LibGuides: Irish Studies: Literature & Linguistics

Literature: This page of the ESS Irish Studies LibGuide addresses literature by authors writing on the island of Ireland, whether located in what is now the Republic of Ireland (Éire) or Northern Ireland. It includes both English-language and Irish-language literature.

Irish authors, particularly those (for example, Oliver Goldsmith, Oscar Wilde, and George Bernard Shaw) who spent significant parts of their careers in England, are also often included in resources on British literature; a number of such resources are listed in the ESS British and UK Studies guide's Literature & Linguistics page.

Linguistics: The Linguistics section below has a primary focus on the Irish, or Irish Gaelic, language.

Literature Encyclopedias & Reference

Ricorso
A website on Irish literature of all periods, consisting of author bio-bibliographies and bibliographies of secondary resources, as well as textual extracts from literary works and from commentaries on them. While the main coverage is of literature in English, Irish-language works are also included. Devised and compiled by Bruce Stewart.

Online Bibliographies & Finding Aids

CODECS: Collaborative Online Database and e-Resources for Celtic Studies
Catalogue of texts; catalogue of manuscripts; bibliography of secondary studies; and agents (persons, people, and organizations). "Published by the A. G. van Hamel Foundation for Celtic Studies."
PlayographyIreland
"A comprehensive database of new Irish plays produced professionally since 1904," covering Irish plays written in English introduced since the 1904 formation of the Abbey Theatre (Dublin) and Irish-language plays produced since 1901. Search options for retrieving the detailed records include playwright, title, production company, date, cast size, performers, and other individuals connected with the production, adaptation, and translation of the plays. An Irish Theatre Institute resource.

Directories

Directory of Writers (Poetry Ireland)
Directory of literary authors on the website of the literary organization Poetry Ireland. It covers the entire island, both the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. Not limited to poetry, it can be searched by name, county, genre, session (e.g., Storytelling workshop, Reading), and age group; the full list can also be browsed.

Scholarly Organizations & Literary Associations

IASIL: International Association for the Study of Irish Literatures
Organization to promote the research and teaching of Irish literature, covering "all traditions of writing on the island in Irish and English, as well as ... Irish literary culture and its impact and reception internationally." Members, located in about 35 countries, are in academic and arts-related professions.
Irish PEN
"Defending the Freedom of Writers and Readers." In June 2020, the merger of Irish PEN with the Freedom to Write organization was announced; its purpose is "to become involved much more with PEN International’s activities, focusing on free speech and using our status as a PEN centre in a neutral country to PEN’s advantage."
Irish Writers Union -- Comhar na Scríbhneoirí
"The main advocacy body for Irish writers ... open to Irish writers and writers of Irish interest publications, wherever they are based." Among its functions, it provides guidance on professional matters such as contracts and royalties (including a posted model contract); negotiates on behalf of authors; hosts events; and issues a monthly newsletter, Final Draft.
Poetry Ireland -- Éigse Éireann
"Connecting poetry and people." An organization that supports and promotes the writing, reading, and performance of Irish poetry. Based in Dublin, its scope covers the entire island of Ireland. Among its activities, it publishes Poetry Ireland Review, organizes and participates in organizing literary events, and, through its website, posts opportunities for writers, other poetry-related news, and a poem of the week. Poetry Ireland is partly supported by the Arts Council / An Chomhairle Ealaíon (Republic of Ireland) and The Arts Council of Northern Ireland.
Aosdána
"The affiliation of creative artists in Ireland," limited to a maximum of 250 elected members based on their contributions in the visual arts, literature, music, architecture, or choreography. The site includes lists of current and former (deceased) members, information about the organization and support available for members, and news items. Aosdána is administered by the Arts Council, an Irish government agency.

