925), which continue to be made available today."
"In an effort to make portions of our collections open to a wide variety of users from around the world for learning, teaching and research, the Bodleian Libraries have been digitizing library content for nearly twenty years. The result is over 650,000 freely available digital objects and almost another 1 million images awaiting release."
The SOAS Library's "digital collections include archives and manuscripts, photographs, maps, books and journals, newspapers, oral histories, films and audio. Nearly all are available freely, twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week, all year round. While some of this content is protected by copyright, all of it can be used with attribution under Creative Commons licence CC BY-NC."
"The History of Parliament is a research project creating a comprehensive account of parliamentary politics in England, then Britain, from their origins in the thirteenth century. Unparalleled in the comprehensiveness of its treatment, the History is generally regarded as one of the most ambitious, authoritative and well-researched projects in British history."
"Layers of London is a map-based history website developed by the Institute of Historical Research. Users can access free historic maps of London and contribute stories, memories and histories to create a social history resource about their area."
"The Archive consists of digitised manuscripts and letters belonging to nine writers born or based in Northern Ireland...he material ranges from 19th century manuscripts by Samuel Ferguson through to the late poems of John Hewitt in the 1980s."
"Originally launched in November 2000 as part of the British Film Institute's Millennium Project, Northern Ireland Screen's Digital Film Archive (DFA) is a free public access resource. Constantly updated and expanding, the DFA contains hundreds of hours of moving image titles, spanning from 1897 to the present day. Primarily focused on Northern Irish society, the collection also documents pre-Partition Ireland and contains material of interest to wider UK and international audiences. Within the archive you will find items covering the breadth of moving image genres; broadcast news, feature films, television dramas, sport, documentaries, animation, light entertainment, amateur footage, newsreels and more."
"British History Online is a not-for-profit digital library based at the Institute of Historical Research. It brings together material for British history from the collections of libraries, archives, museums and academics. These primary and secondary sources, which range from medieval to twentieth century, are easily searchable and browsable online."
"This collection forms an archive of murals from Northern Ireland - Nationalist, Republican, Unionist, Loyalist and non-aligned - painted during the Troubles and the post-conflict period (1979-2014). The images are records which include the representation of history, the expression of political standpoints, the articulation of community concerns, formations of memory and modes of ideological address."
"UCD Digital Library provides access to resources from many UCD cultural repositories, including: UCD Library Special Collections; UCD Archives; the National Folklore Collection UCD; the UCD Irish Dialect Archive; map collections in the Schools of UCD School of Geological Sciences and Geography, Planning & Environmental Policy; the UCD School of Art History and Cultural Policy; the UCD Classical Museum; and more."
Please Note: There wasn't any information on digital collections, digital libraries, and digital humanities in the previous guide. Hence, there are no other relevant links to Wayback Machine or saved copies of PDFs.