Irish Studies

Biographies (in Irish) of 1,769 people who were connected with the Irish language.

Reference work of nearly 11,000 lives for scholars of Irish history, society and culture. A project of the Royal Irish Academy.

The Dictionary is about people associated with the historic nine counties of Ulster and includes those who were born here, or lived or worked here and who have distinguished themselves in some way.

Dictionaries, grammatical and pronunciation information relating to words in the Irish Language.

Terminology database useful as a dictionary for vocabulary relating to work, science, education, etc.

Information on the Irish State

Detailed geographical database with names, mapping, and additional data for places in both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Entries provide the preferred, validated names in both Irish and English as identified by the Irish government, variant names and spellings, and abundant additional geographic information, including Ordnance Survey Ireland mapping, links to archival resources and supplementary educational resources, and linked open data identifiers. For places in Northern Ireland, there are also links to the corresponding entries in the Northern Ireland Place-Name Project database, Placenamesni.org.

Developed by Fiontar & Scoil na Gaeilge (the Irish-language school of of Dublin City University, DCU), and the Placenames Branch of the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht (Roinn Cultúir, Oidhreachta agus Gaeltachta). Irish subtitle: Bunachar Logainmneacha na hÉireann.

From the National Archive

From the National Library of Ireland : Database for Irish Research.