Digital Serials

Breac: A Digital Journal of Irish Studies
Open-access interdisciplinary journal, consisting of biannual issues with supplementary material in various digital formats. Featuring an international editorial board, it is issued by the Keough-Naughton Institute for Irish Studies at the University of Notre Dame.
CALL: Irish Journal for Culture, Arts, Literature and Language
"A peer-reviewed journal open to project- and issue-based research and proceedings in the fields of Culture, Arts, Literature and Language. It is particularly interested in projects and issues generated by colleagues and teams in Irish academic and cultural institutions which feature international contributions." Hosted by the Arrow digital repository at the Dublin Institute of Technology.
Canadian Journal of Irish Studies (CJIS)
French title: Revue canadienne d’études irlandaises (RCÉI). Interdisciplinary journal of the Canadian Association for Irish Studies, which "publishes articles, reviews, and other forms of text-based, visual and material expression ranging from poetry and interviews, to drawings and photography, to menus, maps, and research-creation works," by international as well as Canadian contributors.
Estudios irlandeses
Open-access journal of AEDEI (Asociación Española de Estudios Irlandeses), the Spanish Association for Irish Studies. It publishes "contributions -- in either English or Spanish -- that engage in a critical and original way with aspects of Irish literature, history, arts and the media."
Kaleidoscope
A literature-focussed website with ongoing contributions from Irish authors, including reflections by current writers on literature and discussions of their own work. A project of EFACIS, the European Federation of Associations and Centres of Irish Studies.
Nordic Irish Studies
An annual peer-reviewed journal (2002- ) publishing research by "literature specialists, historians, social scientists, political scientists, musicologists, and geographers, as well as by scholars from other disciplines included in the field of Irish Studies." Online, the individual contents are available for download. Currently produced by Dalarna University Centre for Irish Studies (DUCIS, at Högskolan Dalarna, in Sweden) with the support of the Nordic Irish Studies Network (NISN).
RISE: Review of Irish Studies in Europe
"An open-access, peer-reviewed, multi-disciplinary journal primarily covering literature, history, film & visual culture, politics and the social siences"; biannual, including some themed issues. Supported by the European Federation of Associations and Centres of Irish Studies (EFACIS), the Research Institute of Irish and Scottish Studies (RIISS, University of Aberdeen, Scotland), and the University of Leuven (KU Leuven, Katholieke Universiteit te Leuven, Belgium).
Studi irlandesi: A Journal of Irish Studies
An interdisciplinary journal that aims "to create a place for an international debate and high quality research on Irish literary studies, history, cultural perspectives and linguistic inquiry, from the Romantic Era to the present age." One of the open-access journals published by Firenze University Press, at Università degli studi di Firenze (Florence, Italy).

