Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Health Sciences Interest Group Resources

First Friday Forums

First Friday Forums are a networking space to share our challenges, ideas, successes, and more!

They occur every other first Friday (Feb, Apr, Jun, Aug, Oct, Dec) at 9am PT / 10am MT / 11am CT / 12pm ET. The announcement with a link to attend will be shared on the HSIG listservs and elsewhere. Each month is a new topic and a different facilitator.

Everyone is welcome, regardless of your affiliation with ALA, ACRL, or HSIG.

These conversations are never recorded. We ask that all members of the conversation respect each other's privacy, so we can speak openly about the challenges we've faced and the solutions we can offer. Sometimes aggregate or anonymized notes are shared on the listserv and linked below.

Next First Friday Forum

October 7th, 2022: Topic TBD

Past First Friday Forums

December 2021: Facul-tastrophes: Challenges and Successes in Working with Faculty

February 2022: Systematic Reviews: Setting Reasonable Expectations

April 2022: Library Adaptations to COVID: Where are we going next?

June 2022: How can librarians conduct and collaborate on our own research? 

August 2022: What’s in a One-Shot? Unpacking the Challenge of Health Sciences Library Instruction in the One Shot Format

Previous Event: Evidence based teaching practice - How are you incorporating evidence into your teaching practices?

Previous Event: Workplace Empowerment and Engagement during the Pandemic

Workplace Empowerment and Engagement during the Pandemic, July 23, 2021

with Susanne Markgren and Linda Miles

Previous Event - ALA Virtual 2021 - Are You Considering a Career in Health Librarianship?

Are You Considering a Career in Health Librarianship? Presented at ALA Virtual, June 25, 2021

Padlet: What resources are available for becoming a health sciences librarian?

Previous Events: Teaching with PubMed

Previous Events: National Library of Medicine Resources for Citizen Science

National Library of Medicine Resources for Citizen Science presented by Elaina Vitale Nv. 12, 2018

This recording no longer available.