Health Sciences Interest Group Resources

Have a job opening to post? Connect with the HSIG community of job seekers.

Scholarly Communication and Research Impact Librarian

Health Sciences Library System (HSLS) at University of Pittsburgh

Job Type: Full-time, hybrid

Salary range: $60,000-$87,000

Institutional status: Faculty

Description: 

Do you enjoy helping faculty and students promote their scholarly work? Are you passionate about the responsible use of metrics in academia? Do you enjoy playing with data to generate impact reports or bibliometric analyses?  Come to Pitt!   

Appointment will be at the rank of Librarian I, II or III, commensurate with the candidate's qualifications and experience. Salary range: $60,000-$87,000. HSLS librarians are represented by the faculty union (United Steelworkers).

This position reports to the Assistant Director for Data and Publishing Services and is a member of the library’s Data and Publishing Services team, a division of Research, Instruction and Clinical Information Services @ HSLS.

Required Qualifications:

• Master’s degree from an ALA-accredited institution or an equivalent combination of relevant Master’s degree and research support experience
• Minimum 2 years of experience in an academic library, or equivalent.
• Strong background in bibliometrics, citation analysis, and research impact assessment.
• Advanced skills in Excel and/or coding experience for tasks such as data cleaning and analysis
• Experience producing and compiling research impact metric reports for individual researchers, departments, and schools.  
• Familiarity with scholarly communication practices, open/public access, copyright issues, and responsible use of AI in scholarly publishing.
• Demonstrated experience searching library databases such as PubMed and Web of Science
• Demonstrated experience providing instruction or delivering presentations
• Experience working collaboratively and independently with varied groups
• Demonstrated ability to respond effectively to changing needs and priorities, showing initiative and flexibility
• Demonstrated ability to plan, prioritize, coordinate, and implement projects and bring them to a conclusion in a timely fashion
• Proven commitment to excellent customer service and continuous learning
• Effective interpersonal, analytical, and communication skills, both oral and written, including the ability to actively listen, understand, and articulate user needs
• Evidence of skills needed to foster new connections and build relationships
• Commitment to including individuals of diverse backgrounds, experiences, races, ethnicities, gender, sexual orientation, and perspectives in research, teaching, and service

Preferred Qualifications:

• Experience in using APIs such as those from OpenAlex, Web of Science, Sympletic Elements, ORCiD, or Altmetric Explorer to read and/or push data
• Health sciences or research background
• Familiarity and experience with adult learning theory and instruction with adult learners

Contact Melissa Ratajeski, Assistant Director for Data and Publishing Services, mar@pitt.edu

Posted November 6, 2025

Research and Medical Education Librarian

AWSOM Library at Alice L. Walton School of Medicine in Bentonville, Arkansas

Job Type: Full-time, in-person

Salary range: Dependent on Experience 

Institutional status: Librarian

Description: 

Alice L. Walton School of Medicine is a new medical school, with its second cohort starting next summer. This person will be able to share our immersive instruction program and collaborate with faculty in our hands-on, active-learning environment.

Under the direction of the Senior Director of Library and Information Services, the Research and Medical Education Librarian plays a pivotal role in supporting the institution's academic and research mission. This position combines instructional expertise with research support to empower students, faculty, and staff in their information-seeking endeavors. The librarian will develop and deliver information literacy instruction, provide in-depth research assistance, and collaborate with campus partners to enhance information services.

Required Qualifications:

• Master’s degree from an American Library Association-accredited program
• Minimum of two years of experience in academic, medical, or health sciences libraries
• Experience providing instructional support to professional programs
• Strong service orientation with excellent written and verbal communication skills
• Demonstrated ability to work independently and collaboratively within a diverse academic community

Preferred Qualifications:

• Additional coursework or degree in health sciences, education, instructional design, informatics, or a related discipline
• Proficiency in conducting large-scale literature reviews, including scoping and systematic reviews
• Evidence of innovation in promoting library services, resource utilization, and educational programming for medical students, faculty, and staff
• Ideal candidates will demonstrate strong teaching skills, a commitment to service, and the ability to work effectively in a collaborative academic environment