Digital Collections

CELT: Corpus of Electronic Texts
"The Free Digital Humanities Resource for Irish history, literature and politics." The texts are in Irish, Latin, Anglo-Norman French, and English, with accompanying "introductions, background information, graphics, translations where possible, and scholarly bibliographies." Project hosted at University College, Cork (UCC).
The Doegen Records Web Project
"Irish Dialect Sound Recordings 1928-31." An digital audio collection featuring folktales, songs, and other material by speakers from 17 counties in both the Irish Free State (later the Republic of Ireland) and Northern Ireland. The original project was coordinated by Dr Wilhelm Doegen, director of the Prussian State Library Sound Department (Preussische Staatsbibliothek, Lautabteilung), Berlin. The online site also provides information about the speakers, including facsimiles of the questionnaires (with questions in German, responses in English). A project of the Royal Irish Academy Library in collaboration with the Digital Humanities Observatory.
Historical Irish Corpus: 1600-1926
A corpus of over 3000 modern Irish-language texts to 1926, which can be searched by word or phrase. Browsing by title of text is also provided. Part of the Historical Dictionary Project -- Foclóir Stairiúil na Gaeilge -- of the Royal Irish Academy (Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann), with support from the Department of Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht (Roinn Cultúir, Oidhreachta agus Gaeltachta). Irish title: Corpus Stairiúil na Gaeilge 1600-1926.
Irish Poetry Reading Collection
Digital library containing videorecordings of Irish and Irish-diaspora poets reading their works. The recordings include both English- and Irish-language poems, with the authors' own "brief overview of the context and circumstances that influenced the writing of each of their poems." Copies of handwritten transcriptions of the poems accompany many readings. A University College Dublin project created and archived by the UCD Library.
Irish Sagas Online
"Provides presentations of Irish sagas in which the medieval Irish text, the modern Irish version and the English translation appear side by side on the same page ... Links are also provided to websites with background information for each saga." Project hosted at University College, Cork (UCC).
Irish Script on Screen (ISOS)
A compilation of digital images of Irish manuscripts held at different repositories, together with commentaries. A project of the School of Celtic Studies, Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies. (Irish title: Meamram Páipéar Ríomhaire.)
Ogham in 3D
A digital archive of early Irish inscriptions in the Ogham script (dating back to at least the 5th century CE) that includes a searchable database of texts and three-dimensional models of the stones on which they were written. A collaborative project hosted at the Dublin Institute for Advanced Studies (DIAS), developed by multiple bodies including its School of Celtic Studies.
Thesaurus Linguae Hibernicae
A collection of digital editions of texts in early and medieval Irish, based on original manuscripts held in a number of respositories within and outside of Ireland. Project based at the School of Irish, Celtic Studies, Irish Folklore & Linguistics, University College Dublin.

Resources on Individual Authors

Beckett International Foundation
"Holds the most extensive collection of Samuel Beckett [1906-1989] materials in the world. The Beckett Archive, which grew out of an exhibition of manuscripts and other material at the University of Reading in 1971, is open to the public and to academic researchers. The Foundation also serves the Beckett community through its publications, conferences and other events. It also supports the research and teaching of Beckett's work at all degree levels and in a variety of departments across the University of Reading." (Beckett, an expatriate in France for much of his life, wrote in both English and French.)
Samuel Beckett Society
"An international organization of scholars, students, directors, actors and others who share an interest in the work of Samuel Beckett" (1906-1989), an Irish literary author and translator, winner of the 1969 Nobel Prize in Literature. (Beckett, an expatriate in France for much of his life, wrote in both English and French.)
Maeve Binchy
Website of and about the Irish author Maeve Binchy (1939-2012), which continues to be updated with information about her life and works as well as some events connected with them.
Edgeworth Society
A literary society in honor of Anglo-Irish author Maria Edgeworth (1768-1849), novelist, writer of children's literature, and social reformer. Located in her family seat of Edgeworthstown (County Longford), the group organizes an annual Edgeworth Literary Festival and holds literary workshops; its site features information about them as well as about Edgeworth herself, the Maria Edgeworth Center, a tour of historical locations in Edgeworthstown, and a local blog.
The Seamus Heaney Centre
Named in honor of Northern Irish-Irish poet Seamus Heaney (1939-2013), this literary center at Queen's University, Belfast, supports both research and creative writing in various genres. In addition to its Poetry Summer School, it hosts classes, writing groups, meetings, and other events; maintains a Poetry Library; sponsors poetry fellowships; organizes "readings, talks, and gigs" on and off campus; and is involved in other Belfast cultural activities.
Seamus Heaney HomePlace
"A purpose-built arts and literary centre, which celebrates the life and work of the late poet and Nobel Laureate, Seamus Heaney, and contributes to his legacy." Located in Bellaghy, in the area where the Northern Irish-Irish poet was born and raised and where he is buried, the Centre features an exhibit, provides tours, and hosts readings, performances, meetings, and other arts events. It was developed by the Mid Ulster District Council.
The James Joyce Centre
Located in Dublin, the James Joyce Centre offers "visitors historical and biographical information about James Joyce [1882-1941] and his influence in literature. We host walking tours, exhibitions, workshops and lectures for visitors with a casual interest and Joycean experts alike."
The James Joyce Society
"Devoted to the appreciation of the life, works, and significance of the Irish author (1882-1941). Meetings take place several times a year in New York City as announced." The organization organizes events such as Bloomsday on Broadway. Its site features a gallery of images (art, photographs, etc.) and an extensive listing of links to other online resources about James Joyce.
The Thomas MacGreevy Archive
"A long-term, interdisciplinary research project that explores the life, writings, and relationships of the Irish poet and critic, Thomas MacGreevy (1893-1967)." Includes primary and secondary texts, together with Who's Who in the MacGreevy Archive, a database of authority records for names of people and organizations appearing in those texts. Project originating at University College Dublin, it is currently "published by the Institute for Advanced Technology in the Humanities, at University of Virginia, and supported by the University of Maryland Libraries."
The Jonathan Swift Archive
"Digitized texts of Jonathan Swift’s prose works, transcribed from a great variety of early printed editions. The archive is an electronic supplement to the printed Cambridge Works of Jonathan Swift." Originated from a collaborative project between Keele University (host institution) and the University of Oxford; currently part of the Oxford Text Archive.
International Yeats Studies
Semi-annual journal of the International Yeats Society, hosted at Clemson University's digital repository, TigerPrints. With a focus on Nobel Prize-winning poet William Butler Yeats (1865-1939), the articles and reviews "bring together scholarship from Europe, the Americas, Asia, and Africa and ... address Yeats’s place in world literature."
Yeats Society Sligo
"Celebrating the life and work of WB Yeats and his talented family." In addition to the Nobel Prize-winning poet William Butler Yeats (1865-1939), the Yeats Society studies and honors the artists John Butler Yeats and Jack Yeats -- father and brother of W.B. Yeats -- as well as his sisters. Organizes the annual Yeats International Summer School as well as other cultural events, announced on its website. A "hub for literary culture and the arts," this organization is located in the Yeats Memorial Building in Sligo town, which houses an ongoing exhibit, the Hyde Bridge Gallery, and a café.

