LibGuides: ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies (LRCS): Communication Sciences & Disorders

About

This guide supports the study of communication sciences and disorders. It is intentionally broad in scope. Note that resources in medical literature are also sometimes useful for research in this field.

Current Page Editor: Molly Strothmann

Databases

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) (fee-based) Updated monthly, the Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines. There are five versions available: one indexing and abstracting only and four with differing amounts of full text.
Cochrane Library (fee-based) A collection of databases containing evidence-based information to be used in clinical treatment decisions. Available from Wiley.
ComDisDome (fee-based) Updated monthly, ComDisDome is an indexing and abstracting tool covering the communications disorders literature, with focus on speech-language pathology and audiology.
ERIC The world's largest source of education information, containing more than one million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. Updated weekly. 1966 to date.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (fee-based) Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (fee-based) Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences.
MEDLINE MEDLINE is the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 30 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH).
PsycINFO (fee-based) Produced by the American Psychological Association, PsycINFO is the premier abstracting and indexing database covering the behavioral and social sciences. Available on the APA PsycNET platform, EBSCO, or ProQuest.
PubMed PubMed comprises more than 36 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Scopus (fee-based) Offering nearly 18,000 titles in the fields of medicine, science, social science, and technology, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. References go back to 1996 and 80% of all Scopus records back to 1823 have an abstract.
SpeechBITE Australian database of intervention studies across the scope of speech pathology practice, from eight databases including MEDLINE, ERIC, and Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts.
Thieme MedOne ComSci (fee-based) A small database of publications in communication science and disorders, designed to be a teaching and learning resource for upper-level undergraduate students, graduate students, faculty, and practicing professionals in audiology, speech-language pathology, and hearing science.

Please consult ASHA's "Research Databases and Online Tools" page for more information

Journals and Trade Publications

Suggested Subject Headings

Audiology
Communicative disorders
- Hearing disorders
- Language disorders
  - Agraphia
  - Aphasia
  - Dyslexia
  - Echolalia
  - Hyperlexia
  - Schizophasia
- Speech disorders (Speech pathology)
Deglutition (Swallowing)
Otolaryngology
Speech therapy

Please consult the Library of Congress subject headings for more ideas.

ACRL/EBSS Library Resources for Communication Studies (LRCS)

About

Databases

Journals and Trade Publications

Suggested Subject Headings

Dictionaries, Encylopedias, and Handbooks

Professional Associations and Organizations