Irish Studies

Text of the Constitution of the Republic of Ireland enacted in 1937, with amendments and updates, accompanied by some background information about its significance and recent amendment provided by the Department of the Taoiseach (prime minister's office).

Copy of the Constitution of the Republic of Ireland enacted in 1937, with amendments and updates. Includes a link to a PDF version. One of the key documents compiled in the electronic Irish Statute Book (eISB).

Compilation of key constitutional and legal documents, including the Constitution of Ireland and its amendments, Acts of the Oireachtas (parliamentary legislation), and Statutory Instruments. Selected pre-1922 legislation is included, providing background to Ireland's independence, as well as links to external legislation resources. Produced by the Office of the Attorney General.

"A central portal for government services and information. It combines the websites of Irish government departments." The main page provides links to brief descriptions and websites of individual Irish government departments and agencies. Policy documents and other government publications are also being included (those pages are still in development as of July 2020, although already with a substantial listing of titles). Produced by the Office of the Government Chief Information Officer (OGCIO).

Provides official information about the office of the Taoisach (prime minister), the current and former incumbents, and cabinet ministers. "The Department of the Taoiseach works with other departments to implement policy primarily through the cabinet committee structure."

The official website of the Irish parliament, with sections for both its houses, Dáil Éireann (Irish Assembly) and Seanad Éireann (Irish Senate). It includes reports, bills and acts, debates, press releases, directories of members, and information about committees. In addition to texts and maps, some video content is featured (both videorecordings and live streaming).

The Green Party is active in both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. It holds legislative seats in the Oireachtas and the Northern Irish Legislative Assembly. The Irish Green Party and the Green Party Northern Ireland are sister parties.

Irish name: Páirtí an Lucht Oibre.

Sinn Féin is a party active in both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. It holds legislative seats in the Oireachtas and the Northern Irish Legislative Assembly, and it has won seats in the UK Parliament.

Irish name: Daonlathaigh Shóisialta.

Information on voting, national, local, and European elections, and referendums, provided by the Citizens Information Board, a national Irish agency.

Provides access to multiple databases of legal records, covering case law (primarily decisions of Irish courts and official commissions), legislation, and other materials related to Irish law. BAILII -- British and Irish Legal Information Institute -- is an organization based at the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies, University of London, and the Law Faculty, University College Cork.

An independent body that manages and maintains the courts and court buildings; provides support services for the judges as well as other users of the courts; and provides information on the courts system to the general public. Its website features a legal calendar and decisions, including recent news; online services, including searches of various registers and legal forms; information on legal and judicial topics such as licensing, bankruptcy, guardianship, and divorce; practical information for court users; and downloadable publications.

A gateway site with links to guides and to numerous external resources on various apects of Irish law, judicial system, and government in general. (It also includes some links to information about law in Northern Ireland and the Peace Process there.) Hosted by the University College, Cork (UCC) School of Law.

Website of the Law Reform Commission, whose purposes are "to keep the law under independent, objective and expert review; to make recommendations for law reform; and to make current law accessible for all." In addition to news, publications, and information on current projects, the site features a Classified List of Legislation, a searchable database classified by subject or type of law.

Website of the Citizens Information Board, providing information on a range of public and social services and on the entitlements of Irish citizens. "We gather information from various government departments and agencies, and make sure that you have all the information you need, presented in an easy-to-understand way." A national agency, the Citizens Information Board also oversees Citizens Information Centres in numerous locations throughout the Republic of Ireland, which are listed and mapped on this site.

"Publishes essential source material for anyone interested in the development of Irish foreign policy since 1919." A project of the Royal Irish Academy, the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade, and the National Archives of Ireland.

A brief overview of Ireland from the European Union perspective, with summaries of its political system, economy, and roles in the EU, as well as information on EU-funded projects in Ireland.

A compilation of statistical databases prepared at CSO, with links to other public sector databases, providing official statistics in a range of demographic, social, economic, and environmental areas; publications; and a section on census data (including historical data going back to 1821). Some visualizations are included.