Irish Language (Irish Gaelic): Reference Sources

Aistear.ie: Translator and Irish Language Training
"A website for translators, editors and others writing in Irish. It includes a database of common errors and points of difficulty, help and training for translators, and will include a collection of texts on the written language." (Description from WESSWeb Irish Studies guide's Irish Language page, page last updated 25 April 2016.) Irish subtitle: Oiliúint san aistriúchán agus sa Ghaeilge.
An Caighdeán Oifigiúil
"The official standard for writing in the Irish language": 2017 edition. A document issued by the Translation Section (Rannóg an Aistriúcháin) of the Irish Parliament, the Houses of the Oireachtas.
eDIL: Electronic Dictionary of the Irish Language
A digital historical dictionary of medieval and early modern Irish (ca. 700-1700). It is based on the Royal Irish Academy’s Dictionary of the Irish Language: Based Mainly on Old and Middle Irish Materials (1913-1976), with extensive corrections and additions. A collaborative project of Queen's University Belfast, the UK Arts & Humanities Research Council, the Royal Irish Academy (Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann), and the University of Cambridge.
Focail Fholaithe
"A database of 'hidden words' that have been collected by linguists throughout Ireland and that might not be in printed dictionaries of the twentieth century. The full name for the database is Focail Fholaithe ón bhFichiú hAois -- Bailiúcháin Neamhfhoilsithe den Ghaeilge Labhartha (Hidden words from the twentieth century -- unpublished collections of spoken Irish)." (Description from WESSWeb Irish Studies guide's Irish Language page, page last updated 25 April 2016.)
Foclóir.ie: New English-Irish Dictionary
A bilingual dictionary that also includes grammatical information and audio files. Produced by Foras na Gaeilge, the official Irish Language Agency. (Irish subtitle: An Foclóir Nua Béarla-Gaeilge.)
Teanglann.ie: Dictionary and Language Library
A compilation of linguistic resources, containing searchable electronic versions of three print dictionaries -- Foclóir Gaeilge-Béarla, compiled by Niall Ó Dómhnaill (1977, Irish-English), An Foclóir Beag, edited by Niall Ó Dómhnaill and Pádraig Ua Maoileoin (1991, Irish-Irish), and English-Irish Dictionary, edited by Tomás de Bhaldraithe (1959) -- as well as a grammar database and pronunciation database. Provided by Foras na Gaeilge, the Irish Language Agency. (Irish subtitle: Leabharlann Teanga agus Foclóireachta.)
Téarma.ie: The National Terminology Database for Irish
A bilingual Irish-English database of standard terminology in a range of professional, technical, and academic fields, collected from numerous official and non-governmental sources. An ongoing project developed at the Gaois research group in Fiontar & Scoil na Gaeilge, the Irish-language school of of Dublin City University (DCU), in partnership with the Terminology Committee (an Coiste Téarmaíochta) of Foras na Gaeilge, the Irish Language Agency. (Irish subtitle: An Bunachar Náisiúnta Téarmaíochta don Ghaeilge.)