Contact Alexia Riggs, Library Director, Alexia.Riggs@alwmed.org

Posted October 27, 2025

Health Sciences Librarian - Senior Assistant or Associate Librarian

Stony Brook University Libraries

Job Type: Full-time, on-site

Salary range: $80,000 – $88,530 plus $4,000 location pay

Institutional status: Tenure track faculty at the rank of Senior Assistant Librarian

Description:

Reporting to the Director of the Health Sciences Library, the Health Sciences Librarian will contribute to the University Libraries’ suite of services, including instruction, research support services, collection development, and other liaison and outreach responsibilities. The position will work closely with the Renaissance School of Medicine to deliver research support and instruction, but will also be part of a team that supports the five health sciences schools, various clinical departments, and medical research centers.

It’s rare for anyone to fulfill every criterion perfectly; we strongly encourage you to apply if your experience and skills align well with the qualifications mentioned.

Required Qualifications:

• Relevant Master’s or advanced degree (foreign equivalent or higher) with a combination of education and experience commensurate with the requirements of this position.
• At least one year of experience working in a health sciences or academic library environment or providing information services to clinicians.
• Demonstrated proficiency with emerging learning and research technologies, as well as information retrieval.
• Experience designing and delivering instruction in a group setting.

Preferred Qualifications:

• Additional degree(s) in a field relevant to health sciences, including STEM and education.
• Record of professional activities, including scholarly activities, presentations, or engagement in professional organizations to achieve tenure requirements.
• Experience conducting systematic reviews or other evidence synthesis projects.
• Experience with collection development and evaluation of information resources.
• Interest in leveraging emerging technologies, including artificial intelligence (AI).

Contact Michael Huang, Search Committee Chair, michael.huang@stonybrook.edu

Extended to October 30, 2025

Health Sciences Librarian

Learning Resource Center at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine

Job Type: Full-time, on-site

Salary range: n/a

Institutional status: Librarian

Description:

The Health Science Librarian provides access, professional assistance, text and/or online literature searching expertise to furnish state-of-the-art information for education, patient care, management decision making, and research activities to professional students and the entire LECOM Institution.  Hours are Monday – Friday, 8 AM – 4:30 PM.  Occasional weekend coverage required.

Required Qualifications:

• Education and experience equivalent to Postgraduate Degree from an ALA-accredited library/information program required.  M.L.S., M.S.L.S., or M.I.L.S. 

Preferred Qualifications:

• Successful experience in a professional capacity in a health science environment preferred.

Contact Andrew Krol, Assistant Director of the Learning Resource Center at Lake Erie College of Osteopathic medicine, akrol@lecom.edu

Posted October 13, 2025

Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian

Hirsh Health Sciences Library at Tufts University

Job Type: Full-time, hybrid

Salary range: $65,900 - $98,800 (midpoint: $82,300)

Institutional status: Librarian

Description:

Reporting to the Head of Collections Management, the Electronic Resources and Serials Librarian is responsible for all aspects of the electronic resources lifecycle including purchase assessment, licensing, access, and maintenance for serials, databases, electronic point of care tools, ebook packages, serial packages, and other electronic resources.

Required Qualifications:

• Knowledge and skills as typically acquired through Masters of Library Science from an ALA-accredited program and 2+ years of experience in an academic or medical library and previous experience troubleshooting problems with electronic resource access
• Knowledge of electronic resource management best practices, experience working with vendors and reviewing publisher’s license agreements
• Demonstrate initiative and the ability to work both collaboratively and independently within Hirsh and across all Tufts’ libraries
• Excellent project management and organizational skills, attention to detail, and excellent interpersonal communication skills

Preferred Qualifications:

• Knowledge of trends and issues in academic libraries, publishing, preservation, emerging technologies, scholarly communications, and the management of electronic resources. Experience negotiating vendor and publisher licenses
• Experience with cataloging tools including OCLC Connexion, MARC, RDA, etc.
• Experience with Ex Libris Alma, Primo, Leganto, OpenAthens, SAML, Shibboleth, Microsoft TEAMS, and BOX
• 3-5 years experience in an academic or medical library and previous experience troubleshooting problems with electronic resource access

Contact Jane Natches, Head of Collections Management, jane.natches@tufts.edu

Posted October 14, 2025