Irish Language (Irish Gaelic): Organizations & Agencies

Conradh na Gaeilge
"The democratic forum for the Irish-speaking community," Conradh na Gaeilge is an organization established to "promote the use of Irish as the standard language in Ireland." Among other activities, it provides Irish-language courses, education about Irish, and advocacy on behalf of Irish speakers; hosts an international festival; and runs an Irish-language bookshop, An Siopa Leabhar. Conradh na Gaeilge is based in Ireland (headquartered in Dublin), with international membership.
Daltaí na Gaeilge
"Promoting and teaching the Irish language since 1981." A U.S.-based nonprofit organization that sponsors classes, forums and other events, and a shop. Its site includes some linguistic information such as Irish grammar, phrases, and proverbs, as well as links to articles in Irish.
Foclóir Stairiúil na Gaeilge -- Historical Dictionary Project
Website of the group working on the Historical Dictionary of Irish, the Historical Irish Corpus: 1600-1926, and the Focail Fholaithe database of "hidden" Irish words, under the auspices of the Royal Irish Academy (Acadamh Ríoga na hÉireann). The site includes a blog, news, a list of publications, a Twitter feed, etc., as well as links to its various databases. Some information is provided in English, while other information, as of July 2020, is only in Irish.
Foras na Gaeilge
Foras na Gaeilge, the Irish Language Agency, is an officially established body of the North/South Ministerial Council -- a joint body of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland. It "has a role in advising administrations, North and South, as well as public bodies and other groups in the private and voluntary sectors, in all matters relating to the Irish language."

Irish-Language Serials

Beo!
A now-defunct Irish-language monthly periodical, which ran 2001-2014. As of July 2020, access is still provided to an archive of its articles, covering a range of topics.
Comhar
"Website of Comhar, a monthly magazine covering literature, Irish language, and current affairs." (Description from WESSWeb Irish Studies guide's Irish Language page, page last updated 25 April 2016.)
An Gael
"Irisleabhar Idirnáisiúnta na Gaeilge -- The Irish Language Magazine for Everyone." A quarterly magazine published in New York City by the Philo-Celtic Society, with international contributors and readership. A "general interest, mostly literary magazine," its focus is on topics of unifying interest to the Irish diaspora, avoiding politics and covering "culture, our history, literature, travel, etc."
Nós
"Website of Nós, a cultural magazine written for a young readership." (Description from WESSWeb Irish Studies guide's Irish Language page, page last updated 25 April 2016.)
Tuairisc.ie
"Tuairisc.ie provides a news service in Irish for the Irish speaking community in Ireland and abroad. Our objective is to serve the interests of that community through the generation, collection and publication of high-quality news, information, analysis and entertainment." A publication supported by Foras na Gaeilge, the Irish Language Agency.